We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more pleased!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Pirates Den

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Pirates Den
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Pirates Den to your Saves list
3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Brandon, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

AMPD will be our new go to spot for our getaways. Maree squeezed our family of 4 in at the last minute putting us in Apartment 3 which is a gorgeous 2 BR/2BA unit. She even allowed us to bring our Shorkie after our boarding plans fell thru. She is a sweetheart and was very accommodating and a big help with whatever we needed. The pool is heated and spotless as was the room. There is a Publix within walking distance, very convenient. I can't thank you enough Maree for our most pleasurable stay. We'll definitely be back in 2013!

Room Tip: Unit 3 for a family of 6 comfortably,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great location, price, atmosphere, property owner. Just across the quiet street to the beach we watched dolphines then walked down the beach to the cafe for coffee in the morn and 1 night for dinner to watch a beautiful sunset. Our cottage was spotless and very comfortable. We had our own private patio where we ate dinner that we fixed in the well equiped kitchen. Publix is 2 blocks away as is the trolly stop which runs the length of the island and is free. Dave, owner was accommodating and entertaining, loads of fun to talk to. We would not hesitate to come back and stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nearToronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned for my fourth visit to the Pirates Den. Each year when I return to Anna Maria Island there is no doubt about where we will stay, Apt 4 at the Pirates Den. The place is clean, comfy and relaxing; the location can't be beat. Straight across the road is the beach, which is a quieter area of the beach (when we go, usually May or Sept) and Publix is within walking distance as well as Walgreens and other stores to do some "touristy" shopping. The hosts are always available if need be and this year we had the pleausure of meeting Douglas, their son, who is just like his parents :-) (Maree, we missed you this year...). My cousin came with us this year, and she has never been to Florida and also really enjoyed the Pirates Den and said that if/when she returns, that will be her first choice as well. No need to look anywhere else! Just get there, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is most definitely our favorite destination for a family beach vacation. It has the perfect location just a short stroll to the beach with shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Pirates Den has the old traditional Florida feel and the apartments are always spotless. The owners Maree and Dave and their son Douglas always provide the best welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them during your stay. Can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having spent a week at Easter 2012 at Pirates Den on Anna Maria Island it has not lost it's appeal. This is the seventh year running we have spent time there with family. The accommodation is just what you need for a beach holiday and its proximity to the beach is ideal, especially with young children. The owners are very obliging and keep the place in tip top condition. We are booked again for next Easter for three of the six available apartments. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, TN
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just spent 6 days at The Pirates Den and loved every minute of it... very cozy, clean and quiet. We stayed in Apt #2 upstairs and the balcony overlooked the pool and you could see the ocean. While they are not right on the beach, just a quick walk and you are there! Everyone was very nice and since I was traveling with my 3 year old daughter, they even helped me with my luggage!! When I stay on Anna Maria, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The Location was nice, but the grounds where in bad shape such as broken lawn chairs and ply wood stacked every where. The Pool area very small with so many chairs that you could not get through. Cabins very clean, with tatal lack of T. Paper. We had to ASK for a roll. We would not go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3501maree, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I am very upset by this review, as far as we are aware no-one called Mark S.. stayed at Pirates Den in July, and we are at a loss to explain why some-one would post these comments and not mention anything to us whilst they were on site.
But we are pleased that they did post that the accommodations were very clean.
We do not have Cabins all our units are self contained apartments and no-one would describe them as “cabins” and we do not have broken Lawn chairs scattered all around the premises.
They may have meant the chaise lounges from the pool which we had replaced. These were stored waiting for the charity to whom they had been donated to pick them up.
Plywood we do not have plywood stacked everywhere.
This is the first time anyone has made an adverse comment about our pool area and their inability to move around. The pool loungers are not screwed to the deck so guests do move them around perhaps this caused the complaint. , maybe we should consider fixing them so that they cannot be moved, but again no one made any complaint about access to the pool.
I would dispute the comment made about toilet paper.In every bathroom there are at least 2 double rolls available when Guests check-in (1 on the holder and another 1 spare) after this the Guest is expected to supply it themselves and they are advised accordingly on their reservation details. no-one came and complained after they had checked-in that they were not supplied with any toilet paper and although this could happen (we are all human after all) this would be the first time that this oversight had occurred in the almost 11 years that we have owned Anna Maria Pirates Den.
I have sent an email to the “unknown” person who did the posting for more information so that we can check the housekeeping sheets for the unit and the date they stayed. All our units are checked after the housekeeper has finished and the unit signed off as ready for the Guest's arrival.
This was sent nearly on the 18th July and to date I have not received the courtesy of a reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Pirates Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Pirates Den

Address: 3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holmes Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Pirates Den is a small family run resort located on gulf drive in Holmes Beach. We have four individually decorated 2 bedroom apartments and 2 one bedroom cottages. Enjoy the island way of life, sun, beach, and most of all relaxation. Swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and walk any of the seven miles of sandy beaches and of course if you walk too far you can always catch the free trolley back to your fully equipped apartment. The island described by the English Daily Mail newspaper as "tranquil Florida, as it used to be, just beaches, pelicans and palm trees". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Pirates Den Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Anna Maria Island
Resort Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria Pirates Den Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Pirates Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.