We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Time Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snorkel With Manatees

Snorkel With Manatees
4155 S Suncoast Blvd (HWY 19), Homosassa, FL 34448
+1 352-257-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thank you for reading our reviews. We are located on the West Coast of Florida just across the street from the Homosassa State Wildlife Park ( The only Wildlife Park in the United States)and a short drive from Kissimmee Fl (Orlando) and Tampa Bay/Clear Water area. We offer one of the coolest wildlife encounters, "To Snorkel With Manatees". Our guides are friendly and very helpful with over 12 years of guiding families to interact with manatees. We offer many different Eco and Dolphin Tours that are just perfect for a day of fun in the sun. Book your Manatee Tour with our friendly staff and professional guides on our limited seating boats, we only allow 6 passengers on our River Boats, this gives you more time and room to enjoy your excursion. We look forward to meeting you and your families Captain Gene
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Carlsbad, CA
1 review
“Best Time Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Took the kids to a week of vacation from San Diego to Disney World. Broke up the middle of the trip to the park with a trip out to Crystal River. Kids did not want to get up early and we did not want to waste a ton of dough with a tour guide, so we slept in after a long night with Mickey Mouse, drove the two hours and got to the river about 1:30. We just happened to end up at a place called MacRae'a of Homosassa (352.628.2602). We got some chips, drinks, and sandwiches at the bait shop, rented a pontoon boat for 1/2 day at $100.00. We also purchased three pairs of swimming goggles for $20 and can use them when we get home too. Wow is all I can saw about the adventure. In the first five minutes we saw an eagle fly out of a tree and grab a fish out of the water, 2 turtles on a log, lots of jumping fish, & monkeys on a little island in the water. We cruised up the mellow river to the springs (super easy to do). Within a few minutes we were swimming with a manatee for the next 30 minutes! The kids, ages 4 & 12, loved it!. The water at the spring is super clean and warm. The water on the river is very murky. Do not miss out on this adventure. Young or old it is worth the time. Remember, do not waste your time & money with a guide. We have never driven a boat before and it was no problem at all. No need to wake up early for this adventure, the manatee are there all day long

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    28
    6
    5
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg,Fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fun day at Crystal River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

What a great day we had with my 8 year old son and elderly parents. We swam with the manatees while my parents watched from the boat.They enjoyed it as much as we did. Our captain Garrett was exceptionally wonderful because he went out with my 8 year old and made sure he got to touch the manatees and then also went back to the boat and tended to my parents too. He was great in all the aspects of the day. On the way back we got to see a dolphin trying to catch some fish for lunch but was stopped by a couple of pelicans who thought he was catching the fish for them. It was so neat to watch them all interact together. So if you are from 8 years old to 83 you will enjoy this trip!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkit88, Owner at Snorkel With Manatees, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you again for a wonderful review. The dolphins that we see during our manatee tours can be crazy fun... Crystal River is just a short drive from the major cites (Tampa, Orlando) so pack up the kids and come hang out with our crew. Dont be fooled by theme parks, this is real. Dont get me wong I do enjoy sea world.
Captain Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Snorkel with Manatees in Crystal River was an amazing experience! Our Captain Laura was so great with us - friendly, knowledgable and lots of fun! We did the private tour and I would recommend it to everyone. The area is beautiful and this was definitely the highlight of our spring break! I plan to come back next year!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkit88, Owner at Snorkel With Manatees, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thanks Kelly, we are so excited that you and your family enjoyed captain Laura and her way of life... The private tours are the coolest of coolest, just you and your family on the boats for a day of unforgetable fun.. Hope to see you return, the manatees miss you guys...
Captain Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best part of our Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Snorkel with Manatees in Crystal River, FL was awesome! Our captain, Garrett, was knowledgable, and did a great job of engaging our 9 year old son and 14 year old daughter. We ended up having a private tour, as some others who had reserved time didn't show up, so our family of four had the boat to ourselves! Garrett quickly found us an area with manatees, and once we were in the water, we had a great time interacting with them. One in particular was very friendly, and allowed all of us to rub it's back and belly, and was so playful that it grabbed my wife's wetsuit zipper string and was tugging it down! We started our Spring Break vacation with Snorkel with Manatees, then went to Atlanta for a week, but by far, my kids thought the manatee encounter was the highlight of our trip.

I highly recommend Snorkel with Manatees in Crystal River. We will definitely be back, with more family and friends!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkit88, Owner at Snorkel With Manatees, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Hey guys thanks for your review. Thank you for stopping by and snorkeling with our manatees. It is the most awesome encounter of wildlife. We do have a a few folks that dont show up for there reservations that hold pre paid vouchers... If you have tried to get a reservation and we have been full up, please understand that some folks dont realise how cool this is. Check out our scallop tours coming up this summer, book early for seats our going fast...
Captain Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Swimming with the manatees was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was something we had heard about but never dreamed we would do. Wet suit, snorkel and mask were provided. I don't do well with snorkels so I stayed close to the boat and spent about an hour one on one with my own manatee. Everyone else loved swimming around to different manatees. Loved that there were only 6 of us on one boat.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkit88, Owner at Snorkel With Manatees, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thanks Betty for your review, this is true, we only take six passengers per boat per tour. If you can float on a water noodle, then your ready to go. We provide water noodles for the whole crew. Let our crew show you how to have fun. Check out our private tours, they are a blast with just you and your family.
Captain Gene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snorkel With Manatees also viewed

 

Been to Snorkel With Manatees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snorkel With Manatees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.