We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it! This place is a dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vistana's Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vistana's Beach Club to your Saves list
Vistana's Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10740 S Ocean Drive, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid it! This place is a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spending a week in Jensen Beach around new year. This place was booked through Starwood Vacation Group. I am an elite member of Starwood and let me tell you that this is one place you should avoid. The place is on the beach but nothing much else. It looks like an old motel converted into a resort. They have a small pool outside. The rooms are OK but beds and furnishings are not up to Starwood standards. The ac unit inside makes so much noise it is impossible to sleep while its on! I had to turn it off at night to sleep but could not as it got very hot quickly! I was put in a ground floor room from where you could only see the bushes even though I had specifically requested a ocean front room! The receptionist wasn't very helpful with anything at all.
Overall a very disappointing place to be and a total waste of a week in Jensen Beach. I will probably never come back to this place as there are thousands of better places to spend your vacation. Starwood elite members get a raw deal here. Stay out!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_egan, General Manager at Vistana's Beach Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that we obviously did not even come close to meeting your expectations as our goal is to exceed all guests’ expectations. The furnishings and beds are only a few years of age and the beds are the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleepers made exclusively for Sheraton. This resort is managed by Starwood Vacation Ownership (SVO) and the Board of Directors has elected not to brand the property a Sheraton or a Westin. It is indeed a wonderful property, but may not compare to some of the other resorts in the SVO collection as you have stated. In addition, this resort has some of the highest comment card ratings within Starwood. We thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and welcome you back to prove that Vistana’s Beach Club is by far the nicest resort on Hutchinson Island.

Sincerely,

Chris Egan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    72
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
122
63
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Beautiful oceanfront condo, very clean with all the amenities of home. Excellent service and friendly staff. Highly recommend this for a family get away. Spacious rooms with facilities for all ages. Local eateries and shopping very close by.

Room Tip: Ask for Building 1 for full oceanfront balcony. Awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_egan, General Manager at Vistana's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read our team members took gracious care of you during your stay. As you stated, this property is very family oriented and fun for all ages. We look forward to your return visit with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Chris Egan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay at resort. Pleasantly surprised by the views and quality of resort, what a gem! Thanks to Chris and Tara in charge of my reservation, the room was fabulous. Thanks to Felicious at from front desk, she was very pleasant. The views of the ocean are spectacular and we slept with windows open and could hear surf. We wet in building 2 not far from beach and appreciated the washer dryer in our unit ( vs in hall for building 1 ). A friend visited from Wellington Fl, he has a beautiful home there and he commented: ''how did you guys find this wonderful place'' There is an outdoor gazebo available to all, next to Ocean dunes, we BBQ'd there and had a wonderful lunch, enjoying the surf. The beach is beautiful but steep, so bathing for young ones needs supervision. Thanks again to the staff for a great surprise! We would definitely go back! John

Room Tip: For building 2, higher floor and rooms ending in 01 or 02 would be better, but 03 and 04 are OK as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_egan, General Manager at Vistana's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks John for posting your spectacular review about Vistana’s Beach Club on Trip Advisor. I have to agree, Felicious is a wonderful asset of our extended family of team members. You did an excellent job describing the Phase II building and are pleased to read your friends from Wellington were impressed with our resort. The gazebo is an excellent place to eat and relax enjoying the beautiful views of the ocean as you stated. We look forward to your next stay with us and now since you have stayed with us, it won’t be a surprise.

Sincerely,

Chris Egan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Barry, the activities director, has some awesome ideas for getting strangers staying at this resort, to get to know each other! Just returned from a Wine and Cheese Tasting event and had a great time! Got to meet and mingle with other guest at the resort, who I wouldn't have met otherwise. Interesting people from all over the world as well as places familiar to me.Beautiful location and no timeshare sales pitch!

Room Tip: Friday and Sunday checkin for Beach front room, Corner rooms have wrap-around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_egan, General Manager at Vistana's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
It’s great to read Barry’s fan club is hard at work once again! I agree Barry (our Manager of Fun) does an excellent job in the Activity Center with all of his crafts and games. We are also pleased to read you enjoyed our seasonal complimentary wine and cheese social. As you stated, we do not have an active vacation ownership sales presence at this property. We look forward to your return visit with us at Vistana’s Beach Club and thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Chris Egan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Freehold, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great little resort in our timeshare. Small but mighty - ocean front, relaxing even with kids. Barry the social director is great and the staff is wonderful. For a very small resort it has a ton going for it. Plenty to do in the area with great places to eat too. We have been going there for several years and always have high marks for it. Like I said the staff are all great and will go out of their way to help with anything. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean front building only for Friday to Friday, or Sunday to Sunday. Front building for Saturday to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_egan, General Manager at Vistana's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We love starting out our week when we read such a glowing review like the one you posted on Trip Advisor! Thank you for describing the resort and surrounding local community so well. In addition, the wonderful comments about my team members. Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your visit with us again next year.

Sincerely,

Chris Egan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stay here every other year with our families in January. The location is right on the beach. The first year we went here we had a corner room and the views were fantastic!
They have a nice grill if you choose to grill some fish you bought at the local fish market, which is always a delightful treat in our family.
The pool is great for kids.
This is an excellent, inexpensive place to go if you are a self-sufficient person/family!

Room Tip: Pick a corner for an awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_egan, General Manager at Vistana's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay at Vistana’s Beach Club on Trip Advisor. My question is, why do you come every other year and not stay with us every year? The gas grills are a nice amenity as you stated and get used frequently by our guests. This resort is truly a “family oriented” property and we thank you again for posting on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Chris Egan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carradale, scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We are timeshare 'exchangers' and have been for around thirty years, therefore we know generally what to expect in the three categories of resort. This 'Starwood' property well deserves its top 'gold crown' rating.
The situation is near perfect, on a stretch of beach that is not too busy, in a fairly quiet but reasonably classy area of Hutchinson Island. The property is now mature, but clearly is well looked after, in terms of both the units, and the supporting infrastructure. The staff are polite and well motivated, in addition to being clearly very professional in their attitude towards the care of their customers.
There are some balcony refurbishments ongoing, and I believe they will be drawing to a close soon for this year at least. But it is worth bearing in mind for the future, as these refurbishments may occur again next year I believe.
We totally agree with previous comments regarding the beds ! Without doubt, the most comfortable we have have ever encountered in our travels !
Thank you therefore, to all the management and staff at the Vistana Beach Club for looking after us so well. As we say in Scotland - 'if we are spared', we shall return !

Room Tip: ocean front rooms have the best outlook, but ocean view rooms have more facilities. The check in da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_egan, General Manager at Vistana's Beach Club, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
To receive such a wonderful review from a 30 year timeshare veteran like you is truly an honor. Thank you for your kind words about my long time, dedicated team members. We have completed the balcony concrete restoration so all is back to normal at the resort. The beds are signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper made exclusively for Sheraton. As you stated, we receive many favorable comments from our owners & guests about the beds. They became so popular that we had to make them available to the public for purchase on-line. Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor and we hope you are “spared” to return back with us in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Chris Egan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vistana's Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistana's Beach Club

Address: 10740 S Ocean Drive, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957
Location: United States > Florida > Hutchinson Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hutchinson Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vistana's Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vistana's Beach Club is the perfect getaway resort, featuring stylish two-bedroom villa accommodations and just-like-home amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, in-villa washer/dryer, spacious living and dining areas, fully equipped kitchen, and private bedroom access. Enjoy the spectacular ocean view from your private balcony, only steps from the resort's private beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vistana's Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistana`s Beach Club Hotel Hutchinson Island
Vistanas Beach Club

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistana's Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.