We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot Beach Resort A209, an oasis in an oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Barefoot Beach Resort A209, an oasis in an oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My wife and I found this place on vrbo and rented directly from the owner, Tina, unit #A209. I think the complex also has a website that handles rentals for the owners, but their prices are a little higher than dealing directly with the owner. This unit was a second floor unit, so no noise from above as the entire complex is spread out but only 2-stories high. Glass shower, wet bar in the living room, high speed wifi, lcd tv's & cable in all rooms. Fully stocked kitchen with smooth top range & microwave & granite counter tops. Comfortable & clean beds, beach toys & chairs, and a pack & play crib and strollers (a little bonus if you've got infants/toddlers) . These units are privately owned condos, so no daily maid service or linen changes, but Tina provides plenty and there are several coin-op washer/dryers throughout the complex if you need more. Heated pool, and beautiful palm trees surround the grounds. Beach is about a 2 minute and 30 second stroll away (I actually timed it), have to cross the Gulf Blvd to get to the beach, but it is only a 1-lane road, speed limit is 25 mph, and the police station is LITERALLY 100 yards away from this resort; so no issues crossing the street and getting to the beach with my 2 small kids. In between Barefoot Beach and the police station, is the Salt Rock Grill, probably the best restaurant you'll encounter between Clearwater & St Pete Beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    102
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
174
107
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Had a nice 4 nights here. Overall nice place, good location, very clean. Couple of issues that would have made expericence better...

1. Heated Pool - it may be heated but it is not very warm. Despite 2 very sunny days in a row and temps in the 70s the pool was too cold for my kids to swim in. I never understand place that say they have a heated pool but don't heat enough to enjoy a swim in.

2. Check-in. The check in desk closes at 5pm. If you arrive after that they have a locked box that your keys will be in. If you do not get the combination to the box before you come there is a phone number to call. All of that if fine except when I called the number I got voice mail and it took the staff over 20 minutes to call me back. Not ideal circumstances when it is 8pm and you have 3 small kids in tow...

3. No towels are provided for the pool or beach.

4. Only one garbage bag in the trash was provided. Doesn't make sense when they don't provide maid service yet want to keep the units clean.

5. Check out is 10am. Seems a bit early to me.

Overall a good experience. Location was great, beach was nice, and our family had a good time. All in all it was a fun trip and I am willing to trade the above deficiencies for a larger 2br unit vs a hotel room for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We arrived late at the condos but that wan't a problem, went to check in next morning, staff so friendly and helpfull. The condo was lovely fully equiped and clean and spacious. The gardens are pretty and the barbi area very good. Easy to walk to near by bar and restraunt Salt Rock Grill which is well worth checking out, and the coffee shop a bit further down the road with live music every Saturday,fantastic coffee and cake. May need the Trolly to reach other Bars. The fantastic Beach is just across the road, but take a Parasol no shade but lovely. 5 out of 5 for this place will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Barefoot Beach resort the first week in November. Our one bedroom unit was very clean, fully stocked with cooking and dining utensils as expected.
The pool was nice, 8 1/2 ft deep at one end unlike some of the newer 4 ft pools. There was no outdoor hot tub. It is across the street from the huge beach, the distance was not a big deal for us. A short walk away in one direction is a 7-11 store, in the other
direction a boardwalk nature trail through the mangroves to the Intercoastal. The office staff was very helpful, answered questions cheerfully, let me use their computer to print out boarding passes for the return trip. There are restrooms at the pool, barbecue grills outdoors, a fishing pier for those who have a license. For families it may be perfect, for young, active adults, I don't know. There is not much nearby; my joke was "they roll up the sidewalk after dark". My only disappointment with the property is there are no screened in lanais, something I've come to expect in a FL vacation condo. I guess I should have checked first. On the plus side I feel we did get a really good rate for our week.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had the best time at this exclusive resort, it was the perfect mixture of relaxation, tranquility, & FUN! The staff was wonderful! They gave out the best advice as to where to eat & enjoy time with my husband. I will deffinatly be a frequent guest.....not to add the price was very economical & the quality of the rooms/property was beyond what you would expect for what we paid! Thank You Barefoot for such a refreshing quick getaway from the everyday routiene, it was just what we needed. Couldn't be more satisfied!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Barefoot Beach Resort is fabulous. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on the 1st floor facing the Intercoastal waterway. Everything in the unit was updated and very comfortable. There was a nice patio with a table and chairs facing the Intercoastal waterway. The pool was nice and refreshing with lots of chairs for sunning. The beach was a little bit of a walk since we were in the back of the complex but we didn't mind the walk. The grounds are well maintained. There are outdoor grills available as well. The office staff is wonderful especially Kathy and Bill. They were very friendly. There are several restaurants within walking distance and a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying there at the end of September. The condo was very spacious for just the two of us. My only complaint would be about how the kitchen is stocked no pyrex dishes only one frying pan no blender but, I guess this is due to the fact that the owners stock it with what they want. Other than that as long as you bring your own toiletries this is an awesome place to get away relax and just kick it. The grounds are beautifully manicured and the staff is most helpful and pleasant!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom w/sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. Full kitchen. pool, private beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Hotel Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Resort Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.