We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Sizzling Summer Savings
Fostoria, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Barefoot Beach Resort is a little gem as well as their staff Tina & April. Rented 2 bedroom waterview with patio....worth it just for the outdoor space...note they do have other patio's that overlook the street....otherwise you'll not have any outdoor space unless you go to the pool or channel area. Beach is a short stroll away....they do have a heated pool but no hot tub....condo has everything you need and very clean. The only downside really is the location...not much around for dining...nightlife...stores. We did not rent a car so the trolley is a big plus 4.50 to ride all day. Salt Rock Grill is excellent right next door and if you want a Key West flavor bar Mahuffer's was great...only a short walk away other than that nothing around there so you might want a car if staying at these beautiful condos geared towards seniors and families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay here. Tina and April will be delighted with your comments - they truly enjoy all our guests and want their stay to be special.

You're right - the 2 bedroom suite with the water view is so special and relaxing. Glad you stayed there and were able to hopefully catch a sunrise in the morning.

Love to have you follow us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort, and look forward to the next time you can enjoy a stay with us.

Kind regards from
Bill Priakos and
"The Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    83
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
141
84
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

If you just want a reasonably clean place to stay on the beach with walking access to shops & restaurants, this is the place.
Nothing fancy, just clean and well located near John's Pass Village. The room decor was nice and the beds comfortable. The Kitchettes in the room are a bonus and makes a stay at the beach even more affordable. No restaurant or bar on location, but there are plenty near by.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks so much for writing comments on your recent stay with us. So happy you enjoyed your stay and found the kitchen an asset as well as the rooms comfortable.

You are right - we are in an easy location, or short trolley ride away, from lots of shops and restaurants.

Hope you'll stay in touch with us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort. And...hope you can return soon for another pleasant stay.

All the best from
Bill Priakos and
the "Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel offers a beach house. They do not offer breakfast and restaurant. They inhibit the use of soap for kitchen and bathroom and do not exchange your towels and linens. But you can enjoy the beautiful beaches and excellent restaurants nearby. You need to cross an avenue entries between hotels and access to reach the beach. They are very helpful and the rooms are large, living room, TV and Internet, very good.

Room Tip: They have comfortable condos and you can pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay with us.

We're pleased you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and grounds and found the location to be easy to get around. Our staff is always pleased to receive compliments on their friendliness - that is genuine - they love our guests!

Happy you enjoyed good beach time - hope you caught a sunset or two!

Love to have you stay in touch with us on our Facebook page: Barefoot Beach Resort. And
hope you can return soon!

All best regards from
Bill Priakos and the
"Barefoot Gang"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here whilst travelling round Florida from the UK.

We began with a bit of confusion over our booking (which the staff thought had been cancelled), but this was soon resolved without any fuss.
The condo itself was extremely well equipped (certainly compared to some in the UK) with all the amenities you could need, and very clean and tidy. It was also very spacious (for 2 people anyway).

The beach is across the (quite busy) street, and there is a good sized heated pool with plenty of loungers. There are not many eating / drinking establishments nearby, however the Salt Rock Grill right next door is very good indeed. We took the bus one evening, and went a couple of miles up the road to JD's bar / restaurant (on the advice of some locals) and had a good meal, a few beers, and plenty of music and dancing!

There is a store (7/11) just up the road, which was very handy for provisions for the one night we didn't go out.

The staff we met were friendly and helpful, and all in all, this was a good place to stay for a few relaxing days.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlooked the waterway at the rear, which would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We're always pleased to host guests from the U.K. and we're honored you chose Barefoot Beach Resort for your recent stay. You sure had gorgeous weather, didn't you?

Thanks for the compliments on our spacious units, cleanliness, pool and common areas. We're glad you had chance to enjoy the area restaurants and just hang out and relax in the condo as well.

Our staff sincerely appreciate knowing you found them friendly - that's a big priority with us here at Barefoot!

Love to have you come back again -- to keep you informed, we welcome you to visit our Facebook page at Barefoot Beach Resort.

Have a wonderful 2013!

Bill Priakos for the
Barefoot gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

barefoot reasort was nice the staff was very helpful. the rooms were clean and well stocked with every thing we needed the ocean was just across the street and the canel was on the property people were fishing and having fun ,the pool was very nice,the only down fall was we didnt have a veiw of the ocean or the cannel but we had alot of fun thanks globel vacations

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us.

We're so pleased you enjoy the resort and its amenities, plus found our staff helpful. You are right, we are not beachfront, but our own beach access just across the street make it easy for our guests to enjoy the beautiful Gulf of Mexico.

We'd love to have you back as a regular guest here at Barefoot and hope you'll follow what's going on via Facebook page, Barefoot Beach Resort.

All best wishes for a fine holiday season from Bill Priakos and the Barefoot gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had read reviews before booking and knew that Indian Shores would be small but I didn't realise effectively non-existent. To be fair, the condo itself was fine - quite well furnished although if you paid close attention, there were bare screws sticking out of walls, shelves half fixed etc. Bedrooms (for American standards) were quite small and beds definitely no bigger than a UK double. I had emailed the complex before hand to request 2 twin beds for my teenage sons, but upon arrival, found just one double bed for them and a suggestion that we should use the pull-out sofa in the lounge. This didn't suit our setup at all, as my partner likes to stay up late, which would mean one of my sons wouldn't have a bed until my partner retired for the night. Our room overlooked the carpark - not a lot of atmosphere. Beach access is a short walk across the road, but I have to say there's not a lot happening at Indian Shores Beach.
Salt Rock grill next door is it's saving grace, because without this, it really would be like a 'ghost town'. What a shame that we hadn't chosen 10 minutes either side ie Indian Rocks Beach or Reddington/Madeira Beaches, where there was so much more to see and do, particularly within walking distance. We stayed a total of 4 hours, and decided to check out and spend our 4 nights up in Clearwater Beach, which suited our family and set-up so much more. After 10 crazy days in Kissimmee, driving to all the theme parks, all we wanted to do was to stay somewhere quiet and relaxing, but with shops and restaurants within easy walking - this was not the case at Indian Shores, but this is a criticism of the location rather than the complex.

Room Tip: I believe rooms over-looking the Inter-coastal are meant to be quite nice - I did email the complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review following your recent brief stay with us.

We value all guest's comments very much and try to use them to improve the experience for each and every one. In your case, we're sorry that the location was the big stumbling block to your experience.

Many people, as you say, do want a quiet and tranquil retreat following an action-packed visit to the Central Florida theme parks and that is why they enjoy Indian Shores. Perhaps you did not realize that a trolley runs regularly up through the beach communities and stops very close to our resort. Within minutes you could have arrived at shops, restaurants, and nightlife.

Anyway, we are glad you were able to enjoy your stay here on the West Coast of Florida and send all good greetings your way.

Sincerely,

Bill Priakos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having never been to Florida, this accomodation was booked for us on the recommendation of our agent. There is no doubt about it, the condos are of excellent quality and all furnishings (with the exception of the double bed which was noisy and uncomfortable) are first class. Everything is bright, clean and extremely spacious. However (whilst we learned there are a few units with outdoor seating area) to find ourselves in such a nice condo, in such a nice part of the world, with such good weather, without any private outdoor space was really disappointing. We also felt there was a real lack of atmosphere; I can't put my finger on it, but I think it stems from this lack of outdoor space and therefore, apart from being round the pool, people either have to sit indoors or go elsewhere. I've read on here that it is very cheap, in which case it is probably great value accomodation considering the quality, but we didn't go there on price, it was part of a package put together by our agent, and if we'd been told a bit more and given the option to pay more in order to get something on the beach side of the road with balcony or terrace, we would definitely have done it. Knowing what we know now, and having seen the phenomenal amount of beachside apartments of widely varying character and style, we would definitely get something overlooking the sea.
But to be fair the website doesn't tell any lies and for some it would be great, we probably should have done a bit more research and it just wasnt really for us.
Also note there is virtually nothing in walking distance in terms of eating places, you have to drive everywhere whereby if we'd have stayed just a couple of miles down Gulf Blvd we would have had a lot more on our doorstep. 

Room Tip: Try and get one of the units with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbvr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay here at Barefoot Beach Resort. We know you had a long way to travel from the U.K. and we truly are honored you chose to stay with us.

It is unfortunate your agent did not give you the choices available, which included our terrace units, because for long stays it indeed does make a difference. As for the beach, most people consider that the short walk across to the beach is no really an inconvenience at all, made up for it in the price difference of our units.

We would have loved you to stop and ask about dining because a cafe two blocks away is fine for breakfasts. The Salt Rock Grill is walking distance as well and one of the most popular dining establishments in the area. We would have advised you hop the Jolley Trolley which runs regularly down through the beach communities. You would have had plenty of choices from John's Pass down to St. Pete Beach, and more.

Anyway, we thank you for your comments on our bright and clean units. We certainly did enjoy having you and should you choose to come back, we would love to see you again.

Best regards from Bill and the Barefoot Gang.

Bill Priakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 19417 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty lodging in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bedroom w/sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. Full kitchen. pool, private beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Hotel Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Indian Shores
Barefoot Beach Resort Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.