We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks in beach area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Rock Grill

Salt Rock Grill
19325 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2214
7275937625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This beach landmark is legendary, and it’s still on fire with a burning passion for delectable food, enticing drink and pleasurable surroundings. For an evening of fine dining, elegant atmosphere, superior service and genuine hospitality, Salt Rock Grill is your destination.Come by land or sea and enjoy the finest dining location in Tampa Bay.St. Petersburg Times–"The first modern surf and turf joint on the beaches still packs them in with red-hot, straight-ahead cooking. Steaks are first-rate, lobsters monstrous, wine cellar deep, seafood and fish souped up in spicy broth. The unexpected treats are root vegetables, lentils and smart spicing"
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best steaks in beach area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Salt Rock Grill is worth the wait. Especially during season, be prepared to enjoy a few cocktails. Great atmosphere, food and service are excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    316
    152
    80
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Sorry to say, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

As near local (Sarasota) have heard mention of the Salt Rock Grill over the past number of years and was excited to finally try it out. Maybe it was my own experience, but found it to be disappointing. Our waitress gave our group a lot of attitude when ordering and did not make it an enjoyable dinner. I ordered one of their "simply grilled" fresh caught fish entrees and it was dry and tasteless. I'm all for not having a lot of sauce but expected it to at least have some seasoning and a dash of butter or oil. The slight bit of mango salsa served with it didn't do much for it. You were encouraged to upgrade your side to fancy potato dishes for $4. I chose to get the non-upgraded baked potato side and that was what it was, a plain baked potato and not a very good one at that. I wish I could say that it was a better experience than what it was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super Food for a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Salt Rock Grill is always busy but worth the wait especially if you get the opportunity to sit along the water. Their food and service are excellent. One of their best kept secrets is the early bird two dinners for $25 with a variety of menu options. Dinners come with bread, dipping oil, salad, entree and dessert. What their website doesn't mention is that you can also get those dinners to go. I find that especially pleasing since I don't always want to dress for dinner after spending a tiring day at the beach and would rather enjoy their great food sitting in my shorts on the balcony of our rental condo. You can see the entree choices on their website--we are working our way through the entire menu--so far everything is super!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Dinner was excellent, great service. We tried a few apps and had a great water view. This is a must on your vacation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Salt Rock Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fantastic food. Fabulous setting. Great value especially if you visit Monday to Friday and select from the early diners option (seated before 5.30 pm). The wine is very reasonably priced too. This was one of our best meals in Florida.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Rock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Salt Rock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Rock Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.