We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reef club unit 304” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reef Club
Save
You added Reef Club to your Saves list
1000 Gulf Boulevard, 1000 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“reef club unit 304”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the unit is large with 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths. large kitchen and living room with a dining room table. it also has a full size washer and dryer and a large balcony. it's a good value for the money as long as your not expecting a 5 star accomodation. it's a little dated but clean. pillows needed to be replaced,bedding could be better and the towels are a bit worn.overall it was still worth the money due to the location. the pool and spa were nice and both were heated,great for our january stay.the rental company was great to work with and i would recommend -Three Palms Property Management for renting your next condo.

Room Tip: do your homework and check sources
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
35
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were in unit 509 and were so disapointed on the upkeep of this unit. Furnace/ac filter was so clogged with dust we replaced it. Towels stored under bathroom sink next to plunger..slimy shower curtain and black mold around tub..floors were not clean. Pool was closed two days due to new carpet being installed on deck. Landscapers working used auger to remove bushes and hit a gas line which resulted in three firetrucks and several police officers called to scene and two firefighters in our unit checking for fumes. Dust bunnies hanging from the popcorn ceiling..ugh.. I know the owner not resposible for pool and landscaping problems as they were out of his control but they diffently need to hire a new cleaning service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goricardo, Owner at Reef Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
11/2/12 Review Reef Club 509 and stay of 10/20/12:

Thank you for the feedback and we were surprised to receive that review. Neither I or Charlotte were contacted with any issues or concerns during the stay or after the stay. We could have been helpful. The review was placed on-line.

Owner’s Initial Response: Tried to call and follow-up six or more times after the review was submitted. The reviewer would not call back. I left messages. No call back.

The purpose of my follow-up with the reviewer was to make sure we fully understood their concerns and/or any other issues that might affect future guests. We are fortunate to enjoy and be able to share our beachfront condo with guests, and average reviews are at five. We have not received a review of less than four. All feedback is welcomed and encouraged and as the HomeAway representative mentioned the best condos get these kind of reviews . . . and in fact from one of the HomeAway studies the best condos do not receive all fives. I expressed my concern to HomeAway of a review posted without any prior notice, concern or call-back from the reviewer. HomeAway recommended that I call the reviewer . . . and I did – many times – no response, left messages and I will not bother them . . . and part of the reason for this long and detailed response.

Specific Response to Review: The condo was undergoing pool deck and repair and replacement of the deck carpet. Improvements are ongoing and generally a good thing and I believe the renters “thought” I knew this and neither Charlotte or I did. If we did we would have given them a “heads-up” in the pre-arrival package that they received, and that all renters receive a week prior to arrival. We would have mentioned. The day of inconvenience could have been taken care of, or I could have said something to our very responsive Reef Club Condo Association while it was occurring . . . but we do not know (and did not know) the magnitude or duration because there is no response to my calls and just on-line posting with no return of phone calls.

It is “a good thing” that the landscapers were re-doing the area surrounding the pool. The previous landscaping was in place, but after Hurricane Debbie some of the landscaping shifted and required renewal and replacement. Apparently the landscaper used an auger - that hit a gas line - that brought three fire trucks - several police cars surrounding this 55 unit condo complex – and two firemen came through the condo to check for fumes – and apparently scared the three five year old children. This did occur and when I checked with the rental family in the unit next door it was not an issue with them and they actually appreciated the safety inspection. (I honestly thought our guests would have also appreciated the safety inspection – they went the other way - and used it as a basis for their negative review – don’t understand). Our Reef Club condo association president was also surprised to hear that the safety inspection was not viewed favorably and was part of a Trip Advisor review.

The above items were out of our control. We have always worked with guests when there are issues out of our control such as beach replenishment, external painting, etc. Keep in mind that these are activities and actions that are done to improve our condo – or the external items are improvements to Reef Club by our professional and active condo association. They were re-doing landscape, making improvements and we had painted and replaced tile. Our unit next door during the same week did not have any problems and left a five star review.

Charlotte and I are concerned and want to address the issue mentioned about dust. Due to the popularity of our top floor condo we have not had a vacant week until the week before the arrival of this reviewer. We cleaned the condo six days prior to their arrival and we get good reviews on cleaning and focus on “detailed cleaning” which includes all areas – top to bottom.

Our maintenance person did touch up painting in the hallway and access areas and replaced a tile in the second bedroom during that cleaning six days prior to their arrival. The grout dust may have circulated through the ventilation system the six days the condo was closed and vacant. It is possible that there was grout dust and fresh paint smell. This has never been a problem before. Again, we would have tried to resolve this if we would have known about it at the time. We almost always clean the “day of” and we will never again clean six days prior. We have also asked our cleaners to look for dust bunnies and have included it as part of our final check-through.

We have one six foot tall palm tree in the living room and one six foot tall ornate bamboo tree in the master bedroom. After this complaint we have talked at length with our cleaners about being more vigilant with dust on plants. This too may have been the result of settling for six days after tile replacement.

The second bathroom shower curtain has a liner and a shower curtain. I suspect the renter was referring to the inside liner as it sits inside the bathtub. It is a liner and a shower curtain. Our cleaners could not find any issues with the shower curtain but we instructed her to replace it anyway. We have not had it brought up before, but we are separating the plunger from the actual bathroom to the hallway closet in a separate container. We have two other top floor condos on the beach and this has never been brought up, has been addressed and is appreciated.

Another concern I have is that every day they had to wash their feet before getting in bed. We have nice furnishings and strive to provide a clean condo upon arrival. This reviewing family consisted of four adults and three five year olds going back and forth to the beach. It has been our experience with our children that each trip to the beach or pool brings back to the unit a little sand and dust. Our cleaners mop the tiled floors with vinegar prior to each guests’ arrival.

We understand that sand and dust may accumulate during a weekly stay and that is why we provide a broom, dust pan and what is generally considered a high end vacuum cleaner - all for the use of our guests. These concerns have been shared with our cleaners and if we would have known “day one” of any issue we would have addressed it at that time. We did not get a call back to clarify.

We provide replacement AC filters. Our cleaners have been instructed to change them monthly and this issue has been addressed and we will follow-up. With respect to the pots and pans, I had our cleaners send me pictures and they appear to be in good condition.

Please note that this reviewer initially placed their review on HomeAway and we responded – and definitely want to answer any questions with future renters. We were surprised that this reviewer also placed it on Trip Advisor – as this was an extra effort on their part – and Charlotte and I would have appreciated any extra effort be directed toward us at some point. Trip Advisor and all review services are welcome and we have benefitted from them because we get good reviews. Charlotte and I would have appreciated any extra effort be directed toward us . . . it is almost too easy to place comments on-line . . . and there is some responsibility on the part of the reviewer.

Needless to say we are disappointed and the review covers many areas that were beyond our control – not warranted – and we believe are a disservice to future guests. Please look at our other reviews on Trip Advisor of Reef Club 508 and Reef Club 509 – as well as the reviews on HomeAway, VRBO and Vacation Rentals.com.

There was no comment to the “good” things – and the reviewer did not acknowledge that the Refundable Security Deposit was returned within three days of their departure – not 30 days – again no mention.

Charlotte and I take great pride in our beachfront condo and have used the same cleaning crew for four years and we have never had these issues. We try to go above and beyond for our guests providing – keyless entry, complementary arrival wine on the wet bar, toaster, coffee maker, startup Arabica coffee with creamer/sweeteners, tissue boxes, pump hand soap, courtesy soaps, startup laundry detergent, startup dishwasher detergent, filtered water, spice rack and other items.

Additional above and beyond items include Panasonic Viera Plasma in TV in the living room, large LED flat screen in the master bedroom, high speed wireless internet at no additional charge, flat screen TV/DVD combo television in the room with two queens, reserved parking near the two elevators and quality mattresses with high coil counts. Our comforters are new and match the décor – along with the designer bamboo wicker chair and matching ottoman.

We also hope that our guests appreciate the Reef Club facilities, the beach surroundings and the direct top floor gulf view. All together they are breathtaking, and the reason we return as often as possible to Indian Rocks Beach.

Sincerely,

Rick and Charlotte
Top Floor Direct Ocean View Condo at Reef Club in Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This unit is very much like the last one I stayed in in May (unit 208). The layout is idenitical. However, the balcony has a tile floor, the refrierator has an ice maker (nice) and the third bedroom is furnished better. It is clean and spacious. Although the remote control did not work in one of the bedrooms, they all have TVs. The view of the gulf is on an angle instead of directly in front, but it keeps the balcony cooler in the afternoon. Beautiful sunsets every night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to #203, rented privately via the owners. The condo itself is well maintained and equipped and ideal location for beach, pool and touring around the, local area.
We had a problem for 24 hours with another renter parking in our space but it was quickly resolved by the owners via the on site management team.
We were last here at Easter 2011 and found the Reef Club to be busier with people reserving pool chairs more than our last visit but were always able to get chairs when we wanted them
While here we visited the Seabird Santuray, Big Cat Rescue as well as Bush Gardens and some shopping!.
We look forward to returning to the Reef Club and #203 in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Had a great time at the Reef Club. Clean, accomodating, no parking issues, no long waits at the elevator,close to a lot of intertainment, and plenty of places to dine nearby. No problems getting pool chairs. Beaches were very beautiful. I will certainly go again. We had no noisy neighbor problems above, below, or on either side. Nice and quiet. Can't wait for our next visit. I won't bother to look anywhere else when visiting Indian Rocks Beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for the first time and would probably come back. The unit is clean and spacious with all the amenities and appliances you need. Plus the wifi was a bonus. The view of the pool and Gulf is great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I've been in a few of these over the years, but unit#310 is by far the best. Everything is updgraded and in my opinion the best view of the pool, tennis courts and of course the sunsets. This is a perfect place for families as it's close to all the attractions, but far enough to not have to deal with the hustle and bustle every day. Everything #310 is top notch. Nicer than my house. It was hard to go home. Heading back in June and only because I was able to get into #310.

Room Tip: Unit 310 far and away exceeded my expecations on all levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Club

Address: 1000 Gulf Boulevard, 1000 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Bikes and DVD rentals with every stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reef Club Hotel Indian Rocks Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.