We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay was too short...beautiful beach and perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Great Heron Inn
Save
You added Great Heron Inn to your Saves list
68 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My stay was too short...beautiful beach and perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recently spent three nights at Great Heron Inn. The room was clean and had everything we needed to eat in, although there are a lot of places within walking distance to dine. The beach was perfect, nice for early am walks and afternoon sunbathing. The resident Heron hung out on the dunes outside the Inn. The sunsets were beautiful. My daughter and I took advantage of multiple free parks/walking paths in the area. I found Lighthouse donuts on my first morning beach walk. The staff was friendly and the other people staying there were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We just returned from a short visit (3 nights) at the Great Heron Inn. It was a wonderful experience....we are already planning a return visit.
The location right on Gulf Blvd. with beach access right outside your door is fantastic. it was lovely to walk on the beach in the early mornng and enjoy the beautiful Gilf sunsets. The small heated pool was very nice too. There are plenty of chairs and loungers to relax by the pool or at the beach. beach towels are provided too.
The room - actually a mini apartment with living room, full kitchen and bedroom - was extremely clean and well maintained. service was very friendly and responsive.
It was a lovely, quiet, friendly atmosphere in which to spend a few days away from the MW winter doldrums.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallowell, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

My friends and I have stayed here several times through the last few years. Returning this month, can't wait. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on the beach. The location is perfect, the beach right outside your door. Room are clean and equiped with everything you need. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Many of my favorite places to eat and enjoy the beach close by. You won't be sorry if you choose to stay here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I always choose room 126. I like the location and the beds are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This was a perfect affordable motel type accommodation right on the Gulf of Mexico. For beach lovers it is perfect, miles of soft icing- sugar like sand to walk and watch the dolphins at play. A little bus to go up and down the road when you don't feel like driving and restaurants with sports bars and entertainment in the evening, all within walking distance. It was quiet and comfortable, spotlessly clean and the daily room service was spot on. To Teena, David and Susan a big Thank you for helping two Canadian travellers feel comfortable and at home over the Christmas Holidays. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was perfect! We are not into the large chain hotels but like to stay at places with character and style. The beach was right outside our door and the owners couldn't have been nicer. We will be back again and again. Thanks for a great birthday!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ct
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I chose this spot because the pictures reminded me of the places of my childhood, small, two storied, on the beach without a skyscraper in sight. We stayed for three nights in a gulf-view room. The room was comfortable and we had everything we could have possible needed. The staff were wonderful, thanks Tina & Susan for making us feel at home. We walked the beach for miles, spent hours shelling, and had great food close by. Tina and her staff helped us all feel like family, and we had fun interacting with the other guests. It is a real community. Thanks for all the attention and information about the area.

Room Tip: You will not be in your room very much ... it's too beautiful to be indoors! Gulf View rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Visited last year just me and hubby, this year returned with more family members. This time we stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment which had plenty of room for 5 of us - good sized living room and dining area, and 2 full bathrooms. We loved that we had a huge balcony overlooking the intracoastal and could also sit out by the door to our apartment, overlooking the pool and beach. It meant that we always had somewhere to sit outside in the shade at any time of day. Kitchen well equiped with dishwasher, microwave, toaster etc. Last visit we had a couple of minor issues with housekeeping but this time we had no problems at all. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and we love the location. As I said in my previous review, this is an older property and the furnishings are comfortable and homely rather than stylish, but we liked it just fine. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Heron Inn

Address: 68 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Indian Rocks Beach
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Great Heron Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Great Heron Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Heron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.