We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront and Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Beach Club
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Club to your Saves list
6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Colchester, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beachfront and Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This beachfront hotel has it all. Customer service is wonderful, the hotel has personality- caring touches everywhere. Our room had a balcony overlooking the Gulf, kitchen, sitting area - separate bedroom. There was a beautiful pool, shuffleboard court, and of course the best part- the beautiful beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Beachywriter,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. My team and I are thrilled to hear, that you had a good time at the Blue Water Beach Club and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're ready for a trip to paradise but need to stay i=on a budget, this is the place for you. Most of the rooms come with either a balcony or patio. The pool, is clean and heated. Just steps from the pool is the wonderful beach. Chairs are available, all well as umbrellas and boogie boards. The room we had was clean and an extra large studio.

The staff were very personable and knowledgeable of the area.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony or patio, so ask first. Also, there is no elevator so keep that in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Shelia L,

Thank you for your review and your detailed description of our property. I am very happy to hear that you had a good time here and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent the week on Anna Maria Island, which is a totally fun, beautiful place. The Blue Water is an older hotel, right on the water. Beautiful views from every room. Location of the hotel is perfect. The hotel itself is small, two stories (no elevator), 27 rooms. The rooms range from just bedrooms to studios and to apartments with full kitchens. Good family value to be able to cook in your room. The grounds and pool are very well maintained, and they offer beach chairs and lounges to carry out onto the sand. There is no restaurant (not even a soda machine!), they do have coffee and fresh oranges in the lobby in the a.m. Staff is friendly, and helpful. On the down side, I have to say was not very impressed with the cleaning of our room. All tile floor throughout which was great, but I do not believe it was ever swept or mopped the entire week. Had breakfast in our room a couple days and most of the time did our own dishes. If we did happen to leave a couple of dirty cups in the sink, they were not touched.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor so if you've trouble navigating the stairs, stay on the first. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Etta B,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the well maintained grounds and the beach loungers during your recent vacation.
While our daily housekeeping service does include a towel change, floor cleaning and the re-stocking of supplies, our housekeepers do not take care of the guests dishes.
Thank you also for your feedback about the tile cleaning situation of your room. I will address this in our next housekeeping meeting. Next time please let me know right away if you are not happy with the cleanliness of the floor and we will take care of it for you.

See you next time at the Blue Water Beach Club!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in May in #226. The hotel is an old cinder block style construction but has been extremely well maintained over the years. Our room had recently been renovated with updated plumbing fixtures in the bath. The bed was comfortable. The small kitchenette allowed us to make coffee and toasted bagels in the morning without having to go out for breakfast. Though we didn't have a deck, there was a great view of the ocean from the large window in our room. We slept with the window open to the sound of the surf. We could walk a 100 feet and be on the beach where the hotel provided beach chairs for our use. My only complaint is that there is no central air, so the bathrooms have no ventilation other than the high windows which you can open and close easily, but if the weather had been hot that could have been rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear MuggleCox,

Thank you for your kind words about the Blue Water Beach Club and your Studio room #226. I am very happy to hear, that you enjoyed our newly renovated bathroom and the kitchenette for making breakfast. Also, thank you for sharing your pictures with us. We hope to see you again next time!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIETA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent a night here while on vacation in Florida, got to the island in the morning and played around bean point then decided to see if we could check in the motel early to establish our base for the day. They were very friendly and corteous and accomodated our wish. We had three rooms and all were very nice, my husband and I had a king suite room and got jipped out of our balcony was my only complaint with the room. Had a nice afternoon playing on the beach and watched a beautiful sunset, went back up to the motel to enjoy the pool for awhile only to find it was locked up at 8pm REALLY? In fact they locked down the whole place at 8pm, I have never been in a "resort" setting and had all the amenities locked up at 8pm. This was a problem for me as this entire vacation was planned aound getting my water fix, very disappointed here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear SHANE R,

Thank you for taking your time and leaving a review about the Blue Water Beach Club on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that your rooms were ready earlier than expected and you had a good time on our beach.

I am very sorry that you could not use the pool after 8pm. However, state law limits the use of commercial pools to certain hours, where employees are on the property in order to call 911 in case of an emergency.

We hope to see you next time when your travels bring you to Anna Maria Island.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Water Beach Club for four nights at the end of April. This was our first visit to Anna Maria Island, and we chose the Blue Water after researching location, price and reviews of accommodations on the Island. We stayed in #224, a deluxe apartment on the second floor, and have to agree with others that the second floor has the most magnificient views of the Gulf of Mexico from your private balcony. The rooms in the apartment are spacious and the closet space was unbelievable. Housekeeping was always there when we needed extra towels (we were a party of four females), and the inside and outside of BWBC was clean, neat and well taken care of. We also enjoyed the pool, and the convenient location of BWBC to shopping and dining. The staff was extremely caring and accommodating, and we would definitely return to the Blue Water Beach Club.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Catherine M,

Thank you for your positive review of Apartment #224 on the second floor. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with our daily housekeeping service and enjoyed the spacious Apartment during your stay. I will make sure to compliment the staff on your behalf.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Anna Maria Island!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Water Beach Club for one night in mid April. I chose this specific hotel because it had beachfront rooms at reasonable prices. Staying in a second floor room had an excellent view to the lovely beach. We enjoyed being able to open the sliding glass door, slide the screen over, and listen to the waves while falling asleep at night. Yes the furniture is of an older, wicker style, but it definitely has island charm. Our bathroom was one that had not been renovated yet, but was functionable. The mini fridge was a convenient feature as well.

Since we only stayed one night, upon checkout, we had to move our car from our parking space. Planning on staying at the beach that day, the front desk kindly told us we could park in another location to enjoy their beach property. We did just that and had the opportunity to enjoy the one day of sun we received on our entire trip.

Anna Maria Island is a great destination, and I continue to return each year. Take time to stop in all of the little boutiques on the island for local, creative finds. Can't wait to return to the a Blue Water Beach Club again next Spring!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear MissEG,

Thank you for your detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Water Beach Club and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Club

Address: 6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is time to relax and enjoy some time away. We are a gulf front motel on a beautiful, quiet beach with white sand, family-owned for more than 35 years. Whether you choose an Apartment, Studio or Bedroom - all of our rooms have a gulf view, daily room service, Flatscreen Cable TV, free Wireless Internet and individual controlled A/C plus you can enjoy hot coffee and cookies in the lobby every morning. Hit the beach, just a few steps away from your room or take the free Trolley to explore the whole Island. In our landscaped courtyard area enjoy a game of Shuffle board or grab a pool towel from our office and take a dip in our heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Beach Club Hotel Holmes Beach
Blue Water Beach Hotel
Blue Water Beach Holmes
Blue Water Beach Club Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.