We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint rooms in private setting with pleasant Hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
1 review
“Quaint rooms in private setting with pleasant Hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Located on the beach, rooms have all ammenities needed for stay, including kitchenette. Quiet setting and friendly accomodating Hosts. Located centrally to all points of interest....only an hour to clearwater and from Tampa airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    81
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
179
308
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

There are lots of excellent reviews for this place, but I give it just average because it is what it is: a low-key beach cottage. Our cottage was right off the road, which was noisy even at night, and although it had everything we needed, it definitely wasn't luxury. The amenities were dated, the shower was cramped, the tile floor looked clean, but left our feet dirty after walking on it barefoot.
That being said, the private beach is great and the managers are laid back and friendly. There's a stockpile of leftovers from previous guests -- from books to disposable coolers to beach toys -- which is nice.

Room Tip: Get a cottage away from the road to help with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Cedar Cove was a real find. We had originally booked several nights there in October and extended a night as we liked it so much. I would totally recommend to anyone who is looking for a real beachside holiday to check in.

My best friend was over from Europe and I wanted to be sure to find a good place in the Sarasota area. Cedar Cove delivered. Jeff and Eric did a great job of making us feel really at home and Jeff took care of transferring our bags and helped us move when we stayed on. Both rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable and well equipped.

The grounds are well kept and very tropical.

We like to cook so we had a lot of fun staying in and enjoying our favorite goodies. It is stone crab season and Jeff recommended the Star Fishing Company at Cortez fishing village and the crab was the best I have ever had. Fresh as they have their own boats. Another huge hit! Go early they sell out fast.

One other complete surprise was the gorgeous beach. I used to frequent the Longboat Key beach a lot and the one at Siesta Key. But the stretch of Holmes Beach where they are located is fabulous. You get the sugar fine sand of Siesta Key with the depth of Longboat and the water was completely crystal clear aquamarine. And it is private so there was never a crowd!

Not only are you getting a great hotel but the beach is superlative. I wouldn't take a plane and go to anywhere after seeing the beaches in this stretch of Florida. And it is long so you can enjoy all the walks and sunsets you desire. There are even restaurants up the beach that you can walk to.

So we concluded that we found everything we were looking for great hotel, fabulous beach, and our favorite seafood.

We will definitely be back as soon as the calendar allows.

I am giving Cedar Cove the gold medal!

Room Tip: Each room is individual, even if you stay across the street it is easy to get to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in the Sand Dollar suite over a long weekend. Jeff was super nice and helpful during check-in. Provided us beach towels and made sure everything was to our liking once we got to our room. And we loved having a reserved parking spot! The view was superb. We had some noisy upstairs "neighbors" who must have had insomnia because they stomped all through their suite all night, but that is certainly no fault of the managers or owners.The weather was perfect, which allowed us to open our bedroom window at night and listen to the crashing waves. What a treat! The live beach webcam also allowed our friends and family back home to see us say "hi."

Everything in the room was very clean and the furniture had been recently updated. We had a king sofa in the bedroom with memory foam mattress -- so comfortable, a pullout sofa sleeper in the living room, and a recliner in the living room also. The TVs in the living and bed rooms were dated and the remotes didn't work very well, but we didn't spend that much time watching TV anyway.

Resort is really close to the N and S trolley stops. This is another great way to get around the island and it's free.

If you are able to, definitely stay in one of the four gulf-view rooms.

Thanks Jeff & Eric for an awesome vacation!

Room Tip: They have rooms that are across the street, but crossing Gulf Dr. can be a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The natural environment of Anna Maria Island is exceptional, and the Cedar Cove Resort is right in the middle of it. After staying at High Rise Hotels with crowded, sterile beaches, our stay at Cedar cove was an exceptional experience of seeing Dolphins, Sea Rays, Pelicans, Sand Dollars, and a wide variety of shore birds.
The resort sits in the midst of a natural setting of beach grass and unspoiled nature. The locals are more dedicated to the Sea Turtles that lay their eggs on the beach than building big hotels for tourists
Any thing you need is available from Eric and Jeff. Their goal was for us to have a perfect beach vacation.
They were never intrusive, yet, when we needed them they had all the answers and were very happy to give suggestions for the local area. All suggestions proved to be perfect. The paper book/magazine library, coolers, beach and water toys that are available help make for a relaxing day at the beach.
The suites are simple and casual, but, not lacking in cleanliness and refinement.
Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the waves gently crashing on the beach was a wonderful experience.
We will return, but we are afraid Cedar Cove soon won't be a secret anymore and will be fully booked all the time.
Bob & Bonnie F.

Room Tip: Suites on the beach are just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We keep coming back to this totally charming place because hosts Jeff and Eric spoil everyone rotten in a gorgeous, unspoiled location. Each year we cant believe that we have an even better time! Everything you need to immerse yourself in an authentic beach vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Why beat your brains and wallet out flying to Bermuda or Hawaii? Just returned from Cedar Cove on Florida. Air-83, water- 82. Direct flight from Boston during most hours. Skip the Customs hassle. Skip the brutal prices the airlines suck out of your budget. 14 miles of beach on 1 island. Soft sand. No rocks. 100 feet for your blanket as opposed to 100 inches. Level ground to ride your bike. No tourist hassles. Island mostly single family homes owned by older adults that skip the beaches and the roads. Pefect if you have kids. Shallow allows them to roam safely. Light traffic to keep the little weasels safer. The Chief

Room Tip: Check out toom design online
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages

Address: 2710 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort located in the heart of your island paradise. Penthouses, gulf view suites, Key West style cottages and your own private sugar white sandy beach. Sip wine and the watch beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Cove Resort And Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Hotel Holmes Beach
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;