We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay to the Pirates Den!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria Pirates Den

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anna Maria Pirates Den
Save Saved
You added Anna Maria Pirates Den to your Saves list
3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
nearToronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“another great stay to the Pirates Den!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned for my fourth visit to the Pirates Den. Each year when I return to Anna Maria Island there is no doubt about where we will stay, Apt 4 at the Pirates Den. The place is clean, comfy and relaxing; the location can't be beat. Straight across the road is the beach, which is a quieter area of the beach (when we go, usually May or Sept) and Publix is within walking distance as well as Walgreens and other stores to do some "touristy" shopping. The hosts are always available if need be and this year we had the pleausure of meeting Douglas, their son, who is just like his parents :-) (Maree, we missed you this year...). My cousin came with us this year, and she has never been to Florida and also really enjoyed the Pirates Den and said that if/when she returns, that will be her first choice as well. No need to look anywhere else! Just get there, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is most definitely our favorite destination for a family beach vacation. It has the perfect location just a short stroll to the beach with shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Pirates Den has the old traditional Florida feel and the apartments are always spotless. The owners Maree and Dave and their son Douglas always provide the best welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them during your stay. Can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Having spent a week at Easter 2012 at Pirates Den on Anna Maria Island it has not lost it's appeal. This is the seventh year running we have spent time there with family. The accommodation is just what you need for a beach holiday and its proximity to the beach is ideal, especially with young children. The owners are very obliging and keep the place in tip top condition. We are booked again for next Easter for three of the six available apartments. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, TN
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just spent 6 days at The Pirates Den and loved every minute of it... very cozy, clean and quiet. We stayed in Apt #2 upstairs and the balcony overlooked the pool and you could see the ocean. While they are not right on the beach, just a quick walk and you are there! Everyone was very nice and since I was traveling with my 3 year old daughter, they even helped me with my luggage!! When I stay on Anna Maria, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The Location was nice, but the grounds where in bad shape such as broken lawn chairs and ply wood stacked every where. The Pool area very small with so many chairs that you could not get through. Cabins very clean, with tatal lack of T. Paper. We had to ASK for a roll. We would not go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3501maree, Owner at Anna Maria Pirates Den, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I am very upset by this review, as far as we are aware no-one called Mark S.. stayed at Pirates Den in July, and we are at a loss to explain why some-one would post these comments and not mention anything to us whilst they were on site.
But we are pleased that they did post that the accommodations were very clean.
We do not have Cabins all our units are self contained apartments and no-one would describe them as “cabins” and we do not have broken Lawn chairs scattered all around the premises.
They may have meant the chaise lounges from the pool which we had replaced. These were stored waiting for the charity to whom they had been donated to pick them up.
Plywood we do not have plywood stacked everywhere.
This is the first time anyone has made an adverse comment about our pool area and their inability to move around. The pool loungers are not screwed to the deck so guests do move them around perhaps this caused the complaint. , maybe we should consider fixing them so that they cannot be moved, but again no one made any complaint about access to the pool.
I would dispute the comment made about toilet paper.In every bathroom there are at least 2 double rolls available when Guests check-in (1 on the holder and another 1 spare) after this the Guest is expected to supply it themselves and they are advised accordingly on their reservation details. no-one came and complained after they had checked-in that they were not supplied with any toilet paper and although this could happen (we are all human after all) this would be the first time that this oversight had occurred in the almost 11 years that we have owned Anna Maria Pirates Den.
I have sent an email to the “unknown” person who did the posting for more information so that we can check the housekeeping sheets for the unit and the date they stayed. All our units are checked after the housekeeper has finished and the unit signed off as ready for the Guest's arrival.
This was sent nearly on the 18th July and to date I have not received the courtesy of a reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

why stay at a hotel or resort when you can get so much more here for less money. you get a full apartment with living room, stocked kitchen, private deck and use of pool and common room. it's a little older but well maintained and very clean. a few quirky noises just adds to the charm. owner is a friendly talkative chap.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments ideal for families. cottages have one bedroom and lots of privacy for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Three of us,my husband ,grandaughter and myself stayed at this property the last week of May 2012. We stayed in cottage #6 and it was absolutely perfect Our resevations were made by phone and confirmed by email once our deposit was recieved. We were greeted by the owner and shown to our cottage upon arrival. The cottage was spotless and very clean. The kitchen has everything in it to prepare meals along with a private patio where you can BBQ and sit and enjoy your meals or soak up the sun. It's also a great place for young kids to play and yet be contained. A Publix grocery is about a half a block away as well as a Walgreens and various beach stores for shopping. There is a small pool on site, but with the beach just across the street and a very short walk away that;s where we went. This property was wonderful. I can;t think of one bad thing to say about this property or the staff! My husband and I have stayed in hotels rated from 2 stars to 5 diamonds and have grown very picky over the years and I can honestly say this property does not dissapoint. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: cottage #6 sleeps three very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Maria Pirates Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Maria Pirates Den

Address: 3501 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anna Maria Pirates Den is a small family run resort located on gulf drive in Holmes Beach. We have four individually decorated 2 bedroom apartments and 2 one bedroom cottages. Enjoy the island way of life, sun, beach, and most of all relaxation. Swim in the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico and walk any of the seven miles of sandy beaches and of course if you walk too far you can always catch the free trolley back to your fully equipped apartment. The island described by the English Daily Mail newspaper as "tranquil Florida, as it used to be, just beaches, pelicans and palm trees". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anna Maria Pirates Den Hotel Holmes Beach
Hotel Anna Maria Island
Resort Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria Pirates Den Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria Pirates Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.