We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate B&B in IRB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Lizard Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laughing Lizard Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Laughing Lizard Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2211 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First Rate B&B in IRB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just got home from a great stay at the Laughing Lizard Bed & Breakfast Inn in Indian Rocks Beach, Florida (fondly know as IRB). We had a great time and got some much needed rest and relaxation. In this B&B you can do as much or as little as you like. A short walk or drive to many restaurants and lots of places to shop or do recreational activities if you choose. They have a great book collection and no worries you can leave the book you brought and take the one you started to read from their collection. Clear Water Beach and nightlife is a mere 6 miles up the road if you need some action and Tampa is a hop skip and a jump over the water. The Indian Rocks Beach is across the street and up a driveway and there you are standing on the Gulf of Mexico. No worries they have you beach towels, chair and umbrella all reserved for you no fee charged. WOW, let Clear Water do that for you...NOT. Bill and Cindi were the perfect hosts, both good cooks too. Rooms are all beautiful spacious and comfy. There is an elevator if you are gimpy like me. On our arrival they met me with a glass of wine just for me. So, come laugh with Bill Cindi and the Lizards! You definitely will not regret it.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms are a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed there for the first part of out trip to Seiesta Keys. I was so impressed with the owners and the area that I wanted to start looking for a place to buy in the near future. I really do recommend this B&B to anyone going to this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlton nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Laughing Lizard is an exceptional place to stay! Cindi and Bill, the hosts, are wonderful, very friendly people who were a very big help to me with planning my families move to the area. The Breakfasts are awesome (the best)!! The rooms are large, with lovely decor and spotless. This is such a relaxing place just across the street from the beach access. I would never stay anywhere else when visiting the St. Pete area. 100 stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012, and it was peaceful and relaxing. Bill and Cindy are great hosts and have just about everything you need to enjoy the beach, including chairs, umbrellas, big towels, and hats. We also borrowed a couple of fat-tire bikes to ride on the beach and throughout the community. Beach access is across the street - very convenient. A decent beach and not too crowded.

The property and rooms are lovely, and there are many extras to make the stay very comfortable. Our room, the Nautical Newt, had a king-sized bed, and both the room and bathroom were spacious and well-appointed.

Laughing Lizard offers happy hour most nights with wine and snacks. We had some lively conversations during this! Breakfast is a group setting at a set time. Personally, I prefer B&Bs with more varied breakfast times and separate seating, just in case I don't feel like socializing. Fortunately, the other guests were pleasant and interesting, so we rolled with it. But if privacy is your option, too, or you can't make the breakfast time, there's a French bakery across the street open for breakfast.

Some tasty restaurant options are within walking distance. Clearwater Beach is about 10 mintues away, St. Pete about 30 minutes away. A trolley runs along the beach road through many other communities.

This B&B is a great way to stay connected to other activities...or do nothing at all.

Room Tip: Our room, Nautical Newt, was on the back of the house and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Additionally, the breakfasts were great. We stayed in the Crimson Cameleon, it had a view of the Gulf from one of the windows. The Beach is not the real fine white sand as in Clearwater BUT that was OK, it was still OK to walk on and was great with less crowds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed at this B & B for several nights in February 2009 on a trip with my sister-in-law. Probably the best B & B I've ever stayed at. Wonderful breakfast, wonderful room with a view, charming host and always lively conversation in the great room. You truly meet the nicest people at b&b's. Loved the close proximity to the beach and although it was cool outside, we enjoyed it so much! Will definitely go back again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at the Laughing Lizard for three nights and loved it. Cindi and Bill are outstanding hosts, and Indian Rocks Beach is a great town. The white sand beach across the street on the Gulf of Mexico has incredible sunsets! The room we stayed in, called the Nautical Newt, was quiet and peaceful. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laughing Lizard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Lizard Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2211 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laughing Lizard B&B is a laid back, tin-roofed, island inn built in 2005, 400 feet from the beach in Indian Rocks Beach--termed by USA Today as "the best beach town of all." Four creatively eclectic guestrooms and an efficiency apt. with kitchen have private baths and all modern amenities. Enjoy breakfast in Lizard Hall; stroll the beach, ride the trolley to wonderful restaurants, parks, etc. then, sip afternoon wine, experience the sunset with the famous "green flash." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Lizard b&b
Laughing Lizard Hotel Indian Rocks Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Lizard Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.