We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent neighboorhood pub...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Pub

Red Lion Pub
1407 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Absolutely the best Fish & Chips in the area. Not greasy, but delicate and crispy fish and fries. We just ate there and I had to post this.
Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pretty decent neighboorhood pub...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Went on a Tuesday night and we walked right in and sat down. Ordered wings med. hot, boneless, skinless chicken strips, mahi-mahi sandwich, and a pasta dish. Server was pleasent and efficient. The wings were excellent as were the chicken strips. The blue cheese dressing was way too thick. You can't dip the wings in it becasue it is so chunky. You get one small container of ranch or blue cheese with 10 wings but I was not charged when I asked for an additional one (ranch). The pasta was well liked also. The Mahi-Mahi was just okay. Probably because Salmon was desired but they were out.

We tried to return on a Tuesday night Happy Hour for .35 cent wings but you better get there early. We showed up around 8 pm and there wasn't a seat in the house inside our out. It does appear to be a locals hangout to some extent as there are a few that are outside drinking and smoking all night long.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“You will get the taste and feel of a nice, local pub.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Red Lion is located in Indian Rocks Beach, and really does have the taste and feel of a local beach bar. We stopped in on a Sunday afternoon, and by far the majority of the customers were locals and regulars. Ages ranged from early twenties to sixties - and everyone was welcome and seemed to interact. These are beach locals (nothing wrong with that!) so it did get a bit loud but nothing that would chase you away or make your visit uncomfortable.
The place is a little dated, and while not fancy by any means, the food and drinks were simple, fresh, and tasty.
The prices are very reasonable for the beach. Service was good - Danny at the bar was engaging and friendly, and the food order arrived quickly.
If you are vacationing in this area of the Gulf Coast, and you enjoy experiencing local places, I think Red Lion would work out fine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Jérôme
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Walk there to get take out food, wings and fish n chips are excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love this Local Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

You probably won't want to stop based on the fix'er upper patio, but don't drive past this Pub! We stayed at a condo acorss the street, and decided to walk over for dinner the first night. We went there several times! They have all you can eat dinner specials, and the food is great! I never got his name, but our sever, an older British guy, who was, well British :-) He was great, part of the reason we kept going back. I dubbed them the best french fries ever, perfectly crisp. Don't go expecting much and you'll be happy, like we were. Cheap patio furniture and dark bar, locals drinking outside and solid bar food. Food from our crew got great reviews, everything from prime rib, fried chicken, crab legs, mussels that were delicious and beer battered onion rings. One item my dad said was just okay was the fish and chips. It's a great place to people watch, too. We only went for dinner, and were there quite late. It would die down after awhile, seems to be a place people go first. Highly recommended! But hurry, it's up for sale!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good bar and grill IMHO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Had many good times here. Great food drinks and people. The 3 Franks and I come often.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Pub also viewed

Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 

Been to Red Lion Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.