We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida great pool and Monkeys!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homosassa Riverside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homosassa Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Save
You added Homosassa Riverside Resort to your Saves list
5297 South Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448   |  
Hotel amenities
suffolk, va
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Old Florida great pool and Monkeys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our 1 night stay here. Our room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast watching the action on Monkey Island was great fun. In October the pool was very warm and inviting. I would advise to request 2nd floor room so you don't hear people walking above. Also midweek rental prices are much less than weekends and the resort is less busy. This hotel is very convenient for an early start to the Homosassa Springs State Park.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Guest Relations Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! Don't forget you can check in on the mo keys 24/7 on the live monkey cam! Hopefully you will be back to see us soon.
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
53
66
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a kind of last minute sister's trip. I picked it out for my sister and I to have some quality sister time. She loved the place and wants to go back one day soon. Getting there in the dark was hard due to the windy roads, but added to our adventure and worth it all. The hardest part was finding the office for checkin, which was clearly marked. Our room was a "villa" or a one bedroom suite complete with a small kitchen with standard sized appliances, dishes and silverware. Everything we needed. We were on an upper floor, with a view of the river and on the walkway we had our own table and 2 chairs which we used both days to chat, people watch and enjoy beer and wine. Lovely. There wasn't too much noise at night. The bar had a band going when we arrived abt 9 but ended fairly early so no wild noise from that.

We hadn't had a chance to eat so we hit the onsite restaurant at maybe 15 to 20 before closing and they were so fine with it. We had a blast and the staff didn't try to rush us out at all. The food was really good and plentiful. Leftovers were enough for dinner the next night.

Though you have to drive some to get to some small shops, it was worth it. We loved the small old FL feel to the resort and area. Wouldn't have changed a thing except for staying longer.

Room Tip: A view of the river is a must, so I would pick a villa, upper level for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Public Relations Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! We hope to serve you again soon.
Your Friends,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fern Park, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This resort is actually a good sized property, and rooms range from very basic (2 full beds, fridge, no coffee pot) to a suite (full amenities kitchenette and living area), and the prices are pretty reasonable. The rooms are somewhat dated, and if you're on the first floor, you probably will hear your neighbors upstairs. There is a restaurant on-site that offers a great view of the Homosassa River, and sunset is particularly beautiful from the upstairs deck. During the evening, there is live music outside on the upper deck as well. The pool is beautiful-quite a good size, and plenty of chairs and umbrellas, and it also overlooks the river. They also offer accomodations for your boat, and they have a nice boat launch. There are nice picnic tables everywhere on the property-under the shade trees, which is nice for just hanging out with friends and family. They do offer wi-fi.

Our group of roughly 23 stayed here during the last part of September, and we had a ball. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra, and book a suite with the kitchenette amenities. There are grocery stores clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Director of Sales at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us the reat review on your groups stay with us! We hope you will be back to visit us soon, lots of great events going on the next few months.
Sincerly,
Homosassa Riverside Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

You go to see the 5 spider monkeys cavort on their own island - Homosassa River - go scalloping, go out on a boat, restaurant (order shrimp), bar, live music! - Rooms are spare but clean - small fridge, 1 or 2 beds (book the $85.00 rooms) ... nature walk with eagles, hippo etc nearby ... dinner at Neon Leon's Zydeco Restaurant nearby w. live music (Don't Miss.. & make reservations) - a GREAT Getaway overnight or for a short weekend.

Room Tip: Don't book the $65.00 rooms - the $85.00 rooms have been - a bit - updated & are larger. St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Public Relations Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review! It doesn’t get much better than Monkeys, Scallops, Manatees, Shrimp (cooked) and live music. It sounds like you stayed in our standard hotel room, we do have suites available also that maybe appealing to your next visit. Don’t forget you can check in on the monkeys 24/7 on there live monkey cam.
See you soon,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our stay at the Riverside Resort included 10 couples and we had the best time ever, scalloping, relaxing, and boating! Rooms were nice and clean, comfortable, and affordable with a great front desk staff with plenty of smiles! Food was very good and affordable! Beautiful scenery all of the way up and down the river! Great fun, Great Food, and Great People Thank you so much Riverside Resort, we'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Director of Sales at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to leave your review! We are glad to hear you and your group had such a great stay.
Come back to visit soon.
Your friends,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Resort during scalloping season, and our expectations were pretty reasonable: water access for our powerboat and a cool, comfortable room. Bonuses included other guests at the resort being friendly and low-key, the water was beautiful, plus of course there's a Monkey Island just off from the restaurant.

The resort was staffed -- it seemed -- entirely by young people who were helpful and knowledgable. The property is a rambling complex of low buildings and has plenty of boat-trailer storage and its own boat-ramp (a little tight for the 24-foot-long powerboat, but nicely maintained). I'd say stick to the simple menu items at the restaurant (my hamburger was fine, but the pasta dishes proved not so satisfying), and don't expect things to be too fancy, modern, or high-end.

It's an old-fashioned Florida town, Homosassa, with a sort of Redneck Riviera flavor -- lots of Buffett music playing, plenty of folks in boats enjoying the springs, some weekend Harley-folks cruising the bars, lots of young families cleaning their scalloping catch. Not the kind of place we want to spend every weekend, but a fun adventure every now and again.

Room Tip: If you can't sleep through bar-noise, ask for a room away from the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Guest Relations Manager at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you you for taking the time to leave us your review!
We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Your friends,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a fun weekend getaway. Homosassa is such an easy trip from Orlando.. we got there in less than an hour and a half.. checked in... rooms very clean and offer great views.. then off to bar and enjoyed Jimmy Buffet type music on the deck while watching all the boats coming up and down the river. Later, feasted on steamed crabs with ice cold beer! It does not get better than this! Very low key, relaxing, and nature at its best. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomosassaRivers... R, Director of Sales at Homosassa Riverside Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope you can come back to see us soon.
Your Friends,
Ralph, Sassy, Ebony, Eve and Emily
Residents of Monkey Island
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homosassa Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homosassa Riverside Resort

Address: 5297 South Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448
Location: United States > Florida > Homosassa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Homosassa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homosassa River's Most Famous Waterfront ResortFeaturing Florida's Majestic SceneryYou don't have to enjoy great food and fun. You don't have to share a sunset or riverside cocktail. You don't have to spend any time dreaming by the pool. You don't have to be entertained by the antics of the monkeys, the manatee or the passing dolphins..... BUT YOU CAN IF YOU WANT TO!AccommodationsRelax at the pool, on the docks or the patio of your waterfront suite. Absorb the wonder and beauty of The Homosassa River.Riverside Crab HouseThe beautiful, family-friendly, main dining room has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Homosassa River. Fresh blue crabs caught from the river by local fisherman are served daily.Yardarm LoungeCitrus County's oldest and most favorite riverside lounge. Floor to ceiling glass, second story panoramic view of the Homosassa River. Featuring entertainment and history. Make new friends while enjoying your favorite cocktail at the 65' cooper bar. What a beautiful slice of local history.The Monkey BarFun in the trees! This double-decker tiki bar overlooks our very own Monkey Island. Enjoy cool island drinks and entertainment while watching the antics of the monkeys, the passing dolphins, the jumping tarpon, playful otters, manatee, and many native birds... including Bald Eagles. Oh yes, and the people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homosassa Riverside Hotel Homosassa Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homosassa Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.