We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tapas, service erratic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Garden and Wine Bar - CLOSED

Tapas Garden and Wine Bar
321 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2537
727-595-4321
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good tapas, service erratic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this place driving north from St. Pete in search of something a little different for beach eats. One wishes the front of the house was as attentive to details as the kitchen. Some of the tapas are quite fine, such as the escargot, Spanish torta and clams and chorizo. The seafood paella was decent and, at $25 for two, quite a good value. There's also an okay wine selection by the glass. While the service was friendly, little things like changing the plates between courses or offering some water were lacking, and we waited a long time both to be seated and for the check. The very good rating above is a little charitable, but the food was good enough to make "average" seem unfair.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    12
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome environment with welcoming staff and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm a flight attendant and went here by myself on a layover. I was drawn by the outside patio and awesome music playing. I ordered the fried goat cheese and hummus and loved it. The owners were so friendly and kept coming up and talking to me to keep me company since I was by myself. I felt very welcome- they gave me a tour and bought me a margarita! Good live music, beautiful restaurant, fun relaxed atmosphere, amazing service and delicious food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dude, where's my food?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I were headed to a 7:10 movie, and passed this tapas bar. We figured it would be a quick snack/ dinner before the movie. We arrived at 6:30, were not served drinks until 6:45 and ordered our food immediately because we had noticed it was probably going to take a while. We finished those drinks fairly quickly and waited another 20 minutes for refills. My food was served at 7:10, and my girlfriend's food was not served until 7:20. My chicken skewer was good. However, my girlfriend's ceviche was not great. And the fact that they came out at two different times amazed me. We didn't make the 7:10 movie and likely won't make the 7:40 one either. I am never returning to this restaurant and would not recommend it to anyone.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“friendly place..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

haven't eaten here, the prices and the smells are delicious, people are fun and numerous in the early evening.. bartenders are nice, as is the manager... very nice outside bar and restaurant seating and live music to boot..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keewatin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Pretty good food but not fabulous. Had a Paella that was supposed to be seafood and fish but the fish was missing and it had lots of chicken. Tapa of the day was good but the description in the menu was somewhat confusing. Service was friendly but slow. Waiter disappeared but came back just as we were considering another location.
Wine is good, but expensive given the type of place. Outdoor seating is nice but gets cool quickly if the wind comes up so bring a jacket if you wish to dine alfresco.
Lots of choices in the area but this is not your beach bar type of place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Garden and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Garden and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.