We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club

Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club
Save Saved
You added Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club to your Saves list
19451 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Shores, FL 33785   |  
Hotel amenities
Noblesville, IN
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here the last week of June 2012. We had a very good experience. We rented unit #406 directly from the owner via a vacation rental site. (I will post a link at the bottom, but it is property number 10401 on vacationrentals dot com) The unit had been refurbished and was stocked with everything you could need for a week at the beach. But also had plenty to do in the condo in case of bad weather. There is a lot of work being done in general at this complex. The pool and spa seem to have been refurbished and we both very warm. The tennis courts were in great shape. The elevators are older and one of them did break down a couple times, but they had someone out to fix them promptly. They had the dock taped off, but we didnt have time to fish anyway. There was a caretaker on site and they cleaned up quickly after a tropical storm. There is beach access almost close to the entrance which was very convenient. There was also a putting green and sauna, but we did not use them. The owners we rented from were very friendly and called us a couple times to verify everything was ok. We will definitely rent this unit again.

http://www.vacationrentals.com/vacation-rentals/10401.html?cid=E_owner-inquiry_DB_O_20120222_prop%20pg_text_LPROP

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed for the month of May. We were told by people who own units that the heater to the pool is broken. After some research we found out from building management that the condo board voted to turn the heater to the pool off as of May 1. Even though it's Florida and it's hot in may and June you can sure feel the difference with the pool heater off. Especially after a rain day...it's just simply too cold to get in and enjoy. Why do owners not advertise this information that the pool heater is off. It appears that they want to deceive the renters and take there rental money and let them believe that the facility they are renting has a heated pool. It's true that the pool has a heater, but is NOT broken as they say, it is turned OFF. The hot tub is also maintained a couple of degrees lower then it should for proper spa affect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I was concerned based on prior reviews of the Bayshore Yacht & Tennis Club, probably a misnomer, although there were 4 tennis courts, the "yacht" part consisted, to my knowledge, of some piers out back. Anyway, at 46 years of age, I was one of the youngest people there. It was a very quiet place. From my understanding based on other reviews, the units are individually owned, which means each is differently furnished. Many of the renters were older people there for 3 month stretches. Our unit, 205, was sufficient, especially since we didn't want to do any real cooking while there. There was a coffee maker and microwave. I heard other people by the pool say they had blenders, Foreman grills, etc., but not in our unit. I had the room in the front, by the walkway, consisting of 2 twin beds. The walls were thin. You can hear people out front, which is ok if you're an early riser. The queen pull out bed was not good sleeping either, lots of springs and a thin mattress. But from what I understand, the queen bed in the main bedroom was good. Our unit had 2 sliding glass doors out onto a good sized balcony, which we used quite a bit in the evening. It looked out onto a Bay. We also made good use of the pool during the day and also the hot tub at night (closes at 11:00 p.m.). Overall, given, the price, I would consider going back with friends, but not a lot of people nor on a romantic trip. Overall, though I really like the area, beach right across the road, dog racing close by, casino close by, and we LOVED Bern's steakhouse. The Bird Santuary was also fantastic, and only about a mile out of the parking lot to the left.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

The unit we booked had a beachy theme with fresh new bath and kitchen and beautifully decorated. The complex is quiet with many amenities - tennis courts, putting green, shuffleboard, pool, hot tub, boat slips, grills, and access to the beach just across the street. Loved the direct view of the intercoastal waterway and the huge balcony!
Be sure to get up to date photos of the unit you rent as some are tired and need a reno. We had a great time at a great price!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South US
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I read the other comments about this location that are posted on here and agree with the reviewers comment that said BEWARE of BAYSHORE. It advertised as having a "heated" pool. All I can say is that if the pool had a heater it was not turned on or it was broken. There was mixed discussion and comments around the pool from apparent owners (the units are all privately owned) some said the heater was turned off for the time of year that we stayed and another owner who I think said he is on the board of the condo association said that it will be fixed next week. The comment about it being fixed next week happened in the first week of our two-week stay and it never did get fixed for our entire visit. So, the comment from the person that said BEWARE is right, we expected a heated pool and it wasn't. Then there was the hot tub, they are named HOT tubs for a reason, they are supposed to be "hot" and have a therapeutic effect. The hot tub was well below the temperature normally expected from them, I am certain it was below 100 degrees. So, again this location advertised having a hot tub and it did but when you consider the temperature of it being so low then effectively it did not have a hot tub. I am thinking because all the units of this building are privately owned that they are cutting their expenses by turning off the pool heater and turning down the temperature of the hot tub. I agree that we all need to watch expenses but if that is the case they should advertise the facility as such and say that the heater in the pool is turned off for many months of the year and that they maintain a "warm" hot tub and not a "hot" hot tub. By advertising correctly then there would be no unpleasant surprises and you know you got what you booked. As for the cleanliness we found our unit to be very clean and nice but in chatting with some other visitors we met around the pool that not all the units are nice and certainly not all of them clean. There are some great restaurants close by, not really walking distance but a very short drive. The beach is just across the road which is nice and can easily be accessed by walking there. If the pool had to be heated and the hot tub had to be a decent hot temperature as they should be then our stay would be great. However, considering that for most people on a leisure vacation the facilities of the swimming pool and hot tub are very important and are used extensively as part of enjoying your vacation and if this facilities are compromised then so is your vacation. I think if I were staying again at this location I would check if the problems with the pool and hot tub were fixed but then again who do you ask. After all we got mixed comments from owners when one story said the heater was turned off and the other story said the heater would be fixed and turned on. And if I were to stay again I would try and get the same unit which I think would ensure the cleanliness and a good unit overall. I guess the old saying of "buyer beware" applies here. Maybe as a suggestion when renting here is to have it in writing from the owner that there are no problems such as we experienced and ensure some recourse in the event that this happens to you. I am recommending here with the caveat of "buyer beware" and if you do then you could possibly have a good experience here. As for us our 2010 vacation it will be in the bahamas to attend a wedding and hopefully we will have a good experience there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo , NY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

The condo's are in a beautiful area, although they are privately owned, so it is a hit or miss on weather the unit is clean or in nice condition. I general stay due to the lower cost. We have stayed 10 plus times & the room's have not been in good repair , old outdated furnature & un clean. I run to the dollar stores first thing gets cleaning supplies, cover the couches & then have a awesome time. Its great for a couple or family on a budget . The beach is walking distance just across the street.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

I have to disagree with the only other review of this property. We have just returned from a two week stay and had a brilliant time. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here, (the first time was in 2005 and we would have returned last year but couldn't get the required dates), and it was a repeat of our previous experience, i.e. fantastic. The condo we use is spotless and the lady we rent from couldn't be nicer, it is just like a home from home. This first time we stayed in 2005 there was some construction work to the roof but the disruption was kept to a minimum. The view from the balcony is superb and you are able to relax and enjoy the local wildlife, (and I don't mean families with teenagers, as in the two years we have have been there we have never encountered any. In our experience the place is used by older couples or couples with younger families.

  • Liked — Quality of the accommodation
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club

Address: 19451 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Shores, FL 33785
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club Hotel Indian Shores
Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayshore Yacht Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.