We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Suite 306” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Dollar Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sand Dollar Condominiums to your Saves list
Sand Dollar Condominiums
18500 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Shores, FL 34635   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Suite 306”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

Unit 306 was wonderfully clean and well decorated beautiful view from the balcony. Staff was extremely polite and helpful. Grounds, BBQ area, pool, hot tub all well kept and well maintained, beach fantastic for swimming and long walks. Beach Trolley stops outside the Condo Building.(goes all the way from Clearwater Beach to Pas da Grille. Great way to travel, all day for $3.50, stop get off and then get back on whenever it suits you. Eat at Salt Rock Grill - The Pub - Conch Republic - Good Food. Only one complaint bottom sheet not fitted for the bed and made sleeping uncomfortable - otherwise you could not have asked for a better equipped unit.

  • Liked — Clean Unit, wonderful beach, pool, and close to all amenities
  • Disliked — Bed sheets for the bed.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Holly S., Rental Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, July 14, 2007
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! And the suggestion! I am happy to report that we will be upgrading our linens quite soon! Thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
46
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

We had booked to stay at the Sand Dollar from April 28th to May 6th. We checked in around 6:00PM on April 28th and proceded to our condo Unit 202. When we entered the unit we were immediately struck with a very strong smell of must and dirt and were appalled to find the following situation:
The carpets were old, stained and dirty.
The bathroom sinks were stained from years of use.
The bathtub looked like it hadn't been cleaned.
The bedsheet in the guest bedroom had a quarter sized blood stain on it and one of the pillow cases was completely stained and disgusting.
When we pulled down the bedsheet in the master bedroom we found hairs in the bed.
The patio door lock was broken and could not be closed.
You could rock the fridge in the kitchen back and forth. It looked to be missing one of the supports.
As it was too late to go the front desk and complain because the lady had left for the day, we tried to reach someone on the phone numbers that were listed in the unit directory but only got a voice mail stating that they would not be available unitl 9:00AM the next morning. That night I slept on the couch for a couple of hours and my wife slept on the loveseat. The next morning we went to the front desk and expressed our displeasure and asked if they had another unit available. They showed us another condo but that was not much better so we asked if they had any condo's in other buildings because we were not going to stay there. They eventually found us a unit in the Sea Oats about a mile down the beach that we found to be very good. I don't know if it was just our bad luck because most of the reviews I had read about the Sand Dollar were positive. However it appears to me that some units are rented continuously and not kept up while others are rented only when the owners are not there and consequently are probably very nice condo's. That being said with the very bad experience we had we would never return to this resort.
Upon our return home we contacted our travel agent who has lodged a complaint with the rental managament company. I only wish we had taken some photos of the unit to go along with the complaint letter but we were so upset at the time we didn't think of it.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResorts, Holly S., Rental Manager at Sand Dollar Condominiums, responded to this review, July 14, 2007
As always, we truly appreciate people who take the time to let us know of their experiences with our condos. Opinions will always vary and though many people have stayed in this particular condo quite happily, both before and after this stay, we take any and all issues seriuously. Thus we did do our best to make them happy and were pleased that they enjoyed our condo at Sea Oats. I would like to address just one of the inaccuracies: Had they listened to the recording fully they would have heard the instructions for reaching us after hours. We do have a staff member on call 365 days a year, who would have been happy to come out and help them immediately.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo (Room #502) and loved every minute of it. The condo was very spacious (over 1800 sq ft) and bright with sliding doors to the balcony and windows on the side that you could view the beach from all. It was quiet and relaxing. The condo had all the amentities you need including lounge chairs, an umbrella and volleyball for the beach. Great pool and jacuzzi. We didn't use the outdoor BBQ grills, but many families did. The private pier was a nice touch for residents/guests of the condo too. Parking was easy and always accessible. Having 2 bathrooms was a real plus for our family as well.

The condo itself was a little worn and they could replace the sagging couch, but it was clean, neat and had everything we needed.

Only negatives was the miscommunication between condo owner and management company on delivery of new bed mattresses. Was a slight inconvenience with maintenance in and out for a few days, but not horrible. The front desk apologized and gave us a credit when we checked out.

Location in Indian Shores was great too. Nice restaurants nearby. Don't miss St. John's Pass - fun shops, restaurants and boating activities.

We would definately stay here again. Great value for the price. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Thanks for a great time.

  • Liked — Spacious, great views/location, quiet
  • Disliked — Slow elevator
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

We have been visiting the Gulf Coast for the past seventeen years and we have finally found apartments offering true family accommodation and excellent value for money.
The Sand Dollar was able to provide three bedroom accommodation situated on beach side with great views over the Gulf of Mexico.
Two of the rooms had a private balcony and seating.
Our apartment was clean and spacious and staff were very helpful on arrival and during our stay.
Good size pool which was cleaned every day and a very hot, hot tub. There are also several barbecues available to guests.
Lots of easy parking in large private car park and good restaurants near by.
My only criticism is that the private fishing pier no longer reaches into the sea. Locals told me that the beach was enlarged in 2006, pity that the pier was not extended at the same time.
Definitely a place on my returns list.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

We stayed for 10 days in mid July 2006....new decor is fabulous..ample parking. Staff is courteous, accomodating and efficient as always. Beach is soft.

Rooms are confortable; just like living at home.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

one of the nicest small condo complexes in the are. The staff was really friendly, and the pool area was as nice as the photos. You cant beat the sunsets from your balcony, poolside, or the private pier.

The condos are really big too. Plenty of room. The 3 bedroom has its own balcony doors separate from the living room balcony doors.

It is not a resort, or hotel, it is a condo complex. The area is great too. Plenty to do with the kids and the wife. Johns pass has tons of shopping and island like atmosphere. Plenty of cool theme pubs and restaurants. All in all, I recomend it.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

We stayed a week in one of the 3 bedroom condos and it was perfect. I had my own washer and dryer (not all units have them, so check) which was very convenient, every room was spacious, the Gulf side view was incredible and the pool and hot tub was clean. The condo was equipped with everything we needed to accomodate 6 people. It's a place for families and people aren't fussy about hearing kids giggle and have fun. We met alot of nice families and plan to return to the Sand Dollar next year!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Dollar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Condominiums

Address: 18500 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Shores, FL 34635
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Dollar offers 1, 2, & 3 bedroom condos with private balconies overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico and our white sugar sand beach that goes on for miles! Heated pool, JacuzziTM and private fishing pier serve to make a wonderful holiday. Outdoor barbecue and picnic area with lots of room for family cookouts. COme see why our guests make Sand Dollar their vacation home away from home, year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sand Dollar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Condominiums Hotel Indian Shores
Sand Dollar Condominiums Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Dollar Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.