We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Shores
Save
You added Sandy Shores to your Saves list
314 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place and people. It was like being a private island resort. Ned and Myrtle were wonderful, very thoughtful and kind, can't wait to return. Andy and Linda.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

my children visited sandy shores in may and raved about it and about the owners, ned and myrtle.
We had a wedding in florida and had the good fortune to be able to rent at sandy shores for four nights.
the apartment was clean and perfectly furnished. we parked our car and were able to walk, not only on the beach but to restaurants and stores. The access to the beach was footsteps away and the sunsets were lovely.
Ned, Myrtle and other guests we met were gracious and helpful.
One afternoon, i sat on the beach, watching the sunset and the light on the ocean and just a few people out walking. it felt as if i was letting all the cares in the world drift away.
excellent referral by the children!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our trip to Sandy Shores was wonderful. It was exactly what we were looking for. We love the beach, but in the past few years have gotten frustrated with the commercialized nature of most beaches. We wanted a simple, quiet vacation where it was easy to RELAX. This place was exactly that. It was impeccably clean, which is definitely a big thing for me since I work at a hospital, and am a little OCD when it comes to cleanliness. Ted and Myrtle live on the property, and were very inviting and informative. Ted told us that while we were staying that we were family, and they make you feel very much at home. The beach only has a handful of people on it at any given time which was a much desired change from the overpopulated beaches we have become accustomed to. If homey relaxation in traditional Florida fashion is what you are looking for, this place is perfect for you...I know it was for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Sorry for the late review but I found grandma's house right now on this page. I´m surprised that criticism of the previous speaker.
Of course, the owners also live there and it is their right to take care of their property and also something to say. But if you deal respectfully with others property so that wouldn´t be a problem.
In addition, there are enough pictures and everyone knows what to expect. So there is no reason to do it after bad.

We were on honeymoon and after New York City and San Francisco this (too short) week was a wonderful conclusion to a wonderful trip. For me, this place is like paradise. I knew it already and it has once again confirmed, after 12 years. Myrthle and Ned are really very nice and helpful. The other reviews have not exaggerated. Also, it helped us a lot that Myrthle is German and could eliminate some language barriers ;o). So I hope that this review is somewhat understandable, because our English is not the best. The entire holiday was perfect, so we´ll repeat it almost, to our wedding day, will visit New York again, and then Grandma's House .... but then 2 weeks :o))! Has already been scheduled and I can not wait until this long year is over. Many thanks to Myrthle and Ned ... you gave our trip a great degree.

Carry on as usual .... so many people can´t be wrong!!!

Many regards .... Werner and Doris

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The main thing you have to know about this place is that the owners live on the property. They will harp on you all trip about every little thing. The grounds looked horrible. They could do so much with this property. It has a lot of potential. Next door the Colonial Court Resort is much nicer and the prices are comparable. Their landscaping is amazing. I wished I would have known about that place. I talked to a guest that was staying there and he raved about it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

From the moment we were welcomed by Ned and Myrtle, we knew we had found paradise. Their warm hospitality made us feel at home immediately. The cottage was perfect; impeccably clean and charming. The complex was so adorable with little alcoves of seating and grilling areas equipped with quirky little decorations and gorgeous flora. The night time blooming flowers high in the palm trees were amazing. Ned shared not only his grilled steelhead trout with us but also the recipe. We enjoyed a golf clinic with him and shared time with his guitar and singing. A short walk through the dunes lies the incredible Indian Rocks Beach with its crystal clear waters where fish and shells abound. I have traveled a lot and this is by far one of my favorite places on earth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Very relaxing vacation.Ned and Myrtle were great hosts.Quiet and peaceful sitting under the Australian pines listening to the waves roll in.Weather was great.In the low 80s with little rain.Only 20 minutes from Clearwater Airport and Johns Pass.Will go back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Shores

Address: 314 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.