We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“403 Holiday Villas III - Great 2/2 beach condo overlooking gulf and pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Villas III

Save Saved
You added Holiday Villas III to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Villas III
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18610 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2059   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Indian Shores
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“403 Holiday Villas III - Great 2/2 beach condo overlooking gulf and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Older, building with pool patio, and grills sitting right on the beach. There is a volley ball net on location and the beach is a gorgous stretch that is not overpopulated despite the nearby beach accesses. One parking spot per unit with paid parking at a park across the street at a county park. Our unit was comfortably beachy and typical of a lot of rentals, a little worn but fun for a family with teenagers. We had a great time and the unit owners and other renters were very friendly and nice. Its low key, not a party seen like some condos which was perfect for us. Plenty of pool side seating. Bring a tent or umbrella for the beach if you want any shade. Manager onsite.

Room Tip: Ask for direct gulf view. Those units that face the intercoastal are 1 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    10
    11
    10
See reviews for
40
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My entire family just finished our 1 week stay at Holiday Villa III, My son, daughter and nephew each had a different unit with their own children. My wife and I were in unit #603. The unit was nice and was very clean when we arrived. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need in utensils like pots, pans dishes snd silverware .....etc.

The mattress in the master bedroom was not like the one at home but we figured you never
get one like home when you stay in hotels or motels. It really wasn't that bad.just not what we
we were used to

We had a problem with some light bulbs that were out, but just one visit to the office and the bulbs were replaced in about 10 min.

There was some construction noise from another unit near us, but it was only during the day
while we were out on the beach so it wasn't too bad. I guess you can't really be too upset with
this because it shows that the Owners of the units are trying to remodel and up-date their units.
The City of Indian Shores has opened a parking lot across the street at the Boat Ramp..
If you have visitors they can park there for $2.00 for 24 hours. This was good news, because
in the past whenever we had friends come to visit we would have to try and find parking on the
street and this was at times hard to find parking near the condo.
The pool area and the pool are cleaned each morning as is the elevator. Some people forget
to rinse the sand off their feet and enter the elevator with sand on their feet and wet bathing suits

We would definitely stay at Holiday Villa III again in the future.


George P. 7/28/12 to 8/03/12

Room Tip: If you have never stayed here before you may want to see Current Photos of the unit.you plan to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family and I recently visited Holiday Villas III, as the place we have stayed for the last several years was unavailable (St Pete Beach). So my husband and I, although hesitant, decided to try Indian Shores. Holiday Villas III had come recommended by my husband's colleague.

We found the beach up-keep to be equally superior to that of St Pete Beach. The pool area was perfect for our toddler grand-daughter and conveniently located, unlike many of the condo complexes we reviewed.

The office staff was also very friendly and helpful. Because our flight arrived early, we took a chance and found our room to be clean and ready to go before check-in time. Our condo was supplied with everything you could need. All was ready to go. Unfortunately, we arrived on a day of endless rain. Noticing our grand-daughter and the rest of our family, the woman in the office gave us some "indoor ideas" that the locals know about. And if you want to forego the preparation of lunch or dinner, she can definitely name some great places that are less "touristy" and cater well to the locals (both seafood and not, as we aren't all seafood fans). Great service, great food!

Overall, Holiday Villas III is a great buy for a family vacation. It's an easy jaunt from Tampa airport, everything you could need is within walking distance or a few minute's drive, everything was clean and in order, and the management was to be commended.

We will be making a reservation very soon for next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I love the beach and the area but hate our stay in unit 603. The decor is out dated. Couch looks like it was from the early 90s. Patio furniture was broken. Blood stains on pillow and large white spot on master bed, manager did have these replaced. We wondered how clean the place really was after we found this. Oh forgot to mention the loud drilling due to renovations up stairs. We are ready for vacation to be over. Will not stay here again. Was not worth the 1200 we spent for the week.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This unit looked great online, the pictures matched the condo really well. Our stay was good, with a few minor exceptions. The pool was really small for the size of the complex, we didn't even use it. There is only one elevator for the entire building,and climbing stairs to the 6th floor with groceries & the like isn't fun. The condo did have Internet available, but we had to pay an additional $30 for the week, and even then it wasn't wireless and it was slower than what i would like. Also, I went to print a coupon from the office, and when I asked an older lady behind the counter if I could print, she rudely told me no and went back to her computer. Only when I told her someone else from my unit had printed did she ask if I was a renter and then told me how to print. I was more than put off from her. Another negative was that a whole floor share one washer and dryer, and you have to pay $1.25 per load for washing and drying.

On the good notes, the view was splendid! The furniture on the balcony was very nice and comfortable. The kitchen was updated nicely, and the living room was clean, comfortable, and the television was a good sized flat screen. Our condo was missing a cutting board, we called the office to see if they had any extra and we got a brand new one from them that same day. The location was great, we were close to many restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Overall, I would probably choose to stay somewhere else, but I would be fine staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Our unit was so nice I' m not telling you the number. And we are coming again in June with daughter and grandkids. We stayed one week summer of 2011 and grandkids wanted to come back and skip Orlando to stay here on beach in 2012.
I found the two men in the office to be helpful when we had questions. Ask to see pictures of the unit before you commit as some are better equiped than others, reflected in prices.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgravesjr75, General Manager at Holiday Villas III, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you have found your perfect home away from here at Holiday Villas III. The On-Site Rental Office is always here to assist you and is open 7 days a week. And whenever possible we are happy to show you units in person before you book your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our family has been vacationing at Holiday Villas III since 2000, and we've stayed in a number of different units -- #509 (so-so), 608 (lovely) and 609 (decent) -- eventually settling on one that we now rent directly from its owner each spring.

The location of the complex is fabulous -- shopping, dining and sightseeing are nearby or not too far away, and its on-the-beach spot is ideal. We always stay on the Intracostal Waterway side of the building because we find it much more peaceful than the side that overlooks the pool and beach. The sound of passing traffic is, for us, much less obtrusive than the noise from loud guests at the pool, on the deck or on the beach. Plus, it’s a very relaxing view – boats passing by, dolphins swimming in the water, sea birds on the dock, etc., and the sunrises each morning rival the beauty of the west-side sunsets each night. The pool is fantastic, especially now that it gets a thorough daily cleaning (years ago, it was more like a once-weekly cleaning), and the walk to the water’s edge of the Gulf of Mexico takes 15 seconds at most. We’ve always found the condos themselves very spacious and well-appointed in terms of what we might need for our stay (dishes, appliances, TVs, etc.).

Over the years, we’ve come to learn a lot about the complex, what it offers, where it’s lacking and what guests can do to help ensure a great stay. Essentially: your experience is often what you make of it, and your fellow guests can sometimes make or break an otherwise lovely holiday.

First, if you’re like us and are sticklers for spotlessness, expect to clean. Some of the other TripAdvisor reviews of Holiday Villas III cite cleanliness issues, and that’s one point on which I can agree. Despite many units, especially those rented directly through the office, requiring a “cleaning fee,” the actual cleaning that takes place between guests is often cursory at best. Yes, bed linens are changed, countertops and tabletops are wiped, and dishes are washed and put away, but the floors (in our experience) are always dirty – if we take our shoes off at the front door and walk the length of the condo, the soles of our feet are grey by the time we reach the balcony door. Black if we walk around for a while. This happens every year, without exception.

There are often crumbs and debris under couches or beds and, this year, we actually found small bits of broken glass right in the middle of the (carpeted) bedroom floor – something that would have very easily been picked up by the most basic vacuuming, which was obviously not performed. Cutlery and cooking utensils in the cutlery drawer are plentiful but sometimes less than clean, and pots and pans are frequently left improperly cleaned (i.e., tiny bits of dried-on food residue). All of these things would be quickly and easily remedied with a simple but thorough cleaning – either by the cleaning staff or whichever previous guest(s) stayed in the unit.

So, that’s what *we* do, every year, the instant we arrive: we clean! We stop at a dollar store en route, pick up some scouring sponges and cleaning agents, and clean upon arrival – a full load in the dishwasher, a mopping of the floors, a scouring of the bathtub. We also re-wash all the bed linens and towels (frequently greyed) with bleach. Inevitably, they turn out wonderfully afterward. All this takes two hours, tops, and then we’re set for our stay. Plus, it only costs us about $20 (and gives us the peace of mind of a cleaning job well done), which is much less than the $75 cleaning fee. We no longer bother informing the office of minor insufficient-cleaning issues because, inevitably, they keep happening anyway.

Note: there ARE laundry facilities on every floor of the building, but (again) guests are sometimes irresponsible with their use. People sometimes dry their (unwashed) beach towels or bathing suits in the dryers, leaving dirt and residue inside. And, on our most recent visit, we opened a washing machine one morning to discover about 2" of sand collected inside. By the time we headed downstairs to notify the office (after putting our laundry in a machine on another floor), someone had started up the dirty machine and was, either knowingly or not, doing a load with all that sand.

For the price we pay, we don’t mind these flaws. We’ve come to expect less-than-perfection, and are willing to put in some extra effort on day one in order to enjoy a very affordable weekly rate (in the $500-600 range) for the unit we rent. Despite the promised benefits of renting directly through the HVIII offices (which we did for the first few years), we’ve found very little difference in the quality of our stays. A unit shouldn’t have to be REcleaned by the cleaning staff only after a guest complaint – it should be done properly the first time around! On the upside, the building does take its pest control seriously, with monthly inspections, so that's reassuring.

Also, expect rules... but don’t expect them to always be followed or enforced. There are a lot of rules at Holiday Villas III, posted on the elevators, in the lobby, by the pool and on the bulletin board, which we actually very much appreciate – we’re not interested in staying at a “party” condo but, rather, prefer a quieter location, so the more rules, the better!

Unfortunately, those rules are occasionally broken by less-considerate guests, and there isn’t always someone (at the office) around to enforce them. People frequently get on the elevator dripping wet, thereby making the tiled floor slick and a slipping hazard. Others ignore the posted pool rules and have drinks in the pool, or get into the water with feet covered in sand (despite the convenient rinse-off area where the pool deck meets the beach), or engage in loud roughhousing while swimming. In the 12 years we’ve been visiting HVIII, our biggest issues have always been with the carelessness or lack of consideration of our fellow renters, not the building itself.

Finally, expect to do some homework. As other reviewers have cited, not all units are created equal and not all condo owners maintain their units well. It might take time to find one you really like so, if you somehow wind up stuck with a dud, rest assured there are beautiful gems to be had, as well. Some are dated and worn, some are modern and chic. Some are more luxurious, some are more basic. The office staff is always pleasant, efficient and helpful with questions, and our decision to rent directly from the owner was borne of cost, not poor or sub-par service.

Check the TripAdvisor reviews and reviews on other websites that feature HVIII rentals, as many have a comments section where previous guests can describe their stays. We discovered the complex itself completely by chance, stayed at different units for the first several years and eventually found the one we felt fits our needs best.

It’s certainly not perfect and it has its quirks, but it’s very affordable, has become our annual spring destination and we very much look forward to returning every year.

Room Tip: Intracoastal Waterway units are often cheaper and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Villas III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villas III

Address: 18610 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Indian Shores
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Villas III 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Holiday Villas III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villas Iii Hotel Indian Shores
Holiday Hotel Indian Shores
Holiday Hotel Iii
Holiday Villas III Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Villas III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.