We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beachfront Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Beach Club
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Club to your Saves list
6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Beachfront Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Water Beach Club for four nights at the end of April. This was our first visit to Anna Maria Island, and we chose the Blue Water after researching location, price and reviews of accommodations on the Island. We stayed in #224, a deluxe apartment on the second floor, and have to agree with others that the second floor has the most magnificient views of the Gulf of Mexico from your private balcony. The rooms in the apartment are spacious and the closet space was unbelievable. Housekeeping was always there when we needed extra towels (we were a party of four females), and the inside and outside of BWBC was clean, neat and well taken care of. We also enjoyed the pool, and the convenient location of BWBC to shopping and dining. The staff was extremely caring and accommodating, and we would definitely return to the Blue Water Beach Club.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Catherine M,

Thank you for your positive review of Apartment #224 on the second floor. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with our daily housekeeping service and enjoyed the spacious Apartment during your stay. I will make sure to compliment the staff on your behalf.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Anna Maria Island!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Water Beach Club for one night in mid April. I chose this specific hotel because it had beachfront rooms at reasonable prices. Staying in a second floor room had an excellent view to the lovely beach. We enjoyed being able to open the sliding glass door, slide the screen over, and listen to the waves while falling asleep at night. Yes the furniture is of an older, wicker style, but it definitely has island charm. Our bathroom was one that had not been renovated yet, but was functionable. The mini fridge was a convenient feature as well.

Since we only stayed one night, upon checkout, we had to move our car from our parking space. Planning on staying at the beach that day, the front desk kindly told us we could park in another location to enjoy their beach property. We did just that and had the opportunity to enjoy the one day of sun we received on our entire trip.

Anna Maria Island is a great destination, and I continue to return each year. Take time to stop in all of the little boutiques on the island for local, creative finds. Can't wait to return to the a Blue Water Beach Club again next Spring!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear MissEG,

Thank you for your detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Blue Water Beach Club and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowgap, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days last week. We really enjoyed our stay. This is an older motel but it has been maintained well. It is right on the Gulf and a nice location. We stayed in one of the suites and the room was very spacious and well designed. The only problem that I had was with the bathroom. I felt it was a little crowded and not designed too well. But that is a minor problem. We had a good time. The beach is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Robert I,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Suite. We would also like to thank you for the feedback about the bathroom. I will make sure and forward your comment to our owners.

See you again next time!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our trip to Anna Maria Island revolved around reservations at a local restaurant to celebrate my husband's birthday and we decided it would be fun to stay somewhere close and not have to drive back home afterwards. We were directed to the Blue Water Beach Club by another property that was time-share only and it was the perfect solution! It is an "old Florida" style hotel and that is one of the things we loved about it. It had white wicker furnishings and the bathroom in our room had been remodeled and even had granite countertops. It was great to have a microwave and small refrigerator as well as a high definition TV. Best of all was the location of our room. We stayed in Room 228 which has a small balcony that had great views of the beach and gulf. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Room 228 on second floor with a balcony that has great views of the beach and gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Jean S,

Thank you for staying and celebrating your husbands birthday at the Blue Water Beach Club! Our Deluxe Bedroom #228 has a great view from the balcony and we are happy to hear you enjoyed one of our remodeled bathrooms.

Come see us again for his birthday next year!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutchogue, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a last minute getaway after a very long winter up north. We had never been to Anna Maria Island on Florida's Gulf Coast. What a pleasant surprise. The Blue Water is an older, 50s-60s style motel....however the staff and how they treat their guests, and keep the grounds up was refreshing. This is not a "top of the line" type beach hotel.....so don't expect Marriott or better service. That being said.......there is a clean, heated pool, beach chairs are provided, (something I cant say were provided at a couple of stays in pricier condos on Sanibel Island) and also beach towels were included. If I could make a suggestion to the owner......lose the full sized beds in the motel rooms.......add a king or a queen and add a pull-out sleeper sofa instead.....the room is large enough to have them. I would give this a 3 star rating....however it deserves a 4 because of staff and cleanliness. We enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to stay again in future visits to Anna Maria.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony on the 2nd floor......cant beat it. If you stay on 1st floor, you have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear GS195,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and thank you for your comments about the bed sizes. I will forward your comment to our owners.

We hope you visit us again on your next trip to Anna Maria Island.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

First, I have to say that this is the first time TripAdvisor has been slightly deceiving. We have stayed at 4.5 "blob" hotels that were much higher quality than this.

Don't get me wrong, this place is good enough. It is an old Florida property that has been kept up with. It is clean and the staff were continuously cleaning or fixing things. It was nice to have a mini fridge, range, stocked kitchen and coffee maker. The location on the beach was nice as well.

However, The walls and shutter windows are paper thin. I was awoken at 3AM because a neighbor was using the microwave and I could hear it through the walls then again at 7 because a bird was chirping. Also, we were moved (without prior notice) to a room on the street due to a leak from above. This did not help the noise situation. When we tried to ask about a room on the non street side, the staff were weird about it. They kept sternly saying, "you will be in this room for all 3 nights and we had to move everybody around" instead of addressing the issue.

The rooms themselves are pretty outdated, especially the bathrooms. We have not stayed at other places in this area, so I'm not sure how this place compares. Maybe it is rated highly because it is better than other places? Just know what to expect and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear MermaidGirlFL,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your Blue Water Beach Club experience. Your feedback is important to us on both positive and opportunities for improvement. We are currently updating all the bathrooms in our building and finished half of them already.

I would like to apologize that we had to move you during your recent stay with us. A water pipe was leaking into the ceiling of the unit you had originally rented and we had to repair the ceiling before it was ready to rent again. Unfortunately situations like this can arise causing us to have to move guests. Please understand this is not something we plan and try our hardest to avoid.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and found our accommodations clean and the staff friendly during your visit.

We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Rooms were very clean. Staff friendly and accommodating, told us of places to visit and local restaurants with excellent food. Had difficulty with room availability and they called when something opened up. Just as the website stated, resort was right on the beach. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor has the convenience of walking right out to the beach, but second floor has a much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear TJ H,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and our accommodating staff here at the Blue Water Beach Club. Room availability can be slim, especially during the spring months, but I am glad to hear that we had something for your dates available.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Club

Address: 6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is time to relax and enjoy some time away. We are a gulf front motel on a beautiful, quiet beach with white sand, family-owned for more than 35 years. Whether you choose an Apartment, Studio or Bedroom - all of our rooms have a gulf view, daily room service, Flatscreen Cable TV, free Wireless Internet and individual controlled A/C plus you can enjoy hot coffee and cookies in the lobby every morning. Hit the beach, just a few steps away from your room or take the free Trolley to explore the whole Island. In our landscaped courtyard area enjoy a game of Shuffle board or grab a pool towel from our office and take a dip in our heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Beach Club Hotel Holmes Beach
Blue Water Beach Hotel
Blue Water Beach Holmes
Blue Water Beach Club Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.