We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary

Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary
18328 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL FL 33785
727-391-6211
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Largest bird hospital in the U.S.
Ft. Myers, Fl.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We vacation in Indian Shores every year and we are just doors down from Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary. We take a short walk down the beach from Holiday Villas III, and we usually see nesting birds in a roped off area on the beach right in front of the sanctuary. This past year we got to see baby birds underneath their mamma's wings. We have small kids, and this was educational for them and us!
These people do awesome work at the sanctuary, and its all volunteers! They work tirelessly to save the birds that are injured due to the carelessness of humans more often than not.
We contribute each time we go, and we buy T-Shirts at the gift shop.
I have gotten some beautiful photos of the birds! My favorites are the skimmers, watching them on the shoreline is always a delight!
Do yourself a favor, if you go to Indian Shores, stop at the Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary and donate, and talk to the volunteers there. You will want to go back again, and again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    103
    35
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am not interested in birds in any particular way, but we stopped here when we saw it on a drive. It was a cool little place with free entry (although donating even a small amount to the shelter and rehabilitation program is definitely recommended). Lots of different kinds of birds to see- both inside and outside structures. Lots of birds just hang out there, and some may follow you around. The smell is definitely a little off-putting in some areas, but its an open air area, and not a huge place, so its tolerable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sea Birds/Turtles Need Your Help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

GO, walk around and DONATE as little as $1 to this worthy cause. This rescue shelter is amazing and needs YOU!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went here a little worried about being pooped on, but it never happened! What a great place. There are birds everywhere! It was so fun to see them. We saw baby pelicans, very cute! The beach near there is just beautiful. Definitely worth a visit. There is no admission charge, but they do need donations for all the good work that they do.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria de Dota, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bird Poo Galore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While I appreciate all that the Seabird Sanctuary does, there's really not more to it than birds that are being rehabilitated and a lot of interesting smells.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.