We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
5626 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 to $50 off room rates
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We recently spent two days on Anna Maria Island at the Harrington House B&B with friends. Great locale, great food and friendly and attentive staff. We can't say enough good things about our experience. My husband needed medical attention late at night and our hosts, Jo and Frank Davis arrived within minutes to assist. As it happened, it was nothing serious; however, without their resourcefulness and attention, it would have been a very long and stressful night for us, rather than a quick trip to the local ambulance services for a check up that had us back in our room within an hour. We were pleased to be the first guests in the newly built Bungaloo 4 Unit - comfortable and cosy. We'll certainly stay there if we are in that area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    59
    11
    12
    0
See reviews for
51
360
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A group of college friends and I recently spent a reunion weekend at Harrington House and loved our time there! We stayed in Dodt House # 2 and I found the room to be comfortable and cozy. By far, its biggest appeal is its location ... just steps from that gorgeous beach! If you are looking for new, high-end furnishings, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a place where you can relax and reconnect, you will love the Harrington House. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the breakfasts were lovely. As a Florida native, I appreciated its old Florida charm ... and will look forward to returning there someday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarringtonHouseFL, Owner at Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Harrington House. We wanted to add that for others reading this review -- we have a variety of accommodations from the Dodt House (1920's style cottage) to recently renovated B&B rooms in the Main House (with contemporary furnishings) to luxury Gulf Front three bedroom and three bath villas for families. Please take a look at the photos on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week at Harrington House in Holmes Beach on Anna Maria Island. We stayed in Carriage 4 and had a wonderful stay. Most days (February) were just about perfect, in the mid to upper 70's or low 80's, and sunny.

Everything about our experience either met or exceeded our expectations. Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable, quiet and only steps from the beach. Harrington House has a plentiful supply of lounge chairs out near the beach, right on the water and even provides daily beach towels for your convenience.

The staff at Harrington House is absolutely first rate and they do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast was a highlight of every day followed closely by our usual short walk to our favorite beach chairs on the Gulf. The personal interaction every morning with the owners and staff as well as other guests was very special and something you don't experience at most resorts.

Upon checkout, we immediately booked a week for next year and are already looking forward to our return visit. Thanks again to everyone at Harrington House for making our week so memorable !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are feeling stressed out, Harrington House has the antidote. The staff are friendly and took the time to give us their recommendations for restaurants and shopping. Breakfast by the pool facing the beach was varied and delicious. After breakfast we would take a walk on the beach, then go explore the island. The island has a laid back feel, with all locally owned restaurants and stores. We had great food almost every place we went. Sarasota is a short, picturesque drive away. After dinner we usually grabbed a couple of beach chairs and watched the sun set on the Gulf.

We visited in "off season" but were lucky to have perfect weather the entire week. As a result we practically had the beach all to ourselves. The room was "cozy" but clean and attractive; besides, other than sleeping we didn't spend a lot of time there. It had its own fridge, wine glasses and opener, and there was a kitchen with dishes down the hall in the common area. This is not "economy" lodging but still a good value. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The "garden view" rooms cost significantly less than the beach side rooms. We didn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Harrington House is a great retreat as well as a wonderful base from which to explore the delightful and laid back barrier island of Anna Maria and further south, Long Boat Key and Sarasota. It was our third visit to Anna Maria, but our first to Harrington House. We had identified it as a place we wanted to stay on two previous visits, and was a "bookend" to our trip out of Tampa to the Western Caribbean. Charming walkways and lush greenery form the entryway to this bed and breakfast on the Gulf of Mexico. It's a spectacular location tucked away on a corner of Holmes Beach. A beautiful pool and patio have direct access to the expansive beach. Our room (Garden Room) was on the first floor, and although it was not on the Gulf side, it had a lovely and intimate patio which we surely would have enjoyed had the weather cooperated. (We were here during a cold snap -- not exactly sitting out weather). It was spacious and the additiion of a mini-fridge was a nice ammenity.. We did think the room needed a little cosmetic attention, and the bathroom was a little cramped, but overall it was fine.

Breakfast was served in a cheerrful porch room overlooking the patio. Tables were set with placemats and napkins in bright Florida colors. Skip opted for delicious cheese blintzes with a berry sauce, while I opted for eggs which were served with a side of fresh fruit and oatmeal toast that was out of this world. The lovely ladies and innkeeper serving breakfast were attentive, gracious, and helpful without being instrusive.

We will surely recommend Harrington House to friends and fellow travellers. It's a lovely accommodation with wonderful access for exploration of the Gulf Coast, and a welome retreat for those who just want to soak in the sun and warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico.

Skip and Jennie
Innkeepers
Mill Street Inn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent a lovely but chilly weekend here. Everything was done to make this a special time. From the spacious room, to the delicious breakfast, every need was met with friendly help and smiles. We look forward to returning in warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a fabulous experience at the Harrington House. Slept steps away from the beach and was served a delicious breakfast each day. Service with a smile from everyone we came across. A lot of pride is taken in the house and it shows. Life is good at the Harrington House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5626 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.