We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like a good place for oysters and beer, and maybe a burger” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Keegans Seafood Grille

Keegans Seafood Grille
1519 Gulf Blvd., Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2733
727-596-2477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Keegan's Seafood Grille has been an Indian Rocks Beach tradition and a favorite of the locals since 1985, committed to serving the freshest local products available at a reasonable price .We are a casual family friendly restaurant a short walk from the beach. Recently Keegan's was featured on the Food Network show " Diners, Drive-ins and Dives " for its innovative seafood dishes. Don’t forget to check out our daily fresh fish specials and our extensive kids menu. So come to Where the Locals Eat at Keegan's Seafood Grille!
Racine Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Seems like a good place for oysters and beer, and maybe a burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We ended up here after we walked out of Guppys (for poor service). It was just a walk of one block, and we were famished. The staff all said hello when we walked in, so that was one huge improvement over Guppys, so we found a table and sat down.
Our group of 3 had three seafood looking for good seafood and one want anything but seafood. The menu gave us many choices with quite a few specials. All at reasonable prices. The burger was good, the oysters were good, and the beer was cold. The waitress raved about their sangria, so we ordered a pitcher. She neglected to tell us that their "secret ingredient" is lots and lots of cinnamon! Since one on our group really dislikes the taste of cinnamon, it would have been good to know that. Needless to say, we did not finish the $15 pitcher of sangria.
Overall, the restaurant was fine. The scallop ceviche was very odd and not good so avoid that. The sandwiches looked good, though. The staff was very frequently and attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    207
    71
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Not As Good As It Used To Be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have been going to Keegan's for a few years now and the food used to be much better. When we walked in this time we couldn't find a table that had been cleaned properly. I asked one of the servers to tidy one up a bit for us and she brought out a fairly dirty rag to clean it off, Yuck. The portions of fish have gotten smaller and they don't seem to take the same care that they did before to prepare a meal. A small suggestion, if the fish gets burnt and dried out, throw it away, don't serve it to your guests.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food Busy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Keegans is a small, unassuming place with a wide variety of mostly seafood. We ordered coconut shrimp, mussels and Rock Crabs. The shrimp and mussels were excellent, The rock crabs however were just ok, They were "watered down" with little taste - a real disappointment since this was the special. Everything was well prepared and the portions were ok, all served in plastic baskets. Its a local pub and this was just what we expected. Service was very good considering we visited on a Friday and it was very busy... The seating is a bit tight - the bar has a limited selection of beer, mostly Bud/Miller types...dont expect an IPA or other craft brews...All in all a good place with good food with good service at a good price...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Keegans offers a great variety of Seafod”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Although this is a small beach restaurant that caters to locals more than tourist, it still offers a great variety of fresh seafood including she- crab soup, oysters on the half shell, crab legs, fresh grouper including grouper throats, and many other fish and seafood dishes. The service is excellent, prices are reasonable, and the restaurant offers outside as well as inside seating.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Unique Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been there THREE times in the week we've been here- always order one of their specials- the chef knows what he's doing! Tried the Grouper Cheeks sandwich for lunch today and it was awesome! They do everything right- down to their house salad and their french fries!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keegans Seafood Grille also viewed

Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 

Been to Keegans Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keegans Seafood Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.