We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute condo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super cute condo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I don't like housekeeping, or anything else that remotely resembles a hotel and this is not. There was plenty of well stocked supplies in the linen closet and complimentary dishwasher tablets. There even was a bucket for champagne and two glasses. We had no problems using all three of our devices and getting on the web. We were on the younger side compared to our neighbors, but mostly everyone said polite hello's and kept to themselves. In the morning, my bubby strolled along the bay and befriended two beautiful dolphins and I walked to the amazing beach. When the sun sets someone in a nearby location plays taps to a round of applause. If you have come like we did for peace, quite, nature, and serenity this is your place. If you want someone to wait on you hand and foot there are some generic high rise resorts nearby. I loved our beautifully decorated, spacious, and private unit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us!

We're so glad you found what you needed - a pretty condo in a private yet peaceful setting, close to a spectacular beach and in easy access to a lot of area things to do.

Sure hope you'll be able to join us again, and in the meantime, we invite you to stay in touch with us on our Facebook page, Barefoot Beach Resort.

All the best from,

Bill Priakos
Barefoot Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    102
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
174
107
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The 2 bedroom was spacious enough for our family of 6. Beach was a short walk. We ended up doing things further away because they weren't too interested in the immediate area. This property can probably work for better for either younger children or an all adult group.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your review following your recent stay with us! Hope all is well with you in NY and know that we appreciate that you chose us for your Florida holiday.

Glad your family was able to spread out in our condo and enjoy the pool and facilities. That's what most of our guests enjoy - a relaxing time to just hang out and be together in a beautiful setting.

Love to have you follow us on our FB page, Barefoot Beach Resort, and would welcome any photos you have to share as well.

All the best from
Bill Priakos and
"The Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a nice four-night stay at the Barefoot Beach Resort. Our condo was large, comfortable, attractively decorated, and quiet. The people in the office were very friendly and helpful, and the beach across the street is gorgeous and uncrowded. And there's a full kitchen -- very nice.

Some things to be aware of if you book a stay here:
--There is no housekeeping. However, there's a large supply of towels under the bathroom sink. If you need more towels during your stay, you can pay an extra $20 for towel exchange.
--You have to bring or buy your own beach towels. I recommend the CVS up the road in Indian Rocks Beach for beach supplies -- the prices are great ($2.99 for straw beach mats!) and they have a big selection.
--The bedrooms have one queen or double bed each -- no twins.
--There is wired Internet access, but no wi-fi. This was an issue for us, as we brought wi-fi enabled devices but no laptop. (First world problems, I realize.)

I wish we'd known ahead of time about the lack of wi-fi, but other than that we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Oh, wow, thank you for taking time to review your four-night stay at Barefoot Beach Resort. So glad you liked the location, our pool, and beautiful beach area.

Re: Your concern over no Wi-Fi. Actually, we're so sorry you did not notice the small Wi-Fi router by the modem with the Ethernet cable. In other words, we have BOTH types of connections. When you rent through Barefoot Beach Vacations (as you did), each condo has a wired internet access PLUS an individually password protected Wi-Fi router for THAT condo as well as an open Wi-Fi at the pool.

This feature is relatively new and we now see that we must post signs in each condo stating this, but our website does mention it and the ladies at the front desk are trained to tell everyone about it....obviously, somehow you missed it and we're so sorry it inconvenienced you.

We do hope you'll return again for another stay at Barefoot Beach Resort and make some more fine memories here in Indian Shores.

All best regards,

Bill Priakos,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Location good with access to beach across the street. Grounds were pretty and clean with a nice path and dock along the waterway. Pool was clean and a nice size too. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo, it was clean and a good size except the bedrooms were a little small.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to review Barefoot after your recent stay with us. Gosh, you just missed the Phillies spring training by a couple of weeks!

We're glad you found our resort to be to your liking. We are in a quiet location but with easy access to a lot of different beach locations, restaurants and shops - just an easy trolley stop away.

Glad you had good weather while you were here and hope you will return again to see us here at Barefoot Beach Resort.

All the best from
Bill Priakos and
the Barefoot gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is our third trip to this resort and it is always wonderful. We had the 2-bedroom view of the inter-coastal waterway, and it was wonderful to wake up, look out the window and see the water.
It is only a short walk across the road to get to the beach, and the affordability really makes it worth it. A full kitchen means we can cook at home, but you must definitely eat at the Salt Rock Grill which is right next door. Just a slightly farther walk of 5 minutes gets you to an awesome coffee shop, Indian Shores Coffee Co, which has the best egg sandwich you will ever have.
The pool is wonderful at this resort, and the customer service is perfect. We were offered a late check-out and they are the most helpful front-desk ladies you could ever ask for. After having tried many places in Indian Shores, this is now the only place that we stay.

Room Tip: I would pick the rooms on the water if you can get one. I would not like to be on the street-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you So very much for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us! It means so much to our staff to know you found them friendly and helpful, and we're glad you enjoyed the amenities of our resort.

You are right - the location is ideal for a quiet beach getaway, yet we're easily accessible by car or trolley to so many good restaurants and shops. Glad you had time to explore a bit!

Would love to have you follow us on our Facebook Page: Barefoot Beach Resort. And...more importantly, we hope to see you back again as soon as you can!

All the best from
Bill Priakos and
"the Barefoot gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As already mentioned in previous reviews the team at Barefoot at very helpful and welcoming. April, Tina and Kathy were of particular help to us; both before and during our visit. My Husband were glad to have selected this resort and complex because it was in quieter part of the Island less than 3/4 hour drive from Tampa airport and easy access to all areas. Our condo was on the second floor overlooking the inland water where we could relax and watch the wildlife from our window. The beach is on the other side of the road from the small complex, just a five minute stroll;The beach is a great place to walk comfortably(barefoot) to the other resorts, to Sunbathe and to observe the local wildlife. Each unit is individually equipped so I can only comment on ours B211 which was very well equipped and provided all you would need for even a very long stay! Everything from a slow cooker to a picnic set and cooler bag. However this was all wasted on us because we were out and about and took full advantage of the fine food on offer at local establishments.
The Suite was comfortably furnished in true Floridian style, good comfy bed, TV in both bedroom and lounge area, CD player. The bedroom had one cupboard with plenty of coat hangers but it also houses the extra blankets, pillows and sheets which restricts the storage space.There are however two bedside cabinets with two drawers and a side cabinet with five drawers so more than enough room for your clothing, but not necessarily for your luggage or shoes. Towels and sheets are changed for guests staying eight days or over and they are exchanged on the seventh day which is fine. You will need to pack your own beach towels or purchase some while you are there. No clothes washing facilities are provided in the condo units but there is a coin laundry area on the complex for your use. A good hair dryer and an iron are also provided but if you are a tea drinker like myself then I would recommend taking a travel kettle as the stove one provided takes ages to boil.

During your stay please try to visit the local Heritage Centre and Botanical gardens it is a real gem and you will learn a lot about the area.

My Husband and I found people to be very friendly and hospitable there is a huge variety of things to see and do and we would both visit again if we had the opportunity.

Room Tip: We requested an upstairs room just in case there would be any noise but the whole area was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
How nice of you to review your recent stay with us at Barefoot Beach Resort. First off, let me say how much we enjoyed having you - and are honored that you chose us!

You captured exactly what sets us apart from other resorts in the area - our location. Not only do we have beach access but we are right on the intercoastal - so you're surrounded by beautiful waters.

So glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of our condos, and the friendliness of our staff. You're right - there are so many wonderful places to dine and explore - and Heritage Park is such a fun place to learn about yesteryear.

Thanks again - and we hope you'll stay in touch with us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort. Most of all, we hope you'll return again!

All best regards from

Bill Priakos and
"the Barefoot gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Barefoot Beach Resort is a little gem as well as their staff Tina & April. Rented 2 bedroom waterview with patio....worth it just for the outdoor space...note they do have other patio's that overlook the street....otherwise you'll not have any outdoor space unless you go to the pool or channel area. Beach is a short stroll away....they do have a heated pool but no hot tub....condo has everything you need and very clean. The only downside really is the location...not much around for dining...nightlife...stores. We did not rent a car so the trolley is a big plus 4.50 to ride all day. Salt Rock Grill is excellent right next door and if you want a Key West flavor bar Mahuffer's was great...only a short walk away other than that nothing around there so you might want a car if staying at these beautiful condos geared towards seniors and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay here. Tina and April will be delighted with your comments - they truly enjoy all our guests and want their stay to be special.

You're right - the 2 bedroom suite with the water view is so special and relaxing. Glad you stayed there and were able to hopefully catch a sunrise in the morning.

Love to have you follow us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort, and look forward to the next time you can enjoy a stay with us.

Kind regards from
Bill Priakos and
"The Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom w/sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. Full kitchen. pool, private beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Hotel Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Resort Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.