We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to see manatees in a natural setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park

Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park
4150 S Suncoast Blvd, Homosassa Springs, FL 34446
352-628-5343
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rehabilation center for injured animals, with a broad selection of birds and reptiles, including the manatee.
Gainesville, Fl
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing place to see manatees in a natural setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Don't settle for fake theme park attractions. This one is the real thing! Underwater viewing pavillion and a chance to watch people interact with the manatees. Plus a little zoo and glass bottom boat ride. Awesome field trip experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    166
    35
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find this attraction so close to where we stayed. We enjoyed a pleasant afternoon at the park. We enjoyed the boat ride, the displays of animal life. Great area!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice slice of classic Florida tourism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Great place to get a taste of real Florida. Except for the Hippo, all of the animals are native to Florida and the outdoor setting is perfect. The boat ride on the spring is very appealing, with many sightings of native wildlife. The underwater fish viewing area is unusual and very cool to experience.

The only disappointment (minor) is the manatees. They are rescues, and mostly overweight and beat-up animals. If you want to see these magnificent creatures in a natural setting, Blue Spring State Park hosts many of them in-season (December-February).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Place to take the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Family friendly, we love to take the grandkids and out of town visitors there. Up close with the manatees. The underwater obsevatory is a real nice feature to see the wildlife in their habitat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice for Florida wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is the 3rd time my husband and I have been to Homosassa Springs park. This time, we took our 1 yr old daughter. (FYI - free strollers available for use at the park! Even 'adult strollers' too.) We had plans to meet family at the beach, and were running late, so our visit to Homosassa was a little rushed, this time, but each previous time we've thoroughly enjoyed walking through the park. The ticket prices are a little high ($13 for adults), but if you think about it this way - this is a relatively small park, and many of the animals were rescued - the money goes towards care of these animals. (That said, I thought some of the gift shop items were outrageously priced - a t-shirt for $40+! Even with the 50% off sale, it was a little much.)

You can take a tram or the boat to/from the park. The pontoon boat ride is very nice, and I definitely recommend it. On this particular trip, we took the tram, rather than waiting for the next boat. (As I said, we were on a tight schedule) There are plenty of volunteers and rangers there, and plenty of shows/feedings/talks to check out. The park grounds are mostly natural, with a boardwalk trail to get around to the exhibits. There is a children's educational center to check out as well. The underwater observatory to view the manatees is great as well.

There is a cafe on-site and plenty of picnicking areas. It's a very pleasant park, educational, and beautiful.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park also viewed

 

Been to Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.