We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal near the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great deal near the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is our third trip to this resort and it is always wonderful. We had the 2-bedroom view of the inter-coastal waterway, and it was wonderful to wake up, look out the window and see the water.
It is only a short walk across the road to get to the beach, and the affordability really makes it worth it. A full kitchen means we can cook at home, but you must definitely eat at the Salt Rock Grill which is right next door. Just a slightly farther walk of 5 minutes gets you to an awesome coffee shop, Indian Shores Coffee Co, which has the best egg sandwich you will ever have.
The pool is wonderful at this resort, and the customer service is perfect. We were offered a late check-out and they are the most helpful front-desk ladies you could ever ask for. After having tried many places in Indian Shores, this is now the only place that we stay.

Room Tip: I would pick the rooms on the water if you can get one. I would not like to be on the street-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you So very much for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us! It means so much to our staff to know you found them friendly and helpful, and we're glad you enjoyed the amenities of our resort.

You are right - the location is ideal for a quiet beach getaway, yet we're easily accessible by car or trolley to so many good restaurants and shops. Glad you had time to explore a bit!

Would love to have you follow us on our Facebook Page: Barefoot Beach Resort. And...more importantly, we hope to see you back again as soon as you can!

All the best from
Bill Priakos and
"the Barefoot gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    96
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
157
103
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As already mentioned in previous reviews the team at Barefoot at very helpful and welcoming. April, Tina and Kathy were of particular help to us; both before and during our visit. My Husband were glad to have selected this resort and complex because it was in quieter part of the Island less than 3/4 hour drive from Tampa airport and easy access to all areas. Our condo was on the second floor overlooking the inland water where we could relax and watch the wildlife from our window. The beach is on the other side of the road from the small complex, just a five minute stroll;The beach is a great place to walk comfortably(barefoot) to the other resorts, to Sunbathe and to observe the local wildlife. Each unit is individually equipped so I can only comment on ours B211 which was very well equipped and provided all you would need for even a very long stay! Everything from a slow cooker to a picnic set and cooler bag. However this was all wasted on us because we were out and about and took full advantage of the fine food on offer at local establishments.
The Suite was comfortably furnished in true Floridian style, good comfy bed, TV in both bedroom and lounge area, CD player. The bedroom had one cupboard with plenty of coat hangers but it also houses the extra blankets, pillows and sheets which restricts the storage space.There are however two bedside cabinets with two drawers and a side cabinet with five drawers so more than enough room for your clothing, but not necessarily for your luggage or shoes. Towels and sheets are changed for guests staying eight days or over and they are exchanged on the seventh day which is fine. You will need to pack your own beach towels or purchase some while you are there. No clothes washing facilities are provided in the condo units but there is a coin laundry area on the complex for your use. A good hair dryer and an iron are also provided but if you are a tea drinker like myself then I would recommend taking a travel kettle as the stove one provided takes ages to boil.

During your stay please try to visit the local Heritage Centre and Botanical gardens it is a real gem and you will learn a lot about the area.

My Husband and I found people to be very friendly and hospitable there is a huge variety of things to see and do and we would both visit again if we had the opportunity.

Room Tip: We requested an upstairs room just in case there would be any noise but the whole area was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
How nice of you to review your recent stay with us at Barefoot Beach Resort. First off, let me say how much we enjoyed having you - and are honored that you chose us!

You captured exactly what sets us apart from other resorts in the area - our location. Not only do we have beach access but we are right on the intercoastal - so you're surrounded by beautiful waters.

So glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of our condos, and the friendliness of our staff. You're right - there are so many wonderful places to dine and explore - and Heritage Park is such a fun place to learn about yesteryear.

Thanks again - and we hope you'll stay in touch with us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort. Most of all, we hope you'll return again!

All best regards from

Bill Priakos and
"the Barefoot gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Barefoot Beach Resort is a little gem as well as their staff Tina & April. Rented 2 bedroom waterview with patio....worth it just for the outdoor space...note they do have other patio's that overlook the street....otherwise you'll not have any outdoor space unless you go to the pool or channel area. Beach is a short stroll away....they do have a heated pool but no hot tub....condo has everything you need and very clean. The only downside really is the location...not much around for dining...nightlife...stores. We did not rent a car so the trolley is a big plus 4.50 to ride all day. Salt Rock Grill is excellent right next door and if you want a Key West flavor bar Mahuffer's was great...only a short walk away other than that nothing around there so you might want a car if staying at these beautiful condos geared towards seniors and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay here. Tina and April will be delighted with your comments - they truly enjoy all our guests and want their stay to be special.

You're right - the 2 bedroom suite with the water view is so special and relaxing. Glad you stayed there and were able to hopefully catch a sunrise in the morning.

Love to have you follow us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort, and look forward to the next time you can enjoy a stay with us.

Kind regards from
Bill Priakos and
"The Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you just want a reasonably clean place to stay on the beach with walking access to shops & restaurants, this is the place.
Nothing fancy, just clean and well located near John's Pass Village. The room decor was nice and the beds comfortable. The Kitchettes in the room are a bonus and makes a stay at the beach even more affordable. No restaurant or bar on location, but there are plenty near by.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks so much for writing comments on your recent stay with us. So happy you enjoyed your stay and found the kitchen an asset as well as the rooms comfortable.

You are right - we are in an easy location, or short trolley ride away, from lots of shops and restaurants.

Hope you'll stay in touch with us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort. And...hope you can return soon for another pleasant stay.

All the best from
Bill Priakos and
the "Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel offers a beach house. They do not offer breakfast and restaurant. They inhibit the use of soap for kitchen and bathroom and do not exchange your towels and linens. But you can enjoy the beautiful beaches and excellent restaurants nearby. You need to cross an avenue entries between hotels and access to reach the beach. They are very helpful and the rooms are large, living room, TV and Internet, very good.

Room Tip: They have comfortable condos and you can pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay with us.

We're pleased you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and grounds and found the location to be easy to get around. Our staff is always pleased to receive compliments on their friendliness - that is genuine - they love our guests!

Happy you enjoyed good beach time - hope you caught a sunset or two!

Love to have you stay in touch with us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort. And
hope you can return soon!

All best regards from
Bill Priakos and the
"Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here whilst travelling round Florida from the UK.

We began with a bit of confusion over our booking (which the staff thought had been cancelled), but this was soon resolved without any fuss.
The condo itself was extremely well equipped (certainly compared to some in the UK) with all the amenities you could need, and very clean and tidy. It was also very spacious (for 2 people anyway).

The beach is across the (quite busy) street, and there is a good sized heated pool with plenty of loungers. There are not many eating / drinking establishments nearby, however the Salt Rock Grill right next door is very good indeed. We took the bus one evening, and went a couple of miles up the road to JD's bar / restaurant (on the advice of some locals) and had a good meal, a few beers, and plenty of music and dancing!

There is a store (7/11) just up the road, which was very handy for provisions for the one night we didn't go out.

The staff we met were friendly and helpful, and all in all, this was a good place to stay for a few relaxing days.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlooked the waterway at the rear, which would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We're always pleased to host guests from the U.K. and we're honored you chose Barefoot Beach Resort for your recent stay. You sure had gorgeous weather, didn't you?

Thanks for the compliments on our spacious units, cleanliness, pool and common areas. We're glad you had chance to enjoy the area restaurants and just hang out and relax in the condo as well.

Our staff sincerely appreciate knowing you found them friendly - that's a big priority with us here at Barefoot!

Love to have you come back again -- to keep you informed, we welcome you to visit our Facebook page at Barefoot Beach Resort.

Have a wonderful 2013!

Bill Priakos for the
Barefoot gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

barefoot reasort was nice the staff was very helpful. the rooms were clean and well stocked with every thing we needed the ocean was just across the street and the canel was on the property people were fishing and having fun ,the pool was very nice,the only down fall was we didnt have a veiw of the ocean or the cannel but we had alot of fun thanks globel vacations

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us.

We're so pleased you enjoy the resort and its amenities, plus found our staff helpful. You are right, we are not beachfront, but our own beach access just across the street make it easy for our guests to enjoy the beautiful Gulf of Mexico.

We'd love to have you back as a regular guest here at Barefoot and hope you'll follow what's going on via Facebook page, Barefoot Beach Resort.

All best wishes for a fine holiday season from Bill Priakos and the Barefoot gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom w/sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. Full kitchen. pool, private beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Hotel Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Resort Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.