We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time is a Charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages to your Saves list
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Montello, Wisconsin
1 review
“Third Time is a Charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was our third visit to Cedar Cove and it still thrills like it was our first visit. We rented the Mermaid Suite this time because it had a second bathroom since we are now bringing our ever expanding family with us. We loved the spaciousness of the rooms and deck. Cedar Cove has always felt like home away from home. The location is perfect. It is in the middle of the island near any amenity you could ever want or need. The beach at Cedar Cove is the best spot for watching dolphins and sunsets - both at the same time! The staff is helpful without being bothersome. We have stayed in both the Mermaid and Sunset suites and have had family in the Starfish. All have been clean and custom decorated by local artisans. Having coin-op laundry on the premises is very convenient and we love the tiki hut grilling area!

Room Tip: We have always chosen a gulf view suite. A great way to wake up in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    86
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
188
329
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

As soon as you check in at this little gem your stress level goes down to zero. We stayed in the upstairs room called the Starfish and although small it was spotless and had beautiful, fresh, crisp, linens and the beds were so comfy. It was the only room left for our last minute trip and worked out fine for us. Next trip I would definitely want to stay in one of the suites as they looked so inviting. The "bang for the buck" here is the grounds and the beach, not being a lover of the sun, there are plenty of places to chill out and enjoy the view without getting burned. We loved the tiki hut, had our picnic lunch there and enjoyed the hammocks, swings and loungers. There is no pool but who needs it when you have the Gulf of Mexico in your back yard. Eric was our host and could not have been more pleasant, he is very proud of his property and what's not to be proud of, it's paradise here.

Room Tip: Suites are your best bet here, some with beautiful views and spacious patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The resort was located on the beach and it had its own tiki, bbq area, hamics, and the view of the beautiful beach. The staff was incredible. The food at the restaurants on anna maria island were suprisingly not good. We expected much more. The breakfast was excellent at the beach cafe off of anna maria beach. I would definately return and stay at Cedar Cove.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This quaint cozy resort has so many amenities that the large resorts do not offer. Barbecue area with grills, available shower in case you want to continue your stay after you check out. Enjoy their pristine tropical beach complete with hammocks, tiki huts. Each room is unique with a tranquil beach theme. Clean rooms, clean towels, sheets and the most comfortable beds and tropical bedding and Free coffee. Can't wait to return to gain my sanity.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I returned for our second visit to Cedar Cove - we booked 3 rooms for we traveled with our family. All we can stay is "FANTASTIC" - the accommodations were again very clean and decorated very nicely. One of the rooms, the Sand Dollar, was newly redecorated. The others were also very nice.
This is a great place for sharing a vacation with your family and friends. It was wonderful that we had all the amenities that included the ability to cook and eat meals under the Tiki Hut. Beach time was fun with a lovely beachfront.
One of the managers even arranged a family photo shoot to record our favorite moments.
We highly recommend this property and will return next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

There are two different kinds of accommodations at Cedar Cove and we stayed in both. An old Florida type building where we had a unit with 2 bedrooms (one without a window), 2 bathrooms, large living room and terrific huge deck with table and chairs and a view of the beach and palm trees. Window air conditioners; windows that could hardly be opened. Funky, run down, fun in April...I don't think you'd tolerate it after April. A newer building of 3 stories with semi-modern units; 1 bedroom; 1 bath; living room; tiny balcony; air conditioned; totally motel-like.
It needs to be understood that these are units like the cabins grandma used to rent at the lake 50 years ago. No maid service except when someone leaves. Extremely friendly front office folks but there's a limit to what they can do for you.
The beach is gorgeous; people nice; plenty of places to eat on Anna Maria Island or in Cortez; trolley is great otherwise you need a car. Funky and we enjoyed it but we're easy. I couldn't recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrInnkeeper, Manager at Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We thank this person for there review. In regard to his review we have 3 different types of accommodations. Suites with opulent panoramic views of the Gulf, Florida style reminiscent suites, and Key West style Cottages. This gentleman choose a 2 bedroom
2 bath unit which we categorized as a Florida style suite. Many of our guests and we repeatedly hear this are sick of going to hi rise hotels. They want something different which is near and dear to there heart, something they remember from there past. We offer that and many of our guests want that and demand that. As well as opulent beach front suites. Many of our native Islands and beachfront properties have been taken over by large developers erecting 30 story to 50 story sky scrapers and you cant even walk the beach because its there private property.

This man is used to staying at 5 star R__z and H_____t ype places in Montreal, Wailuku Hawaii, Seattle, Agra India, Beverley Hills, and many more. We are not those places nor do we want to be. Our guests demand exceptionally clean rooms, great pricing, and a beautiful beach and that is what we have.

We have won the best Resort and Hotel award on this Island for the last 6 years in a row and last year we won the best beach award in the County. We have also won the Heralded Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor.

We take issue with this guests glasses, because there is a window in each of the bedrooms of the suite he was in, I am not sure what he was thinking when he wrote that. We have many guests from all over the South east that stay with us after April, that demand this room as well as our many other rooms.

We inform our guests on check the following, “If there is anything you need to make your stay more enjoyable please ask us it’s our job to make sure you have a nice peaceful relaxing time“ all of our front desk people say this. If this guest had said he didn’t like his room “Our extremely friendly front desk office folks” would have been glad to move him to a more opulent suite which would have been more his style and liking.

In reviewing this Reviewer, he wrote a total of 114 reviews with the possibility if he rated them all at 5 stars each it would total 570 stars. We found that the total stars on average he gave out was only 423. Or he is just satisfied 74% of the time know matter where he eats, stays, or visits…hummm…So overall everyone gets a “C Grade” I guess the old adage “you just can’t please everyone and in this Gentleman’s opinion he’s right”

In regard to the suite he refers to as “totally motel-like” we invite you to please go and visit our website and look at our Sand Dollar Ste, its gorgeous and very modern with the latest amenities that any of the finest Resorts have to offer.


Eric the Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for the last 2 nights of our vacation and just happened to find this while walking down the beach. It's has a cute little area for picnicking on the beach side of the hotel with hammocks, and lots of beach chairs that you can easily drag down to the water. It's near a gorgeous stretch of beach that wasn't too busy. We stayed in the 'Mimosa' room, a ground floor studio which is just across a busy road from the main hotel but was super convenient and accessible (I hate lugging baggage so I didn't mind the proximity to the road/parking). It's a very simple room that made us happy with a nice little kitchenette, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, 2 recliners and a TV. The service was fantastic and on our last day after we checked out we stayed on the beach for a few hours and were given access to a bathroom and clean towels for showers. That particular room was a little loud due to the road and the AC which really blasts (and we couldn't reduce the setting) so if you're noise sensitive I'd stay in a different room. On the whole we were very pleased and definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Address: 2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort located in the heart of your island paradise. Penthouses, gulf view suites, Key West style cottages and your own private sugar white sandy beach. Sip wine and the watch beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Hotel Holmes Beach
Cedar Cove Resort And Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.