We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not ask for a better place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5626 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 to $50 off room rates
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Could not ask for a better place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is our 5th time there and we are never disappointed. Peaceful, clean, well run with great staff, and right on the beach. Their chef does an excellent job of preparing breakfast between 7 and 10am. And you have the ocean for a backdrop just steps away. Most of their staff have been there forever, so that says something about the management right there. If you think the cost is high, then remember a great breakfast is included, they have beach chairs and umbrellas, and if you just want to relax in the sun all day on an uncrowded beach this is all you need. We go for dinner at some great restaurants just 5 minutes away, but the rest of the time we relax right there.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the ocean is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    58
    9
    12
    0
See reviews for
49
349
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our stay at the Harrington house was very nice. clean, comfortable and quiet. The beaches are beautiful clean and minimally busy. If you are looking for a low key truely relaxing time to get away
I would not hesitate to recommend or stay again at the Harrington house

Room Tip: There is not a bad seat in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presto, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

First time on Anna Marie Island and The Harrington House was the perfect place to stay at. We roomed at the Huth house, which is located a few minutes walk up the beach from the main house. Clean room, huge shower and jacuzzi tub, and nice patio with beach access and beautiful sunset view!
The breakfast every morning was fantastic and the staff was outstanding. The only complaint we had was that the bicycles they have for use there are in pretty bad shape and could use a little maintenance.
We hope to go back to celebrate many anniversaries!

Room Tip: Huth House is great if you want a little privacy from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarringtonHouseFL, Manager at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Harrington House. Thank you for bringing to our attention the condition of the bicycles -- it doesn't take long for the sea air to have its impact on anything metal. We are keeping a better eye on them and will be replacing the worn out ones soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Harrington House B&B was highly recommended by a friend who visits regularly, and we visited in mid-May for a weekend. It was wonderful. Very peaceful, quiet and tranquil. The beachfront is gorgeous and kept immaculate, the grounds are very nicely landscaped and well-maintained, and the breakfast meals were gourmet and delicious. We stayed in the "Cottage", a separate building from the main house, and is highly recommended. We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Property serenely set on a quiet end of Holmes beach. Vast expanse of beach with little or no crowds. Grounds are lovely and well maintained. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the chef prepared breakfasts are superb. (LOVED the oatmeal bread!). Rooms were comfortable, quiet, very clean, had nice beds and linens, and even included flashlights for the beach at night. We stayed in Dodt #1, and our only concern was the size of the bathroom. For 3 days, it was fine, but for longer, we would have wanted a larger bathroom. It was, in a word, tiny. Would definitely return to this property; all else was wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been coming to Anna Maria Island for a number of years, most often renting a house for a week. This trip however was a much shorter stay, so we decided to look into hotels and B&B's. We were so pleasantly surprised by the Harrington House. It was a great mix of "small hotel and B&B". We were greeted warmly by the staff and our room (Birdsong) was perfect - with a large deck overlooking the gulf and endless views of the beach and water. Breakfast was delicious. They have bicycles, kayaks and beach chairs available free of charge to all guests - a nice touch. Enjoy this little enclave - it is a great place to call home for a few nights.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend spending a little more for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in the Dodt #2 on the beach. Location was wonderful walked out of our door straight onto the white sand.
The accommodation was a little tired for my taste but this is covered by the " old Florida look " everything you need is catered for however.
I felt a little uncomfortable with the staff ( too snobby for my liking ) and did not enjoy breakfast ( admittedly being British all I really wanted was a proper cup of tea and bacon with eggs!). With very few tables to tend we still had to wait and ask for things which is a no,no in my book. There did seem to be regulars there and much attention was on those, so maybe just timing.
Could do with upgrading loungers and broken umbrellas.
Liked the cookies though nice touch.
For $780 for 2 nights at off peak just expected a little better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarringtonHouseFL, Manager at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Harrington House. We noticed you stayed last year and since that time we have updated a few things in Dodt 2 -- although it still does have that "Old Florida" feel as the beach cottage was built in the 1920s. We have one and two bedroom Bungalows that much newer and renovated with a more modern feel. We have talked to all our staff about your comments regarding breakfast and promise to do our best with all our guests and to make sure we let everyone know that if they would like to order something other than the special of the day -- they are welcome to do so. We hope you will return again to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5626 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.