We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some fixing up.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages to your Saves list
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Hughesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Could use some fixing up.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beach was nice. Beach chairs were provided. Stayed in cottage across the street from beach-short walk. Broken floor tiles, moldings, etc need to be replaced. Pricey for what you get. TV is located over refrigerator which was odd.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    84
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
184
319
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medway, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from a very fun, relaxing week at Cedar Cove. Last time stayed in the Key Lime Cottage which was great (there were 4 of us). This time my husband and I stayed in Bamboo Suite which was perfect for us. Beautiful water views, great deck with comfy lounge chairs, very clean and comfortable inside. The private beach is beautiful, plenty of lounge chairs, tiki huts, entertainment, great accomodating staff. Just booked Bamboo Suite for two weeks next year - - Can't Wait!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We enjoyed the beach and the service at this little resort but it was definitely not what we expected. Everyone was extremely helpful with reservations, check-in, questions, etc. However, we stayed in the Sunflower Cottage and found it wanting. Much smaller than we expected for the price, even with two of us we found it a little cramped. The comforter was old and stained, and could definitely use replacement. Parking is limited and backing out into the street was definitely difficult.

We had never stayed in the area before and took a chance upon a local recommendation and tripadvisor reviews. Not sure if we would stay here again, it may have been a different story with the suites but we wouldn't stay in the cottages again.

Again, everyone connected was extremely service-oriented, which we appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont oh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I just stayed there. We had stayed there last year. What is nice about Cedar Cove is the hamocks by the beach, the beach chairs, the 2 Tiki Huts ocean front. On Tuesdays the resort provides entertainment-a singer/guitar player. What is not nice about this place is, if you are across the street, crossing Gulf Drive on foot to get to the beach, the cottage we stayed at could of been cleaner-mold on shower curtain, hot tub-could only use it during the day would of been nice at night. A little noisy with the traffic of Gulf Drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at Cedar Cove Resort and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Flamingo which is an adorable little cottage. It had everything we needed; fully equipped kitchen, small living room/dining area, bedroom and bath and spacious deck. You can see the ocean when standing at the French doors or standing on the deck. The grounds are beautifully maintained and there's a BBQ area as well as covered tiki hut areas to hang out or of course the beautiful beach with comfortable lounge chairs or adirondack chairs. They also have beach towels and coolers to use while you're there. We had a nice, quiet, relaxing stay in a very clean room and resort. You can easily catch the free trolley nearby to head out for shopping or restaurants. There's also a couple places nearby within walking distance. We loved Anna Maria Island too-very quaint and laid back and so glad that we chose Cedar Cove.

Room Tip: We probably should have chosen one of the ocean front rooms so if that's important to you, pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I knew from the reviews I looked at this would be a cool place but it exceeded my expectations and it was love at first sight. Located on a terrific public beach, they have their own private beach immediately out front with two Tiki huts, one with great beach type music playing softly all day and the other for groups or to eat in the shade. They have an abundance of lounge and regular beach chairs, small tables and they encourage you to move them around to suit your needs Also several hammocks which we made good use of and two charming swing chairs that seat at least two. At night there are colored lights in the tiki hut and white lights spiraling up two tall palms adding to the charm and funkiness of the place. It is very kid family friendly, lots of toys to play with. As for the rooms please pay attention to this: they have a wide variety of rooms and styles differing in price, ambiance and feel. Some have balconies and direct gulf views, many do not. Cottages are actually across the street from the main place so you have to dodge traffic to get to the beach. Each one however has its own name, charm and decorating personality and if you are like me, the room can make or break your stay. Again they are all serving different needs so take a good look at the descriptions on the webpage and ask questions of the staff before you book. Talk to Jeff the manager who is honest and totally caring about your satisfaction to figure out which will work best for you if available. We stayed in the Starfish room which was comfy and clean and fun, also quiet but next time we'll try another just because. Not only is this a great laid back place to relax and have fun, I was struck by the lack of rules, they want you to enjoy and have fun and they encourage you to do that without a lot of "Don't and No" signs which drive me nuts! This place just has a special feel and vibe to it that totally lends itself to beach relaxation. One night they served up beer and munchies on the beach and had a live guitarist playing which was a blast. In the office there are testimonials from the likes of James Taylor, Fabio and I was told Bill Murray also was a guest. No wonder!! The staff was terrific. It has been years since I was last at Anna Maria Island, it is amazingly casual and beautiful with zoning keeping out all the high rises and over development. Lots of great food, shopping and beaches in a community like feel not a touristy overload. We will return again for sure and I can easily recommend you to experience for yourself the charm of Cedar Cove and the whole island. I suspect you will have to book well in advance so check on it earlier than later to be sure.

Room Tip: Per above research the wide variety of rooms and choose the right feel and size for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Cedar Cove Resort is a well ran Resort with a wonderful staff. First rate clean room we were there two years ago and almost doubled our time there this year. Property right on the most beutiful beach I have seen in Florida. Many beach chairs which are free. We had a great time watching the pelicans, cormorants, and fish. Centrally located, short walk to restaurants, very easy to find and ample parking very close to our room. Very quiet at night, considering the Resort was fully occupied.

We will be back next year!

Eric keep up the great work your service is to be commended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Address: 2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort located in the heart of your island paradise. Penthouses, gulf view suites, Key West style cottages and your own private sugar white sandy beach. Sip wine and the watch beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Resort And Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Hotel Holmes Beach
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.