We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shukers - visually pleasing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Beach Resort
9800 South Ocean Drive, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957   |  
Hotel amenities
sutton, quebec
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shukers - visually pleasing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Sat inside due to high winds with close view of ocean. That was pleasant. Waiter came over right away to take our drink orders but had to flag him down after 15 minutes. Needless to say wasn't impressed with the service - he had 10 clients. His tip reflected his performance. Next time perhaps.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked this unit through the owner. Easy to work with and very accomadating! Unit was super clean and fully stocked. Fabulous ocean front view. Bed was comfortable and location was fantastic! Property offers an outstanding place to eat, Shucker's. Breakfast served only on Sunday ( it may have changed since our last visit ). If you plan to stay during the week, you can cook all your meals in the unit. Can't say enough good things about this property!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Island Beach Resort Jensen Beach Florida this past March for ten days. The resort is on south Hutchinson Island, a barrier Island Between Fort Pierce and Stuart Florida. All the units are differently appointed to the owners taste,no two are the same.Before I give you my feelings about the resort and our unit I would like to say a little about Hutchinson Island to any one who is not familiar with the Island. Hutchinson Island is not your wild and crazy beach town. In fact their are no towns on the Island really at all until to get to Ft. Pierce up north. No boardwalks, movie theatre, no mini golf courses, bowling alleys, no salt water taffy or many surf shops.It's laid back with the beach its biggest attraction.That doesn't mean you can't find things to do you can but there not right in your face you have to look. There's one large Supermarket on the Island in Stuart, a few small strip malls north of the Jensen beach round-a-bout.A seven eleven type outlet attached to a Texaco station.A CVS.The biggest disappointment for us was there was no place to rent bikes on the Island at all in spite of the fact that their are miles of bike lanes on Ocean Drive and A1A.There are many ways to get on the beaches all with free parking and bathrooms.You need a car there is no public transportation. Ok now for our stay at the Island Beach.This is a Condo it is one of the few places that will rent less than a month during the high season Dec.-March. For me calling the Island Beach a resort is a bit of a stretch. There no Tennis courts, no play area, no gym room, or arcade. Heck there no suffleboard either.What they do have is a 175 at least car parking lot, a great restaurant called Shuckers on the beach a gift shop,pool two BBQ pits and a beachfront location.Oh and two elevators,one under repair.Our unit was number 414 sunset view. It was very nice overall.The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans dishes etc.It was a full kitchen except there was no washer,dryer. If you needed one you used to washers on the first floor coins needed.We had a nice view from our two balconies a king size bed two flat screen tv's. The floors were stone tile and there were area rugs.You could eat at the counter or set up at a table in the living room by the sliding glass doors on out on the balcony.There were even wine glasses hanging up in the kitchen.The biggest fault of the unit was that there was only one closet which was locked for use of the owner.We had no place to hang our jackets, pants caps. It was only a minor problem with us but if you were staying longer or had dresses what to do?Also the walls were scuffed in some places I took care of this myself with some soap and a sponge. There was a dvd player and games and puzzles. Also found were loads of beach stuff,toys even a vacuum cleaner. The weather was not the greatest while we were at the resort,cool days (60's) and lots of wind and clouds only a few days in the 70's,80's We walked on the beach collected loads of shells for the grandkids,Hey who wants to go to Shuckers for a drink? All in all I can't complain compared to the cost of a hotel room in season the Island Beach Resort is a good deal for those who want a real apt. for less than a month.Oh and the longer you stay the greater the discount!!

Room Tip: This was a condo resort. All units are owned by private owners. Resort is only four stories high so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The best part of this condo was the bedroom. The California King was very comfortable & the linens & pillows allowed us to get a good nights sleep. The kitchen was well stocked w/dishes, glasses, etc.The bathroom & decor needs updating but the living room furniture was comfy. I found the price to be a little on the high side for what we got though. The pool area & patio area were clean & a nice place to hang out. Being able to use these amenities as well as being right on the beach was great. The restaurant on the premises, Shuckers was a fun place to hang out and the service, food & entertainment were great. They require guests to use their keys to get into the living & pool area so that the general public that go to Shuckers don't have access to our amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for spring break and the stay was very relaxing. We had unit 316 which was ""sunset view" basically parking lot side but still a nice view. We sat on the balcony and watched the sun to down nightly. The property is right on the ocean and the pool is right on the beach. It's a great set up because there is a restaurant right on site with beach side access. Has drinks, food, music, and always friendly people.
Units are individually owned and differ. Our unit had 2 double beds, and a fold out couch. Flat screen TVs in living room and bedroom. Stove, dishwasher, microwave, full size fridge. What else could you ask for.
A great place to relax on vacation. If you want to get a little wild there are local restaurants and bars with live music (one on site, others right up the road)

We will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Small property on a quiet beach. Each condo is individually owned, so they are decorated differently, and rentals are managed by office staff. You can book by the night rather than the week, which makes it a great place for a weekend getaway. Office staff were VERY helpful and knowledgeable about the condos. It is directly on the ocean. Some units are not oceanfront however, so if that is important to you ask the office. Plenty of free parking, nice pool and bbq area between the building and the beach. Our condo was 301 and was well equipped with everything we needed - full kitchen with plenty of kitchenware, even had a blender (and the all-important bottle openers and corkscrew). This helped us hold down costs and calories. The condo felt spacious, the bedroom was a full separate room. This particular unit has had the living room glassed in for a full-wall view of the ocean. There is an oceanfront balcony from the bedroom that we really enjoyed. Comfortable king bed. I like the color scheme of blue/brown.
The only things I would change is that we could occasionally smell smoke from someone smoking on another unit's balcony, and I would bring paper towels as there were none provided. They've had a lot of beach erosion this year and at high tide there is very little beach left - but it is still there!
It was lovely to take a morning's stroll on the beach. We rode our bikes on nearby trails which was a big plus for us - sidewalk to trail was seamless. The trail is about 20 miles long, goes along Ocean Drive.
We did eat at the attached restaurant Saturday night and enjoyed the meal. The restaurant is oceanfront as well and they have a dining patio/bar overlooking the beach.
Overall, we had a great weekend getaway at the Island Beach Resort and would definitely return again. Clean, comfortable, safe, and a good value.

Room Tip: Room 301 is oceanfront, has glass-wall oceanfront from the livingroom and oceanfront balcony from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

They told me that Shuckers is the only restauarnt on the beach for 100 miles. people can walk right up to this neat beach bar and order everything from pizzas, burgers, grouper sandwiches to full meals. It is a happenin' place. You can watch the beach and water action. Inside dining is also offered.
Shuckers outdoor bar and dining remind me of many Caribbean spots, with music playing while you sip your frosty beer or tone sour right in yur bathing suit.
GREAT FUN!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Resort

Address: 9800 South Ocean Drive, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957
Location: United States > Florida > Hutchinson Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Hutchinson Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I offer a secure one bedroom condominium which can accommodate up to four people. There are two full size balconies overlooking the beach. It has an oversized bedroom with king bed, living room with sofa bed, linen supply, dining area, separate kitchen with full-size appliances as well as dishes, pots, and utensils, etc. In addition, it also has two cable TVs, two DVD and CD players, movie library, private phone with answer service and free WiFi computer signal. Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Enjoy the oceanside heated swimming pool with picnic areas and barbecue grills. Also for your pleasure is a restaurant and lounge with oceanside Tiki Bar for lunch or dinner. After dinner, enjoy nightly entertainment or take a walk on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Beach Hotel Hutchinson Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.