We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rules. What rules?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Cottage to your Saves list
Beach Cottage
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   18400 Gulf Blvd., Indian Shores, FL 34635   |  
Hotel amenities
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rules. What rules?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Upon arriving, we read numerous signs posted by elevators, stairwells, pool, hottub, beach, etc. Unfortunately there seems to be no one on property to enforce them. The hot tub was small (five adults) but we counted 11 children in it on five occasions. Three infants in regular diapers in pool. Cigarette butts on pool patio floor. Unit was nice enough but not a quiet or relaxing visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Last summer we booked rooms (3 bedroom for 2 weeks and a 1 bedroom for 1 week) over the 4th of July weekend. This was our second year in this two condo complex but we were at the other complex in 2011 i believe it is beach palms.

Things went fine during the first week but on the Friday before the 4th people started streaming in that either were staying with friends or had book for the long weekend. The parking lot was filled so cars parked across the street in a vacant lot. By Saturday the population had grown so large that there was little room in the pools and the beach was covered with huge multi- family tents that it looked like we were in Arabia! Underage drinking was rampant as well as some getting sick on the premises. The pool music was loud and coming from multiple families, adults were drinking, cursing and there was the expected confrontations (police called in twice - blamed on the lack of security). It was a war zone with little regard for the nesting birds or respect of others. Most of the folks had no idea of the codes nor did they have keys!
To cap it all off, my daughters car was vandalized by having her sunroof bashed in on our last Thursday - and it rained all night! The car electrical system was almost entirely ruined and it stayed at the dealers for 10 days to fix. My daughter is a single parent with 3 small children and she had misplaced her parking tag but was there for two weeks in and out of the building. The daytime keeper complained to her and she apologized but that the parking lot was really empty and we were about to leave. The next morning the sunroof was bashed in. Coincidence?
I have just booked one month at Indian Shores but not at Beach Cottages.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We rented a one-bedroom unit (no. 2302) for 9 days in March, which we found through www.Flipkey.com. The unit was very clean but my wife did find some dust-bunnies behind a door and bedroom furniture. The unit was large, airy and bright. All the modern conviences were there including a 46" HD television. The unit included a large whirlpool bathtub. The unit also had a pool noodle and beach chairs in the storage area located next to the balcony. Our unit faced the Gulf and we watch some lovely sunsets.

The kitchen was well stocked with all appliances and dishware.

The condo maintenance staff were up early and out cleaning and organizing the pool/hottub and deck area which includes 3 natural gas bbqs. The public areas, including grounds, were also keep clean and neat.

There was a Suncoast Beach Trolley stop just outside the building, however the nearest 7-11 store was 4 blocks south and it was 15 blocks south to a Winn-Dixie grocery store. We did not have a car so we used the trolley bus to get around.

This is a very nice area but it has few restaurants or stores nearby (within easy walking) so you may want to have a car.

Also, you have to pick up and return your keys from a Plumlee Reality who are managing the unit for the owner. You'll be provided with all the information when you book but be aware you can't go directly to the unit until you pick up your keys. The company does have a dropbox /pickup box so you can get to your keys if you arrive after hours.

Very quiet at night and no pets are allowed on the property. Would we recommend it, yes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Nice condo, nice owner. Very, very basically furnished, bare minimum, but do-able. We were on the 2nd floor, towards the front overlooking the bird sancatuary. Interesting to watch from inside the condo but usually (85 % of the time) to stinky to sit on the patio to enjoy the "gulf-glimpse" (for sure not gulf view!).
The owner said the condo complex gets noisy and busy during the height of the season, so I'd avoid it then for sure. We would stay here again, but NOT on the bird sancantuary side.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed here in room #1110. Very clean, very quiet, tastefully decorated and everything is new. The pics don't do it justice, the unit was much bigger than expected. I was concerned about being so close to the pool area but the two patio doors for this condo are hurricane proof and you can't hear a thing. The elevator was not working the week we were there (not that you need it for unit 1110) but you could still use the other building's elevator and cross over on the walkway. There weren't a lot of people staying here since it was mid season and it was very low key and quiet which is great-except for the maintenance being done on the elevator-but we were at the other end and the noise was minimal for us. It was very convenient to be able to step right out from the 2nd terrace to the pool patio with the BBQ's about 30 feet away, right off of the kitchen. The beach is beautiful, the area is safe all up and down Gulf Boulevard-just watch your speed since the limits vary as you drive up and down the coast and the police are always around. Pool is clean and warm, so is the jacuzzi, everything exceeded our expectations. FYI: 1.5 hours from Disney

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISVILLE, KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is the nicest beach I have ever been too. We stayed in beach cottages II unit 1111 and it was awesome.. The beach had no rip tides or jellyfish. It was VERY clear water and you could go way out before it was even waste deep. The beach was clean and not at all crowded. I will post pics to show what a nice beach this was. The condo was WONDERFUL. I am not sure if all units are as nice as ours but we couldn't have ask for more. I did have problems with the internet connection but I am sure if I had called someone that is something they would have fixed. Having the pool right next to the patio was great. We could watch the kids play in the pool and a beautiful ocean view all at the same time. Being between St Pete and Clearwater there is a lot to do with just a 15 minute drive.. I LOVED INDIAN SHORE..

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We just returned from a 1 week stay in unit #2103 - what a great location! We met a lot of nice people and had a great time. Funny how several families we met lived only a few miles from us - 16 hours away! You couldn't ask for a better location - ground floor, walkout to the pool and beach. And this area of the beach is clean, quiet, and relaxing. And it's close to many activities (Johns Pass, Pass A grille, St. Pete beach, etc.). The only "negative" (and not with the unit itself) was that one of the grills was broken and several of the table umbrellas by the pool were broken - but that's a very minor issue.

The unit itself was very nice, comfortable, and clean - and of course we added to the collection of boogie boards and beach umbrellas in the closet :-) Luckily for us, the guests prior to us had broken the glass coffee table (it was fixed several days after we arrived) so we knew not to use it for anything with much weight.

For activities, our kids loved the fishing on Miss Pass A Grille (out of Merry Pier) - much cheaper than a small charter, but much better than a party-boat fishing trip. We also saw a lot of small stingray in the ocean at the condo - don't worry, they just swim around around you.

All in all it was a lovely trip, and a wonderful location. The owner (Jim) was an absolute pleasure to deal with - answering every one of my stupid questions promptly! We will recommend this to everyone we know - but please don't book it when we want it again :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cottage

Address: 18400 Gulf Blvd., Indian Shores, FL 34635
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Beach Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Cottage Hotel Indian Shores
Beach Cottage Indian Shores, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.