We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view cannot be beat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Beach Bar

Sam's Beach Bar
6325 Clark St, Hudson, FL 34667
+1 727-868-1971
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Hudson
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Hamburgers, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Where fun dining meets the Gulf of Mexico! Watch a beautiful sunset while feasting on a perfectly prepared dinner at a price that no other restaurant can match and a quality that no other restaurant can come close to! After dinner the night is not over because the night life takes over at Sam's! Move to the sounds of the best and most professional bands in Florida! The cool night turns into a fever hot party and the energy never stops!
Hudson, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The view cannot be beat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The portions are big, fresh, and delicious. They have a grilled shrimp salad which is wonderful. I do not like that you cannot have a glass of water. They only offer bottled water at a cost. They have a band on the weekends and its a great place to watch the sunset.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    119
    53
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a lovey meal and the service was good but the bill was a bit large for what we had.

Nice to sit in and watch the sunset

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great setting and view of the gulf. Nice portions of food for the price. Food was average, drinks were cheaper than expected. Servers were friendly. Only negative was we had to pay for water. Ice cream shop there made the waffle cones by hand in front of us and the price was cheap. Tiki bar was huge and live band had the place cranking.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Right on water, bring $$$$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I arrived at Sam's just after opening on a Sunday, and sat overlooking the water, which was nice. You could see the boats coming and going through the channel. It was a gorgeous view.

Food was the typical Florida beach bar setup. Staff needs to learn difference between dairy and non-dairy.

Coconut shrimp were tasty. I had a class of Chardonnay, and they only serve bottled water, but it's not expensive. Thought the bill was much more than the meal was worth. I suppose they have to pay high rent being right on the water. I'd go again just for the ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice View; Decent Drinks; Food Overpriced IMO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is the perfect deck bar to have a drink and watch the sun set on the Gulf.

This bar gets very very crowded on weekends so go early. They do not take reservations and you must put your name on a list. If they call you, and you are not there, they move on to the next person on the list.

The mixed drinks I saw were large. The beer prices are average for a place like this. They had a local band playing 80's hits. They were much preferred to the abysmal Karaoke at the bar across the street.

The food is mostly seafood and its overpriced for what you are getting (mostly fried). The burgers are huge from what I saw but again just burgers. If you are really craving fried fish or shrimp it's decent food but I think you could get better for your money elsewhere.

Service was good. I could not complain. The place was closing the following week for renovations. I would go back again to see the progress.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Beach Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.