We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Pirates Den

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Pirates Den
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Pirates Den to your Saves list
3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Holmes Beach
Green Brook, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just spent Mother's day weekend at this lovely beachy hotel across the street from the beach. Vicky and family bought this place in December and went all out to make us feel welcome. We stayed in unit 2 ( upstairs) Looks like the bathroom was updated But this place was very clean, they provided everything you need for a day at the beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We just returned from the Pirate's Den to celebrate my 50th birthday weekend! I cannot say enough great things about Vicky and family for making us feel right at home. We had 4 of the 6 clean units rented, with a great pool, steps to the beach (they have everything you need to spend an hour or the day). Could some of the units be updated - yes - they are working to make that happen. If you are looking for a clean, laid back, comfortable place to spend some time with friends or family on Holmes Beach, this is the place to go, everything is right there. If you are looking for the Ritz go some place else, but this is the place for me. I know we will return! Again thank you to everyone at the Pirate's Den for making our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickykay8364, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we were so happy to help you celebrate your bithday, what a great group. We look forward to your return to the pirates den! -vicky and kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one week during Spring break! Owner Vicky is wonderful as well as her parents who were very sweet. Our cottage (#6) was clean and had a very nice sized kitchen and bath. Yes, it could use a little updating as far as bedding is concerned but overall was a great spot and my daughter enjoyed having a pool to swim in. Loved being right across the street from the beautiful beach!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickykay8364, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a great time at the pirates den and on anna maria island! We look forward to your return, I am certain you will be happy with your bed/linens....almost all have been replaced, we are very excited about this needed upgrade to the pirates den. -vicky and kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spent one night on AMI in May 2014. This place is spread out into different cottages that all looked like they were unique in their own way. We stayed in cottage 6. The room was clean, sizable, and the owner was very friendly and laid back-down to earth people. The place is in a very centralized location on AMI. 5 min trolley ride south to Bradenton Beach or a 5 min trolley ride north to the Sandbar Restaurant. Would definitely recommend this to anyone and would also recommend staying longer than 1 day.....much longer....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickykay8364, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again at the pirates den-vicky and kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

New owners need a course in hotel management.
Did not make me feel welcome after traveling for several days. Beds and furniture not comfortable.
Unable to set thermostat to a comfortable temperature in Florida.
Pool was great!

Room Tip: Room on gulf drive noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickykay8364, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are very sad and disappointed with this review from your visit in February. This is NOT consistent with current reviews. We believe everything possible was done to satisfy you. Starting with a request to grant credit due to late arrival (we did grant a partial credit! It clearly states in your confirmation that we do not do this for late arrival)we chose to do this, there was an immediate response to the AC, a contractor was on site within 30 minutes, it was 72 degrees inside, 68 outside, we suggested open windows until he got there. We do NOT control our guest comfort level.We had all temperature control settings removed in December. As to the furniture, you requested this unit you had stayed in before (same furniture), and were allowed to bring a dog to a carpeted unit but we honored the reservation. As to the bed, it was BRAND new, delivered weeks before your arrival. Thank you for your kind words about our heated pool. We do our best to help everyone have a great stay. We were notified by the previous owners that this may happen on occasion such as this, but to do our best to satisfy all. Thank you, kevin and vicky mcphail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Pirates Den is a really nice place to stay. Vicki (owner) was awsome, very accommodating! Kathie and Al, vicki's parents are awsome too! Very friendly and treat you like family. The cottages have nice upgrades and are very, very clean! Ruth Ann and Vicki pride themselves on providing a clean environment for the guests. Location is great too, close to the beach, grocery store and drug store is walking distance.

Thank you for the great hospitality, cannot wait to return again next year:)

T. Scaturo
Michigan Resident

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We just got back from a wedding weekend with friends and family on Anna Maria Island. I looked for places to stay for the 7-9 of us and Pirates Den was the place for us! I called Vickie in tears and she took car of us--we stayed in two apartments--each with two bedrooms--we had kitchens and screened porches--pool, beach--who could ask for more. Cathie and Al were so kind during our stay and no one complained about our little celebration noise on Friday night. We grilled out and cooked and had the best vacation ever! If you are looking for luxury--keep looking. But if you want a great place for a family vacation--this is it! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Pirates Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Pirates Den

Address: 3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Pirates Den is a small family run resort located on gulf drive in Holmes Beach. We have four individually decorated 2 bedroom apartments and 2 one bedroom cottages. Enjoy the island way of life, sun, beach, and most of all relaxation. Swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and walk any of the seven miles of sandy beaches and of course if you walk too far you can always catch the free trolley back to your fully equipped apartment. The island described by the English Daily Mail newspaper as "tranquil Florida, as it used to be, just beaches, pelicans and palm trees". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Pirates Den Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Anna Maria Island
Resort Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria Pirates Den Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Pirates Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.