We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Shores
Save
You added Sandy Shores to your Saves list
314 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stopped at this place because of vacancy sign and was near beach looked more homely than those condo type hotel rooms, I was very happy I did and stayed for 7 days Ned and Myrtle were excellent hosts and helped me out when I needed a couple of favours, the cottage was immaculate and had everything I would need for my stay including free Wifi, I Look forward to staying again there in the future. PS. Ned plays a mean guitar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just returned from our third visit to Sandy Shores and once again had a restful vacation. Was especially looking forward to this holiday due to the recent death of my father. Sandy Shores once again did not disappoint. Ned and Myrtle have a lovely spot here, right on the beach, yet convenient to all amenities. The location is quiet, the beach is clean and uncrowded and the water warm. Ned and Myrtle have done an excellent job of making the grounds look beautiful - like a little sanctuary! We stayed in the Patio Cottage and, once again, as with Grandma's Cottage and the Garden Cottage (both of which we stayed in previously), the cottage was impeccably clean, stocked with everything we needed (save for food) and the perfect size for the 3 of us. Thank you Ned and Myrtle - we are trying to plan to come back in late August this year, and again next year. Repeat customers are your best advertisement, as it is proof that Sandy Shores is doing is right - keep up the great work! See you soon :)

Room Tip: All of the cottages are great - you can't do wrong with any of the three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Best Vacation Spot Ever. My husband and I recently vacationed at Sandy Shores, in Indian Rocks, FL. located just off the Gulf Coast, The cottage-style apartments were fully furnished, decorated, and equipped with kitchen appliances (if you prefer to eat in). It's setting is very peaceful and the living accommodations were some of the cleanest I’ve ever seen. Not to mention the beautiful botanical garden surroundings. Being only walking distance from multiple restaurants, the CVS Drug store, and the ocean, we feel we really lucked out! This private haven had some of the best seafood restaurants right across the street from where we were staying. All the locals were extremely friendly. If you wish, you can also travel by car to explore the plethora of beach towns along the 20-30 mile stretch down the coast.
The establishment is run by a PGA Golf Professional, Ned, and his wife, Myrtle, who are wonderful people, extremely hospitable and very personable. We got to know the owners quite well and Ned even taught my husband how to golf. We highly recommend Sandy Shores to anyone who is looking for an affordable, quiet getaway to the warm waters of the Gulf.

Room Tip: Didn't need a swimming pool, the ocean was perfect water temp in early June. Walking the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Sorry, Ned and Myrtle for the late review on our stay last year (May 2011). My attempts to rebut another guest's negative comments resulted in my post being rejected. That being said, our second visit to Sandy Shores (May 2011) was everything the first visit in 2010 was - relaxing and peaceful. Just what a beach vacation should be! We stayed in Grandma's house this time and it was perfect! We think it's wonderful that Ned and Myrtle, our gracious hosts, live right on the property. It's great should you require anything. The cottages are immaculately well kept, spotlessly clean and are stocked with everyone one would require (save for food). The location is perfect for walking to restaurants, the drug store, etc. And it's right on the beach!!! As hosts, Ned and Myrtle are respectful, outgoing and generous. Everything one would expect a host to be. We have already booked for July 2012, and I have put a countdown calculator on my phone, counting down the days until we get there. See you soon, Ned and Myrtle!! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Wonderful place and people. It was like being a private island resort. Ned and Myrtle were wonderful, very thoughtful and kind, can't wait to return. Andy and Linda.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

my children visited sandy shores in may and raved about it and about the owners, ned and myrtle.
We had a wedding in florida and had the good fortune to be able to rent at sandy shores for four nights.
the apartment was clean and perfectly furnished. we parked our car and were able to walk, not only on the beach but to restaurants and stores. The access to the beach was footsteps away and the sunsets were lovely.
Ned, Myrtle and other guests we met were gracious and helpful.
One afternoon, i sat on the beach, watching the sunset and the light on the ocean and just a few people out walking. it felt as if i was letting all the cares in the world drift away.
excellent referral by the children!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our trip to Sandy Shores was wonderful. It was exactly what we were looking for. We love the beach, but in the past few years have gotten frustrated with the commercialized nature of most beaches. We wanted a simple, quiet vacation where it was easy to RELAX. This place was exactly that. It was impeccably clean, which is definitely a big thing for me since I work at a hospital, and am a little OCD when it comes to cleanliness. Ted and Myrtle live on the property, and were very inviting and informative. Ted told us that while we were staying that we were family, and they make you feel very much at home. The beach only has a handful of people on it at any given time which was a much desired change from the overpopulated beaches we have become accustomed to. If homey relaxation in traditional Florida fashion is what you are looking for, this place is perfect for you...I know it was for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#3 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gulfside Resorts
Gulfside Resorts
#1 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Clearwater Beach
1.3 mi away
Sea Star Motel & Apts.
Sea Star Motel & Apts.
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores

Address: 314 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.