We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, good food, but bad time to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Key Fish & Oyster Company

Cedar Key Fish & Oyster Company
5590 South Boulevard Drive, Homosassa, FL 34448
(352) 628-7637
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Homosassa
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Inverness, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food, but bad time to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I took my "Seniors on the Move" clients to the "The Freezer" for lunch after a leisurely boat ride on the Homosassa River. I had eaten there a few times and enjoyed the food and ambiance. My clients had heard a lot about the place and were anxious to try it out. As they say, timing is everything. Unfortunately, it was not a good day to go there. The scallop season had just started and the place was very busy - packed with boaters, some of whom passed us on the way back to the dock.
Ordering of the meal is done at the bar. Since there was a long line, we had to wait for quite a while, Some of my elderly clients had a tough time with that since it is difficult for them to stand in place. Unfortunately, some menu items were not available, so ordering became difficult for those who had to settle on a different option.
I enjoyed my shrimp and coleslaw, and fortunately most of the clients were satisfied with their choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The best meals are ones that are unexpected and the entire experience comes together. This was one of those meals, We happened on this place by accident. We were driving by and smelled the smoke from their smoker and decided to stop. You go through the bar to the tiki area to place your order. We were lucky enough to score seats along the bench with a view over the marina. There are also tables down below on the grass by the marina. The food was great. Large helpings for a great price and $2 drafts. The blue crab was especially tasty, but everything we ordered was good. Their smoked mullet is a house specialty. We lingered for hours talking to the neighbors on either side. A memorable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Same place as the freezer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A little tricky to find but.........it's wonderful. We had a week in Florida and this was one of our most memorable meals. Nothing fancy...just great food. Not a large menu.....but what is there is first class. Got to try the chowder and the shrimp. If you can't find it, ask for directions. It's well worth the search.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Casual Place for Simple But Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friends and I ate here twice while vacationing. The menu is very limited, but what's on it was prepared very well, whether it was basic tavern food, like soft pretzels and wings, steamed shrimp, or stone crab claws. Very affordable, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food& value But smoke...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I like the steamed fresh seafood in this low key place. If I could be guaranteed a seat near the outside away from smoke, I'd go back regularly. However, the smokers linger as does the drift from the"butts" so I just can't make it back here. The no-frills charm of "the Freezer" does make this an experience in how casual Homosassa can be...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Key Fish & Oyster Company also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Key Fish & Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Key Fish & Oyster Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.