We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkel with Manatees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homosassa River

Homosassa River
Homosassa, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Homosassa
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snorkel with Manatees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time snorkeling with manatees...I got to rub ones side and belly when it rolled over for me....I can wait to do it again....Also saw about 10 dolphins who swam next to the pontoon we were on on the way back to dock...I had never really been able to relax enough to snorkel, but this time I did and really enjoyed the experience....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of nature's beauty spots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you've been you know what we mean. If you haven't get down here and get out on the water or at least take the weight off your feet with a beer by the river. Great fishing, manatee in the winter half of the year, lots of bird and other wildlife. Rent a boat and guide from Old Homosassa for the day, go down river and out into the Gulf. Rent a kayak and go up all the way up river to the spring fed source - the river water is much clearer at the head of the river and nice to swim in.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A ride on the Homosassa river is wonderful. Of course, during the summer on holidays or weekends it is not as relaxing with huge numbers of boats but the rest of the year is terrific. Lots of fish to look at, eagles, osprey and there are a few resident manatees that you can see if you are taking your time. Almost always have dolphins at play or involved in the serious business of catching some fish.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,266 reviews 1,266 reviews
315 attraction reviews
Reviews in 268 cities Reviews in 268 cities
675 helpful votes 675 helpful votes
“So relaxing and lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I spent four days in the Crystal River area including the Homosassa River. The Homosassa River is another of the spring-fed rivers within the Springs Coast Watershed. The headwater springs of the Homosassa River are home to both freshwater and saltwater fish. This phenomenon is possible because the mineral content in the spring water resembles minerals found in salt water. The freshwater fish you'll find in the Homosassa River include bream, largemouth bass and gar. Some of the saltwater species you'll see include jacks, mullet, sheepshead and snook.

The only problems with visiting this area in October are the swarms of no see ums (black flies) that vigorously attack humans.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My family loves to go to the river, it's very refreshing in the hot Florida sun. We go snorkeling and scalloping and it's a great time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homosassa River also viewed

 

Been to Homosassa River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homosassa River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.