We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Beach Resort
9800 South Ocean Drive, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The good and the not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Older property but clean and well maintained. Excellent views and great pool (never crowded) Shuckers Restaurant is attached to the bldg. so is very convenient and has good food. 3 of the 4 (plastic) chairs on our balcony were broken and were replaced within 2 days. Not so good - the living room furniture in 203 is extremely uncomfortable and the TV's are WAY out of date. We were looking forward to buying fresh local seafood and grilling by the beach, BUT the grills are CHARCOAL. We booked directly with the property and were charged an $88.00 booking fee which was somewhere in the fine print and not discussed at the time of booking. THAT was extremely annoying.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Well worth it's price. Right on the beach, lovely property and comfortable. Went with friends and family. Some rooms are better than others as they are individually owned. This was our second time here and when we arrived our first room had a problem with the air conditioning and they propmtly moved us to a room on the fourth floor sunset side, room 413 which was lovely. No complaints there. Hotel needs some updating but you can't beat the deal and location. Restaurant and tiki bar were very good. Priced reasonably. We will be back.

Room Tip: each are individually owned so all are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was our third Stay in 307. We enjoyed our holiday very much. The apartment was clean and bright as on previous visits. Great views, well kept pool, reasonably priced quality restaurant, all mod cons, digital TV, icemaker. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I can't say this as the most amazing hotel I've stayed at, but for an affordable beach hotel, its really not so bad.

We went here for a wedding that was on the beach outside the hotel, and i think the staff did a great job with the wedding and reception. Everything went out without a hitch and the hotel dealt with the 150 guests well.

Our room was a suite with two bedrooms, a living room/kitchen and a small balcony overlooking the ocean. The layout was a bit odd, but not so bad. This is a hotel that is also set up to be bought out as condos, so we could have bought our room...we decided not to though.

This is one of those properties that is a little rough around the edges and in need of a fresh coat of paint. The bones are still great-the rooms are cool and the location is killer-but the carpet is a bit old and the beds getting a bit uncomfortable.

Overall this was a great hotel for the wedding and a very affordable way to visit Florida. With a couple of upgrades I would definitely considering going back, but for now I'd visit elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We are a senior couple who enjoy the beauty of nature in a comfortabe place. Unit 401 filled all our requirements. We found it to be clean, comfortable and very secure feeling. The weather was perfect for our eight day stay which only added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNewYorkState, Owner at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
We are pleased that you found our suite comfortable. My wife and I try to meet all your needs. We refurbish on a regular basis to keep it fresh. We enjoyed having you and welcome all comments. David and Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

The Island Beach Resort is a Small Condo block on the beach. Half the units overlook the Ocean the remainer are on the sunset side facing the inland waterway. The block is set well back form the A1A and is quiet. Although a quiet location, access to local supermarkets, shopping Malls and specialist stores is excellent s A first Class restaurant is attached which provides a good range of food and drink at a reasonable price.
The staff at the resort reception and in Shuckers Restaurant are all most helpful and friendly
The Units are individually owned and are decorated to the owner’s taste. We stayed in 307 which boasted 2 balconies overlooking the sea and a very good standard of decoration including a newly remodelled kitchen area.
The pool is of a good size and well kept. The grounds are also well looked after.
When booking a unit here the staff are happy to email pictures of the individual apartments.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNewYorkState, Owner at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Our condo # 307 is my wife's pride and joy.
This was our first condo and she named it "Evie's Pelican Pad".
The pelican is her favorite Florida bird and she used it as the theme for decorating the condo. We have many very nice comments in our guest book about our condo 307. Sincerely, David and Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal river, fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We book our particular unit for this resort thru VRBO, but no matter how you book, this place is a good deal and cheaper than the few hotels in the area, plus you get an actual condo as opposed to a room w/kitchenette. This complex is directly on the Atlantic with breathtaking views. Uncrowded and relaxing, with a large heated pool, lovely tropical patio areas with grills and a nice restaurant and beach bar attached. Our unit had a granite counter top in the fully equipped kitchen and anything we could need was right there including paper and cleaning supplies. The LR and DR are beautifully decorated as was the BR which has 2 queen sized beds and huge closet. The Bathroom has granite countertop and an extra closet had all the beach gear we could need down to umbrellas, chairs and boogie boards, plus games and video games in case of rain! We could stay there forever and be thrilled! Shells are everywhere on the beach. Be sure to shop Jensen Beach downtown with quaint shops and artisans and wonderful restaurants such as Conchy Joe's and Crawdaddy's.
This is not the big tourist mecca like Daytona or the Gulf beaches on the west coast of FL. This is really uncrowded, laid back and so relaxing that you hate to leave. Depending on the season, we've rented for as little as $100 nite with $140 being the highest we have paid thru our unit's owner. We will return again and again!

  • Liked — Everything...this was Eden in Florida
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Resort

Address: 9800 South Ocean Drive, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957
Location: United States > Florida > Hutchinson Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Hutchinson Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I offer a secure one bedroom condominium which can accommodate up to four people. There are two full size balconies overlooking the beach. It has an oversized bedroom with king bed, living room with sofa bed, linen supply, dining area, separate kitchen with full-size appliances as well as dishes, pots, and utensils, etc. In addition, it also has two cable TVs, two DVD and CD players, movie library, private phone with answer service and free WiFi computer signal. Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Enjoy the oceanside heated swimming pool with picnic areas and barbecue grills. Also for your pleasure is a restaurant and lounge with oceanside Tiki Bar for lunch or dinner. After dinner, enjoy nightly entertainment or take a walk on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Beach Hotel Hutchinson Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.