We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meal, Fantastic Service, Beautiful View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Rock Grill

Salt Rock Grill
19325 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2214
7275937625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This beach landmark is legendary, and it’s still on fire with a burning passion for delectable food, enticing drink and pleasurable surroundings. For an evening of fine dining, elegant atmosphere, superior service and genuine hospitality, Salt Rock Grill is your destination.Come by land or sea and enjoy the finest dining location in Tampa Bay.St. Petersburg Times–"The first modern surf and turf joint on the beaches still packs them in with red-hot, straight-ahead cooking. Steaks are first-rate, lobsters monstrous, wine cellar deep, seafood and fish souped up in spicy broth. The unexpected treats are root vegetables, lentils and smart spicing"
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Meal, Fantastic Service, Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Came here for an early dinner. Sat outside on the deck. Beautiful views. Great service by Rachel. Delicious dinner and dessert. Worth every penny!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    317
    153
    80
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Better than average Florida restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A great location, with good food great service and good wine by the glass. Makes for a winner in my book.
You go for the seafood, cooked on an open grill in view of everyone. As a non seafood eater I cannot really comment, but both my kids like their seafood entries.
My pasta was surprisingly good with an interesting mix of flavours and seasonings.
Worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fire & Ice...Wow! GREAT food, scenery,& service! what more could one ask for??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Salt Rock Grill should always be a dining experience! It is WAY beyond just a meal! Our family ate there Wednesday night before Thanksgiving. Two of us shared the Fire and Ice appetizer as our meal..OMG! Magnificient seafood tower that we enjoyed plus enough to share with rest of family as an appetizer...36 raw oysters on the half shell that were some of the best I have ever had! plus clams, crab legs, deviled crab, giant prawns, & delicious mussels (usually I don't like mussels..but these were to die for!)..and probably other stuff I can't even remember. Try this ! It is a GREAT deal! Two of us had steak..the porterhouse was HUGE and delicious..cook rare to perfection. The filet mignon was very nicely prepared and delectable, The halibut was just good..nothing to write home about..but then...we are used to Alaskan fresh from the sea halibut. All of our party of 6 had a wonderful dining experience & very good to excellent food...with a spectacular view. This is where you want to go for a special night. Check out the infloor wine cellar also!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great early bird special menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Arrived before 530 pm to order from the early bird special. What a treat! Mile high meatloaf with onion straws, garlic mashed potatoes, salad AND dessert! Outdoor dining on the intercoastal waterway was beautiful. Our server was excellent, very friendly and efficient. A must go to restaurant in Pinellas County.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Instead of a long day of cooking and cleaning, we opted for Thanksgiving dinner out. I think we have a new tradition. We made a 5 o'clock reservation. We walked in a few minutes late... Maybe 3 or 4 minutes only. We were sat right away. A beautiful view of the intracoastal. Let the server Lee,know that we were hoping to not be rushed. He said "no problem". We started with drinks. I had THE best martini ever! Then we started a truly delicious and magical evening. The food was amazing. The service was amazing. This is a special place for my husband and me. We brought family and had a memorable Thanksgiving. We didn't leave until after 7:30. It was amazing. And Lee was an incredible server. I have reviewed this restaurant before. But I continue to just love love love this place! I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Rock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Salt Rock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Rock Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.