We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Holmes Beach
Riverview, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is our second stay at Cedar Cove. It is a charming place right on the beach. The resort is clean and the staff are amazing. They have plenty of beach chairs and beach toys for the kids. The first time we stayed, I forgot my sunscreen and they had a bottle for me to borrow for the weekend. We had such a wonderful time. Our 9 year old has requested that we come back for his birthday and was so sad to go home, as was I!

Room Tip: the sand dollar room is nice and spacious. It has carpeting in the living room and bedroom which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    78
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
176
299
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Sunset Suite with 4 adults and one child for two nights. While the room is VERY small it had everything we needed. We spent most of the time outdoors anyway as the covered porch area right outside our door was bigger than the room. We just wish there were some floor fans out there as it gets really hot and muggy. The tiki huts are also nice and there is a good breeze out there. We enjoyed using the grills and hammocks! No need to bring lots of sand toys if you don't have the room because they have tons. Floats, pool noodles, snorkels, etc. The management was so very nice. Told us everything we needed to know about the area and gave us suggestions on things to do.

I will say the bed we slept in was not the worst I've slept on but not good either. There is also no A/C in the bedrooms, just a window unit in the living room. There was a fan in one of the bedrooms but not the other. Also, there are skylights right above the beds. Not a good thing if you are trying to sleep in.

The beach area is just perfect. It's quiet and not that many people around so you can pretty much do what you want. It's very clean except for the seaweed and just very pretty overall. More than enough beach lounge chairs as well as nice plastic upright chairs as well. Two hammocks that lay right beside each other...almost on top of each other.

I would return here again. It's no resort or 5 star property but overall very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wis
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have to share something with everyone again, even thought the owner seemed very attentive, and I can only hope they have bought new mattresses. We first stayed here two years age. I paid WAY TOO much for what I was charged in November. I hate to share my secret, but, it pretty slow in November, I've learned to deal with people on places to stay. I will never pay 225.00 for the Sand Dollar one bedroom again. It was old and again the bed was horrible. Look around and counter offer the rate at that time. The only thing I thought was cool about this place is the location and the simple, plain tiki hut...it's not a bar or anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We regularly vacation in the area, but never stayed on Anna Maria Island. For this vacation, to save time driving around (since we always eat and beach on AMI anyways), we decided to find somewhere beachfront to stay.
Overall we loved Cedar Cove, would return, and would recommend it. But here's some things you need to know.

It's located directly on a private beach, with tons of loungers, Muskoka chairs, hammocks, 2 tiki bars (really just beach huts to eat or drink under), and a big container filled with beach essentials - floating devices, shovels, pails, etc. They also provide beach towels. It was lovely to just grab a bottle of water and a book, and not worry about carrying any other beach supplies. There was never even close to a shortage of chairs, and even at full capacity on the weekend, the beach area was never crowded.

The location was great, it is almost central (but to the south) so nothing feels too far away. It is literally a 2 minute drive to Publix, and all restaurants are a close drive, you can even walk to some.

The management was just as friendly as everyone else has described and you really feel the effort they make to ensure you have a great stay.

We dined at The Sandbar (highly recommend for both food and beachfront location), Rod n Reel Pier (excellent seafood, great experience being on a shack on a pier, good prices), The Beachhouse (save your $ on food and just go for a drink or appetizer...food is nothing special but the location can't be beat), and Fire and Stone Pizza which is just off the island on Cortez, it's an unbelievable pizza buffet for $7.99 a person with homemade, stone oven pizza. I hate buffets but love this place. Also included in that price is soup/salad bar and a sundae for dessert.

There are several small cottages on the property and across the street. The best way to describe it is "tiered". The 1st tier are the 4 suites directly on the beach with a clear, beautiful, unobstructed view of the beach. The 2nd tier are the cottages that sit about 25 behind the beach, there are maybe 6 of them between 2 buildings. The 3rd tier are the cottages across the street. Just a 2 lane road, but quite busy. Still no more than 75 feet from the beach though. The "tiers" are priced accordingly.

Due to a combination of price and availability, we ended up in one of the cottages across the street. The only disadvantages with this are #1 the street, and #2 the balcony. We always had to wait for a gap in cars to cross the street...not a huge deal, but just being upfront about things. If you want a quiet balcony for a morning coffee or late night drink, then these cottages are not right for you as the balconies are in the parking lot, which is practically the road. We will select the suites in "tier 2" when we return, but would still stay across the street if that's all that was available.

The property is like the rest of the island - kitchy/old Florida. Everything is old but clean, at first glance may look run down but isn't. They truly go the extra mile to make it feel like a tropical paradise.

**we travelled with our 2 year old**

Room Tip: Stay on the west side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is our 4th visit. We decided to fly down for the 4th of July. We can't stay enough about this place. Our room as always, was spotless. Even though it rained on and off, we had a wonderful stay. It was great for instead of having to drive park and walk a mile,we were able to see the fireworks from the Cedar Cove beach. The staff is great, always willing to help! We already booked our trip for next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I stayed for two nights. We had a room connected to the front office. It was filled with Mosquitos and had a sky light right over the beds. When we complained, instead of moving rooms, they put a bug zapper in the room and covered the light with a garbage bag.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent 3 days here after 11 days in Orlando for a family holiday. Having always holidayed in Orlando doing the Disney-Universal thing we hardly ever had any beach time, aside from hour long journeys to and from beaches - which inevitably meant sitting in sand soaked clothes, making the whole event less enjoyable - so being a literal 30 second walk from the sand and sea was perfect. Our suite was the mermaid suite, a perfectly quaint little cottage with the prettiest kitchen imaginable. Eric was the member of staff who looked after us, what a lovely man and a lovely establishment.

Room Tip: Our upstair suite shared a deck with the adjoining suite - but nobody was staying next door so prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Address: 2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort located in the heart of your island paradise. Penthouses, gulf view suites, Key West style cottages and your own private sugar white sandy beach. Sip wine and the watch beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Hotel Holmes Beach
Cedar Cove Resort And Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.