We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirates Den, the perfect hideaway from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Pirates Den

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Pirates Den
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Pirates Den to your Saves list
3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pirates Den, the perfect hideaway from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family and I, (consisting of my husband, 2 sons ages four and seven, and my mother), arrived here at the Pirates Den on June 25th. We were greeted and shown to our apartment rental #4. We walked in and fell in love with the place. It has 2 bedrooms, one with twin beds, a nice main room, a sweet little cozy kitchen and dining area, and a patio right off the dining area. It is convenient for hanging wet beach clothes and items out to dry and the view is pretty great too. The bathroom was spacious enough and the towels were plush. The shower had great temperature and water pressure. The couch is plenty big for someone to sleep on. Its nearly the same size as a twin after you take off the enormous pillows. The place is spotless and like-new. Its decorated nicely and I haven't wanted for anything in this cozy little cottage style home. Our two sons love staying at a house instead of a hotel. They let us get more rest here than in a hotel room where there is no room for child play or wanderings. :) The pool is perfect.
There is a set of wooden steps that we climb up to reach our rental#4 and a garage underneath filled with things we may need for the beach, extra household items, and a washer and dryer. To wash is $2 and to dry is $1. The owners of this wonderful Pirates Den, are really great and friendly. They welcome you in each time you may have a question. There is a dishpan of water at the foot of the stairs to the entrance to wash off sandy feet and a hose if you may need a bit more than a foot bath. There is also a nice looking grill but we do not plan on using it.
Our rental is a breath of fresh air. We prefer being away from the crowds while enjoying the white sandy beaches of Florida. We have found such a place on our second trip to Florida. Pirates Den is located on Anna Maria Island in a quiet area and within walking distance to pristine Gulf waters and white sandy beaches. Across Gulf Drive highway and about 2 minutes of walking you will find an uncrowded beach with a breathtaking view.
I cannot think of a thing about this place that I do not like. This is an amazing place to stay if you enjoy a lot of peace and quiet. It boasts uncrowded beaches and uncommercialized areas. Thank you Pirate's Den for a 3-day memorable stay. No more hotels for us.

Room Tip: Rental #4 is quiet and lovely. It accommodated 5 people easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoals, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a place like home away from home. They have thought of everything for their guests!!! They are so friendly and welcoming as well. We were brought up personally showed us our own apartment. It is spacious and decorated very nice and tasteful.
The cottage type apartment is so very nice- roomy, comfortable and just what you would want in a place to call home on vacation. We were assigned to Rental #4. Love the views and our own private balcony!!! What a great place to have a vacation with my daughter, son in law n boys --- so enjoy seeing my grandsons have so much beach fun!!!!
There is a washer and dryer below, items for the pool or beach, umbrellas, items for kids, plus a grill and outside covered area to eat or lounge. They have water containers to wash off any sand plus a garden hose is conveniently located to do any hosing off.
Everything was so spotless and welcoming at our arrival. It is so confidently located to the beach -- an uncrowded part and just across the street) and to the markets, restaurants, pharmacy plus many other shops.
I really liked that their Wifi was very fast with no connection issues at all!! A huge plus!!!
There was always plenty of hot water (even for 5 people) with good pressure and the air conditioning kept us very cool!!!
There is nothing negative to say about this place!!! It is all great!! So much nicer than a hotel room or suite!!!! What a wonderful and refreshing experience we have had in this stay!!!!

Room Tip: We had great view in #4- no complaints of anything!! It has been quiet and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We just arrived today and were very happy with our Cottage #6. We arrived early and our room was not quite ready yet. Ruth Ann went to work got the unit cleaned and ready for us while we went grocery shopping at the Publix only a block away. When we came back it was spic and span. She gave us a tour of the property and where everything was located. There is a garage full of beach accesories from towels to chairs and items for the young ones.
Every thing in our room seems to be updated , kitchen and bath are very functional and plenty of storage space. The pool is very clean and refreshing.
Looking forward to a great week at the Pirates Den. Also the car will be parked all week. The beach is just across the street and the trolly can take you anywhere. We also have our bikes and enjoyed our ride to the northend of the island this afternoon.
Will update at end of week.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a short break at the Pirates Den. We were on a 2 week holiday in Orlando and thought we'd visit Anna Maria to get away from the madness. We were in apartment 2 which was a two bed apartment over looking the pool. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a short break. Bed was super comfortable and we felt at home there. They have a garage full of beach equipment that you are able to borrow which is ideal. The beach us just over the road and is truly beautiful.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these apartments to anyone, they are not overly modern but furnished in a older Floridian style , wonderful location and super comfortable. Thank you for a great few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just spent Mother's day weekend at this lovely beachy hotel across the street from the beach. Vicky and family bought this place in December and went all out to make us feel welcome. We stayed in unit 2 ( upstairs) Looks like the bathroom was updated But this place was very clean, they provided everything you need for a day at the beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We just returned from the Pirate's Den to celebrate my 50th birthday weekend! I cannot say enough great things about Vicky and family for making us feel right at home. We had 4 of the 6 clean units rented, with a great pool, steps to the beach (they have everything you need to spend an hour or the day). Could some of the units be updated - yes - they are working to make that happen. If you are looking for a clean, laid back, comfortable place to spend some time with friends or family on Holmes Beach, this is the place to go, everything is right there. If you are looking for the Ritz go some place else, but this is the place for me. I know we will return! Again thank you to everyone at the Pirate's Den for making our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickykay8364, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we were so happy to help you celebrate your bithday, what a great group. We look forward to your return to the pirates den! -vicky and kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one week during Spring break! Owner Vicky is wonderful as well as her parents who were very sweet. Our cottage (#6) was clean and had a very nice sized kitchen and bath. Yes, it could use a little updating as far as bedding is concerned but overall was a great spot and my daughter enjoyed having a pool to swim in. Loved being right across the street from the beautiful beach!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickykay8364, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a great time at the pirates den and on anna maria island! We look forward to your return, I am certain you will be happy with your bed/linens....almost all have been replaced, we are very excited about this needed upgrade to the pirates den. -vicky and kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Pirates Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Pirates Den

Address: 3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Pirates Den is a small family run resort located on gulf drive in Holmes Beach. We have four individually decorated 2 bedroom apartments and 2 one bedroom cottages. Enjoy the island way of life, sun, beach, and most of all relaxation. Swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and walk any of the seven miles of sandy beaches and of course if you walk too far you can always catch the free trolley back to your fully equipped apartment. The island described by the English Daily Mail newspaper as "tranquil Florida, as it used to be, just beaches, pelicans and palm trees". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Pirates Den Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Anna Maria Island
Resort Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria Pirates Den Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Pirates Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.