We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an "Okay" place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Towers Resort Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gulf Towers Resort Motel to your Saves list
Gulf Towers Resort Motel
404 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785   |  
Hotel amenities
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just an "Okay" place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you're looking for a five star resort, go elsewhere. If you're looking for a cheap room with a great view, this is your place, but remember, you get what you pay for. No hot water at 9:30 at night, and again the next morning. When I complained to the front desk, he commented that "we turned the hot water heater back on at 8:30 this morning, it should be working now." He "allowed" us to check out a half hour later (at 10am, not the usual 11am checkout time) to be able to take a shower. At 9:45am, the hot water was nowhere to be found. Overall, the room was relatively clean, and the location was great (close to good restaurants). If you are looking for one night, I would recommend this place, but if you want more than one night, I would go somewhere else. P.S. If you stay anywhere close, I recommend going to TJ's Italian restaurant, it's wonderful!

Room Tip: Ground floor leads right to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    16
    17
    25
See reviews for
18
28
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent 1 night here this past weekend and we were not very impressed. We did not have a reservation and when we first walked in the gentleman at the desk would not help us, we had to wait for the manager. The manager seemed very suspicious of us and asked if we were over 30! It almost made us leave. We are not so it seemed like he grudgingly gave us a room. We had to read a list of rules before we could check in which were mostly common sense.

The best part of it was the view from our room, right onto the Gulf. It is absolutely gorgeous there and we were able to sit on our balcony and watch the beautiful sunset. There is also a nice pool.

The room itself was clean but old. The entire hotel is old and it could definitely use renovating. We had a small kitchenette with 2 burners. The burners were filthy and quite terrifying...I would not cook on them! The bathroom was also old, the shower was stiff to use. This hotel desparately needs updating. I felt like the elevator was going to break down every time I was in it. I would only stay here again if there was nothing else available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We love the Gulftowers, don't understand the bad reviews, it's clean, right on the beach and good sized rooms. The balconys the best ever, great pool. We just came back from a 1 night stay, usually stay 2 nights.No it's not the Hilton but it's on the beach and 109.00 a night, well worth it !! Meanegment is very agreeable and nice. Had the best time. If you go be sure to stop at JD's restaurant, best seafood and love the piano bar.

Room Tip: We like 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor because the balcony on 1st floor gets crowded with people sitting on d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Hotel is above so-so and it had all the kitchen stuff that are necessary
which ia about like home. It has a pool as well and good ocean views
from the balcony.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hassle with the elevator you should chose a bottom level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 after we liked it in November 2011.

We stayed on the ground floor, facing the beach, and it was so great.

The place did not smell at all.

It was so clean. The guy came by and took the outdoor grill away every day and cleaned it, and they washed the lawn chairs and pool area regularly. The pool was spotless.

You can sit on your deck and see the ocean and walk down the pathway there in about 30 seconds. It is right on the beach.

Across the street and to the left is JD's, with good music and fun dancing every night...for the 50ish and over crowd. Really fun.

The CVS is also across the street.

We really like this place...and the people were friendly and helpful but not intrusive.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room facing the street or it may be noisy. Face the ocean and pay ten bucks more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The smell of the lobby should have been enough to turn anyone away, but I was tired. Great location, but nothing else good can be said about this place. The whole place smelled like curry. I moved to another hotel, it was that bad.

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We are Flip-flop Floridians who love to hit the beach for weekends. We tried this hotel for the first time recently and repented the decision at our leisure. The hotel is in a wonderful location -so we still enjoyed the beach. But we avoided our smelly room and left after a single night. When we told the often missing front desk person about the problem, she told us to spray the room with a spray can sitting right next to her arm (so I am thinking smell comes up from time to time). Our room already smelled like smoke and mold, so I chose not to add flowers to the mix. The motel also charged for everything down to the ice and had charming little signs around telling you not to do anything that sounded even mildly fun (like swimming after sunset or feeding birds). Hope to see you on the beach -near another hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Towers Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Towers Resort Motel

Address: 404 Gulf Boulevard, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gulf Towers Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Towers Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Gulf Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Gulf Motel Indian Rocks Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Towers Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.