We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was really disappointed that as a IHG member was given this room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Second Street, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Was really disappointed that as a IHG member was given this room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Room 244...right above the bar....live music blaring....drunks knocking on our door....kids trying to come trough the adjoining door...when we asked the management said very disdainfully "well we could look to see what else we have". We checked in at 1:30pm..why in God's name did they put a priority customer here in the first place! Kids screaming, doors slamming...unreal limitations on the two "free drinks" as a perk for IHG members. We've stayed at the Holiday Inn on the Beach and had a great experience...5 stars...if it weren't for that I would never stay at a Holiday Inn ever again. Shame on you for treating a preferred member this way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Connor11_7,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to help us continually improve our guests services.

I am sorry to hear that we have failed to exceed or at least meet your expectations. Although we cannot account for the actions of our other guests, we can work to smooth uncomfortable situations to make all guests feel comfortable and welcomed. I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered and the inconvenience this has caused you. We deeply regret the service issues you have encountered and the negative impressions you may have had.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    152
    48
    32
    37
See reviews for
160
125
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel during our three week holiday in Florida. This was a Reward Stay courtesy of the Priority Club Rewards programme.

We had the basic Islander guest room which is all you can get when booking a reward stay with Priority Club / IHG, these rooms face inward on to the courtyard / landing area but unfortunately no balcony or patio. For a family of four it was a bit cramped to say the least however from what we could see the bigger rooms / suits looked nice and spacious.

My only gripe was that our room was only ever serviced late in the day ( around 5.00 - 5.30 ) right when you are coming back from the pool and the beach and wanting to freshen up and get changed. We were there four days and interrupted the maid on three of the days, I guess if you are "paying" for you room then maybe you aren't left until last.

Pool area was ok, plenty of sun loungers, at peak times expect it to be busy.

If you do book an Islander guest room then I suggest you request a quiet room on a higher floor (second or third floor) as the hotel has its indoor mini golf right outside the rooms on the ground floor.

All in all as a Reward Stay it was ok and we would return.

Room Tip: If booking an Islander guest room, ask for one on an upper floor away from the mini golf as kids lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a really nice hotel on the water. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were good sized and furnished nicely. My only complaint is that there is only one elevator. Not a problem using the stairs unless carrying luggage.

The restaurant/bar is a great way to chill out. I love the atmosphere of vacationing families mingling with locals who come to hear the music.

All in all, a great hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a perfect location. We were upgraded to a suite for our 9 day stay, which was greatly appreciated. 2 large beds and TVs- with a game console. 2 pools and a small gym. Loved the layout of the hotel and within walking distance of the beach. Also great central location for driving to other beaches- St Pete's, Clearwater, Pass a Grille etc. Definitely go back again. Found all the staff very helpful. Didn't eat there or use the bar- but they always seemed lively. I used the laundry too and evefrything was there that was needed and a cheap price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I had read some not so great reviews but we really enjoyed our 4 day stay here last weekend. All of the employees seemed friendly enough, and the room was kept very clean. I loved the openness of the hotel layout, it was very different from any hotel I've ever stayed at.
I think the location was the best part of the hotel. It was only about a 5 minute walk to Indian Rocks Beach from the hotel, and it was a super easy drive to Clearwater Beach, Madeira Beach or St. Pete. There were also a few different dining options within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A cozy place with a real nice location next to the water (not the beach though). There's also a nice pool area with a bar where you can take it easy and enjoy a coctail or two... or three. The sounds from the bar might keep you awake if you're a light sleeper but I didn't mind it, slept like a baby even thought our room was right next to the bar. We were lucky to get rooms here since it was the holiday season and we didn't have any reservations and it seemed like all the the other hotels were booked full. Also the rooms were nice and clean and the staff was friendy, what more can you ask? Oh yeah you can wash your clothes here! There's washers and dryers that you can use for less than 2$. You don't even need to bring any washing powder because there's a vending machine where you can get it.

Room Tip: Ask a room with some distance to the bar if you got children or are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

During the night as I went to use the bathroom, I noticed a large water bug (~3cm) inside the shower. At check out I did mention this to the front desk, and he responded, "what do you expect? we are surrounded by water." Very unprofessional, he did not offer any apology or to even try to correct the issue. This seemed normal to him, maybe he has these critters at home, so I guess this would be normal for him... Never going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear agar1975,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

I sincerely apologize for the poor experience and service issues you had during your stay. This is definitely not up to our standards and deeply regret for falling short on our regular standards on this occasion.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Indian Rocks Beach.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside

Address: 401 Second Street, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn and Suites Harbourside Clearwater South! Enjoy your family vacation, business meeting, wedding, or social gathering at our 15 acre tropical Key West style waterfront resort. We are centrally located between Clearwater Beach and St Pete Beach, directly on the Intracoastal Waterway, in the heart of the quaint and charming community of Indian Rocks Beach. We are a short walk to the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Take a dip in one of our two heated pools, relax in the Jacuzzi and enjoy a refreshing beverage poolside at Rum Runners Tiki Bar. Our new waterpark is currently under construction and is scheduled to open this summer. Boaters, fishermen and vacationers alike, enjoy our 50 slip marina where you can dock your boat, rent a boat, go on a chartered fishing trip, and dolphin and sunset tours. Unwind with a tropical drink and a great meal at Jimmy Guana's Waterfront Bar and Grill, where you can enjoy nightly tropical drink specials and live entertainment. Family's love our miniature golf course and game room. We have suites for every budget and size, from economical courtyard rooms, convenient studios, sunset and marina view condo suites to luxury 1200 sq. Ft. Condo villas. Connecting rooms, long term rentals and group rates are available. Our Key West Conference Center is the perfect tropical location for events, weddings and meetings with over 4,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible space for functions up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Indian Rocks Beach/Clearwater
Holiday Inn Clearwater
Holiday Inn Indian Rocks Beach
Indian Rocks Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.