We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Politics again gets in the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary

Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary
18328 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL FL 33785
727-391-6211
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Mountains
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Largest bird hospital in the U.S.
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Politics again gets in the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After over 40 years of rescueing and caring for injured seabirds ,this nonprofit organization has been facing property tax problems and foreclosure. Typical politicians fail to see beyond thier reelection hopes. these people never charge admission and rely on volunteers and donations,if you are in the area,stop in and thank them for thier work,you may not get many more chances

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    80
    29
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hospital closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I guess from lack of funds the little bird hospital is closed after hrs here. They take care of the birds they have, but I believe they can not take anymore birds at present of emergencies after hrs. always love to see the birds here, and try and shove a few dollars in the donation bin when visiting. If everyone could do this, even a couple of bucks it might help them to reopen. Admission is free, so lets help out the birds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great organization!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Seabird Sanctuary is free and always different. It's right on the beach and also has a gift shop. I love seeing the variety of birds but sometimes the enclosures can be a little dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting but dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We love nature but there are a lot of birds flying around and LOTS of bird poo. Worth a visit to learn more about the local birds.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful birds! Great lifesaving mission!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit; the first was several years ago and i have to say it does my heart good to see the strong efforts put into caring for vulnerable seabirds. This exhibit is free and an easy walk for elderly seniors and small kids. You move at your own pace so you can control your length of the experience. We were greeted by three pelicans within the first five minutes... former sanctuary guests seem to like to turn up for the attention with the hope of scoring an easy fish snack. Since 1000s of birds pass through the sanctuary a year, parts of it get a little goopy and stinky but its just part of the experience. Birds poop so i try to just get over it. I bought another t-shirt as a way of supporting this great mission...to me it's definitely God's work...caring for weak and injured creatures. I love the slogan on the back: I'M FOR THE BIRDS!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary also viewed

 
Indian Shores, FL
 

Been to Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Suncoast Seabird Sanctuary to your Saves list