We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the smell, take the time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary

Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary
18328 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL FL 33785
727-391-6211
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Mountains
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Largest bird hospital in the U.S.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ignore the smell, take the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I make it to the sanctuary every time we are in the area. This sanctuary is run completely by volunteers. These folks are so happy to share any info and answer any questions you may have. We love coming here and watching all of the wild birds, all with different injuries and issues. Sadly, most of their injuries are due to mankind and his thoughtlessness. Yes, there is an odor, but you soon forget about it when you hear the stories of some of these creatures. Go, take the time, and most importantly DONATE!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    80
    29
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great educational experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary is a great place to bring the family or friends and get a close up look of the various species of birds that frequent our area. They do wonderful work in the area and are always ready to save the wildlife in distress. If you like the goofy pelicans, then you'll have your fill.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice to know a place like this exists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great place to spend an hour or so. You can wander through at your own pace. You can also go out onto the beach from the sanctuary. Throughout the sanctuary they have benches where you can sit in the shade. Be careful where you sit though as you could find bird droppings on them. We enjoyed sitting and just listening to the various birds calling out.

It was around 3pm and it was feeding time for the pelicans. They gathered around the volunteer who had buckets of fish. They would toss handfuls of fish into their open mouths. They would also toss fish into the "pools" for the birds. The volunteers are also happy to answer questions and provide information about the birds.

If you have small children you may want keep them back a bit from the fence if you are there during feeding time. Other birds not in the enclosures flutter around trying to get fish scraps. This could be a little frightening for small children.

We purchased a few things in the gift store and made sure to leave a donation before we left. I'm saddened to think that so many birds end up injured because of man but I'm glad to know that the wonderful people here are doing everything they can to see that they are released back into the wild.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Situated right on the beach its worth and wander in to if only get away from the midday sun! Its not spectacular, but this isn't a zoo, its a bird sanctuary which does an important job for wildlife.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Visit a place that helps!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visit the bird sanctuary every year that we are in Florida. In previous years they had nesting pelicans but they couldn't afford to do that this year. I know there were some financial issues. But I have personally caught and rescued pelicans by our dock with several fishing hooks embedded in them. I brought them to the sanctuary and they gave them medical care and released them. It's hard for a place like this to stay afloat. Am any birds that can never be released run by volunteers and donations. There are blind pelicans and pelicans missing beaks that need to be hand fed. Sure it's a little smelly, but the birds eat fish and there are plenty of fish. I see this place scrubbed clean every morning by hard working volunteers. Because its on the coast it attracts free nesting birds that do poop in the aisles. In fact it's one of the reasons I love thIs place. It's the fact you can watch free birds building nests, and raising young. This place really does what it can to help those tragic birds hurt by us. Help them so they can help the birds!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary also viewed

 
Indian Shores, FL
 

Been to Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary to your Saves list