We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Blessing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrett Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrett Beach Bungalows
Save
You added Barrett Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
19646 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a Blessing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our stay at the Dolphin was awsome. My husband and I took all four of our children (ages 6, 9, 10, 11) for a week long stay in the Bungalows. We were primarily looking from a place that would allow my husband and I to enjoy ourselves without the worry of our childrens safety and all the strangers in the large condos. Our neighbors were amazing and treated our chidren as if they were their own grandkids :) Our unit was very clean and everything that was suppose to be there was there. Our kids had a blast catching a couple crabs out of the pool each morning and releasing them back into the ocean (to be expected when you have such a beautiful pool so close to such a beautiful beach!). My husband caught plenty of fish right of the bay across the street, and we were able to grill out on the beach almost every night. Yummy!! The check in and check out was very easy and convenient. And best of all, it was affordable!! Thanks Liz for doing everything you can to keep these bungalow at an affordable price, epecially compaired to your competitors! FYI, to anyone who reads this...if you are looking for a place that will serve you your meals, make your beds for you and wipe down your seat down every time you stand up, then you can PAY big $ for those amenities at a place down the road. Liz's Bungalows only offer a quiet, private, beautiful, right-on-the-beach, make-your-self-at-home kinda atmosphere with great friendly service at a great rate! This stay was nothing but a true Blessing, and we are greatful for every minute of it! P.S. The shower right outside the back door that enters into the bathroom is AMAZING for anybody bringing sandy kids back from the beach!!

Room Tip: East bedroom is for early risers (sun gets pretty bright in the morning, so we hung a sheet over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had an absolutely fabulous and relaxing family vacation. We stayed in the Marlin Bugalow. It was clean with the most amazing views from master bedroom, living room, and deck. We were on the deck each moring and evening - so relaxing. The best part was we were able to bring our Golden Retriever and she made 2 new friends who she played with each day. We had no issues with anything and look forward to coming back. Thank you for such an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Wow what a beautiful place. I am an ocean girl and this beach is awesome! We enjoyed ourselves so much,the privacy ,the fact that we could bring our babies(3 shitzus) and the view from our cottage was so cool! The dog run (private per cottage) was great too.
The cottage was clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed in the Marlin. It was absolutely the best. From the warm welcome when we arrived, to making us feel at home during the entire week. The house suited us perfectly and we actually call it our "Dream House". Also being able to bring Becky (our pooch) was especially important to us. Thanks for the best vacation we have had in a long time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 8 days at Barrett Beach Bungalows at the end of april. We had a wonderful time. The Bungalow was clean and comfortable. The beach was fantastic, the water was warm. And everything you need is within waking distance. It you want to feel like your at a resort go somewhere else. If you want to feel like you have a home on the beach go to "Barrett Beach Bungolows"

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Terrific location on a beautiful beach. Conveniently located with all the modern conveniences like home. Small and quaint. Fairly quiet. This is not a large multi-story hotel which is exactly why we like it. My dog did not stop "smiling" from the time we arrived. We have stayed in many high end hotels and this is a small casual resort that we keep getting drawn back to. Reasonably priced and worth it.

Room Tip: Marlin quieter and more private but Mermaid larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The owner does not oversell or hype the property - it is exactly what she said it would be... Old Florida bungalows, truly right on the beach - not walking across the street or through public access just right there on the beach. Read the write up and if you expect a 5 star hotel go somewhere else - also, the owner can't do anything about other peoples construction and since there is no open land nearby you don't have to worry about that any longer. The one thing that would have made the trip perfect was if the pool was heated ... but they clearly stated it wasn't and we didn't expect it to be so were weren't disappointed. Excellent location - private beach access with a nice lounging area to hang out at, grill out, watch the sunset, drink a beer/margarita and have a fire. Grocery store(s) are nearby for stocking the fridge and you can catch the trolley right across the street to go almost anywhere. Pull in, park your vehicle, put your keys away and RELAX because that's what this place is all about.
We had two families, each with a 2 year old child and the place was perfect. It was clean and the space was sufficient. Like I said, read the owners write up - she doesn't overhype the place or exxagerate but tells you what it really is. We'll probably be back next year with friends again. Even though there are high rise places close by you don't feel closed in or congested - if you want that go to Clearwater or catch the Trolley. You can really relax here and just have a good time and have privacy. You will run into the other people who are staying at the property as well so if you want isolation try somewhere else.
I rated the service a 3 because you are your own service people for the week - the cooler was too far away a couple of times so I had to give myself a 3 for poor planning!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrett Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrett Beach Bungalows

Address: 19646 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Barrett Beach Bungalows Hotel Indian Shores
Barrett Beach Bungalows Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrett Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.