We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Nautilus Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Nautilus Condominiums
Save
You added The Nautilus Condominiums to your Saves list
7100 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Anna Maria is a beautiful place and I have been staying at the Nautilus for over 30 years. I have always had a positive experience, so I was astounded at the condition of Unit 107. Beware! The picture on the Internet looked nice, but you could not tell that it needed painting, had a missing closet door, missing knobs on cabinets and dressers, no stoppers in the bathroom sinks, and I could go on. We did not let this ruin our trip, but I will never rent something without seeing it in person first. Also, I'm sure the manager would be able to tell you which units are nice and which ones are not so nice and I wish I had called Fritz and talked to him rather than renting via the Internet.

Room Tip: Call the manager or look at the unit in person before booking and you might want to stay on the 2nd...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smalltown, WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had such a great vacation and would highly recommend staying at The Nautilus. Fritz the manager is awesome, you are right on the beach, the pictures of the rooms don't do them justice. They are very big and roomy, with everything you need for your stay. Anna Maria Island is the best spot, we will definitely be staying at The Nautilus again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

For the past 10 years we have spent 1 month each winter at The Nautilus Condominiums in Holmes Beach, Florida. We absolutely love the complex and have even returned in the summer months with family and friends. There are about 30 units which are rented out when the owners are not using them and we've probably stayed in 5 or 6 different ones and they are nicely decorated and well kept. The complex sits right on the Gulf of Mexico and is very laid back and beautifully landscaped. Most of the friends we have made at The Nautilus have been return guests for many years. In the summer there are many families there who are having a great time. There is a full time manager who lives on the premises who has been there for over 25 years and if very helpful for whatever you need. This year they put in a new reservation system which allows you to go on line and see photos and availability of all the condos for rent and allows you to book your stay immediately, this is a good thing as during prime time the condos fill up very fast. What we like the most about The Nautilus is they are always making improvements, last year they resurfaced the tennis courts, put in WIFI and painted the entire complex. Each condo we stay in seems to always have something new. The rates are also reasonable compared to other similar condominium complexes on the Island. Very few offer the location and tranquility that this place has. We have looked at other condos on the Island but found nothing similar to The Nautilus, which we refer to it as our "second home". The only negative thing we can think of is having to pack up and drive home at the end of our stay. Last year we visited in the fall and found the weather to be just right and the Island and restaurants weren't very crowded. Plus the rates are reduced. If you can get away during this time, you'll find if very relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: Look at the condominiums on line there are photos of each. All of them are steps from the beach. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The three of us childhood friends decided to take a vacation to celebrate our milestone birthday this year. When I called the Nautilus Condos and spoke to Fritz, I knew this was the perfect place for us. We needed a place for less than one week, ocean front with two bedrooms and two baths and a place to just chill out, share a few laughs and enjoy the view. The 12 units facing the gulf are wonderful. The views from the patio of the beach, water and sunset are amazing. Most days dolphins swam by, the sand was soft but lots of shells to pick from and the beach/water were only steps away from our room. Couldn't have asked for a better location. Fritz is VERY easy to work with and upon arrival he gave us a quick rundown of the few rules and supplied us with a few extra minor items we needed for the 5 days we were staying. He also gave us tips on things to do on the island and directions to nearby restaurants. The condo was roomy, very comfortable with a great view from the master bedroom & living room. The unit we were in was nearly "perfect"; except for a few large stains on the carpet that really need addressed. Regardless of this minor issue, it would not deter us from returning. The bathroom in our unit off of the master bedroom was very large with a separate area that included a long vanity with stool and mirrors all around and another small separate room that contained the shower and toilet. The second bedroom had twin beds and they shared a bathroom with shower/tub. This condominium is located on a perfect stretch of Holmes Beach and we were able to walk to a small shop each morning for lattes and to the Sandbar Restaurant for cocktails on the outside deck or indoor dining - nice! The free trolley has two stops close by, there is ample parking for one vehicle per unit plus additional parking on the side street. This condo is located in a residential area with low rise buildings and no franchises keeping the atmosphere as it was meant to be. :) Thank you Fritz...keep up the good work and your renters will return again and again.

Room Tip: If you want to be able to walk straight off of your porch/balcony, choose the bottom level. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I love the Nautilus condos and the laid-back, efficient handling of reservations and details by the manager of the Nautilus - Fritz. He's easy to work with and is always willing to help. We plan on returning for the 6th time next year.

Room Tip: ask Fritz or refer to website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This place was just what we were needing! It was incredibly close to the beach and every night we sat on our patio to watch the sunset. The rooms were very clean and spacious and comfortable. Fritz, the manager, attended to all our needs and was easy to get a hold of and pleasant to deal with. The tennis courts were great and the pool was relaxing and perfect water temperature. We frequently saw dolphins and sting rays and found a lot of nice shells. Parking was easy and the whole complex was very quiet. The grocery store was a quick drive down the street and the whole island was easy to get around and felt very homey.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

My husband and 2 children just returned from a wonderful stay at the Nautilus condo's! We were so pleasantly surprised at the comfortable and clean accomodations, nicely kept pool and grounds, and the amazing ocean views! We enjoyed an incredible ocean view from our condo on the second floor (perfect for small kids that you want to prevent from running out onto the beach). The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom was plenty of space for our family of 4. The condo featured a wonderful beach area, that was very quiet and peaceful. And the island itself has plenty to do and see, with access to a free trolley that can transport you around the entire island in about 1 hour. Our family will most definately return to Anna Maria Island, and we cannot imagine staying ANYWHERE but the Nautilus! Thanks to Fritz (management) for your hospitality!

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Not much!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nautilus Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus Condominiums

Address: 7100 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Holmes Beach
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Condominiums Hotel Holmes Beach
The Nautilus Condominiums Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nautilus Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.