We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“payment problems and no hot water” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homosassa Riverside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homosassa Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Save
You added Homosassa Riverside Resort to your Saves list
5297 South Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“payment problems and no hot water”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We booked three days at this hotel using a travel agent a month in advance but when we arrived on Christmas Day the hotel refused to accept the payment from the agency. They do not accept remote payments, an important fact not mentioned on the website. We had to give another credit card number for a deposit and a cash payment for the first night ($147). The next day they locked us out of our room (Our suitcases were inside!)and we had to make another payment. You have to pay every day by 11 am. There was no hot water and the walls are paper thin. You can hear eveything your neighbour does.... In the end we paid everything on another credit card and got a refund from the agency. We found the hotel management hostile and suspicious and they demanded all sorts of documents and details. We felt like criminals and it was a terrible three days. Don't go there.

  • Liked — the fridge and mini kitchen
  • Disliked — The management - unfriendly and unhelpful, even hostile at times to their clients, so unlike other places in Florida.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    38
    19
    6
See reviews for
61
77
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oiseau777
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed here for one night to go on Captain Mike's Manatee tour in the morning. We arrived late and had the basic room, no frills. The hotel is walking distance from his tour and is where his tour leaves from. You must do the Manatee tour if you are in the area! Do not miss this! It was one of the highlights of our trip! The hotel gave us what we wanted which was a room and a bed. We actually had two beds and it served us well. The staff is very friendly and accomodating!

  • Liked — Close to the Manatee tour
  • Disliked — they need new rugs.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We stayed in a one bedroom villa for three nights. It was very clean, new furnishing and a fully equipped kitchen. The bed was a little hard for my taste and we stayed in an upstairs unit. We had a river view. Alot of people come here to fish, boat and party. So yes there can be some noise! The bar was great with entertainment on the open deck shaded by a tree dripping with Spanish moss. You can watch the monkeys on monkey island while you sip monkey juice! The food was pretty good too. Try the shrimp stuffed with crab and wrapped in bacon. On Thursday night all you can eat all the blue crab you can for 20 bucks. This place has been here since 1962 but I think it must have been renovated recently. I hope to return and yes we snorkeled with manatees too!

  • Liked — The bar and the location and Monkey Island
  • Disliked — Coffee pot but no coffee in the room!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, SC
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

It was a last minute decision to stay here. I grew up in this town and I am now 41 years old. There is still the same furniture and mattresses in the rooms as when I was 12!!! The rooms are dirty!! The door lock would not work and I had to have someone come and let me in at 12:30 at night and again the next afternoon after reporting the problem to the front desk first thing in morning. It took 3 trips
the front desk to get the problem corrected. One of the women at the front desk acted as though she could care less. However, the man that
finally fixed the lock was pleasant about the situation. There are cobwebs around the room and the floors are flithy!! The bathroom door
is falling apart and it feels like you are ging to fall thruough the floor of room 316 at the door just inside the room. It is a very noisey place to stay. I do not mind paying to stay in a nice/desent hotel/motel but this place is a DUMP!!!! Put up a tent someplace esle
-- you will be better off!!!

  • Liked — When it was time to leave
  • Disliked — Noise, cleanliness, staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

We have just returned from wintering in Florida, and I regret not spending the whole winter in Homosassa. For anyone who has never been, you could be mistaken for thinking that they filmed the movies 'Southern Comfort' or 'Deliverence' here because it is in the middle of nowhere. However, you will be hard pressed to find a more idilic spot to relax. Remember, this is NOT Orlando so don't expect theme parks. The resort lies alongside the river, and you can relax by the pool or outside the bar and just watch the sun go down. The rooms are some of the best I have ever stayed in and are very good for the money. The Manatee trips are outstanding, tho a little early in the morning for some. You meet in Reception at 0530 to receive a briefing and get your wetsuit. The suits are all new and they have all sizes. The skipper we had, Capt Wayne White is also a professional photographer, so if you have a camera he is more than happy to use it for you. The underwater camera they give you is not much good in low light so take your own. The 20 min trip to the site can be a little chilly so take warm clothing, tho once you are in the 72 deg water you soon warm up. The Manatees will appear from nowhere and when they suddenly appear it's a shock. They are very mild mannered and as long as you don't splash around they will stay right with you. We were in the water for 90 mins, but it seemed like 5. Do youself a favor and stay a couple nights or more. I promise you won't regret it!!

  • Liked — Room size and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Maybe a grocery store, but not essential.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed in a 2 bedroom overlooking the river. The room was large and clean, though we spent most of our time on the deck. Enjoyed the Monkey Bar and restaurant. Can't say enough nice things and will be back soon!

  • Liked — River View
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viriginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

We booked a riverfront studio for 2 nights, as part of a trip to swim with the manatees. The room was quite nice, not dirty, quite large. Fully kitted kitchen. It seemed overpriced for what it was but that seems to be common for hotels in this area.
The main problem was the noise. We were on the first floor, and the people above us sounded like elephants moving around the room. We could here them talking, laughing, moving chairs around, using the toilet! I don't know if they were unusually loud or the rooms have no soundproofing at all. I suspect a combination. The first night we contacted the front desk at 1am, who called them and they quietened down for a few minutes. The second night was equally bad. I would have loved this trip if it were not for this, but to pay $160/night and not get good sleep was disappointing.
If you stay here make sure you are upstairs, or don't plan to get to sleep before 2am - tough when your manatee tour starts at 6am!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homosassa Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homosassa Riverside Resort

Address: 5297 South Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448
Location: United States > Florida > Homosassa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Homosassa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homosassa River's Most Famous Waterfront ResortFeaturing Florida's Majestic SceneryYou don't have to enjoy great food and fun. You don't have to share a sunset or riverside cocktail. You don't have to spend any time dreaming by the pool. You don't have to be entertained by the antics of the monkeys, the manatee or the passing dolphins..... BUT YOU CAN IF YOU WANT TO!AccommodationsRelax at the pool, on the docks or the patio of your waterfront suite. Absorb the wonder and beauty of The Homosassa River.Riverside Crab HouseThe beautiful, family-friendly, main dining room has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Homosassa River. Fresh blue crabs caught from the river by local fisherman are served daily.Yardarm LoungeCitrus County's oldest and most favorite riverside lounge. Floor to ceiling glass, second story panoramic view of the Homosassa River. Featuring entertainment and history. Make new friends while enjoying your favorite cocktail at the 65' cooper bar. What a beautiful slice of local history.The Monkey BarFun in the trees! This double-decker tiki bar overlooks our very own Monkey Island. Enjoy cool island drinks and entertainment while watching the antics of the monkeys, the passing dolphins, the jumping tarpon, playful otters, manatee, and many native birds... including Bald Eagles. Oh yes, and the people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homosassa Riverside Hotel Homosassa Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homosassa Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.