We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - prime beachfront location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Beach Club
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Club to your Saves list
6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value - prime beachfront location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My sister and I have been going to AMI for many years and only recently stayed at Blue Water for the first time. We were very pleased with this motel. It is on a nice quiet street and is a reasonable price for a prime location directly on the beach. We will definitely be returning. The one bedroom apartment was spacious, with a full sized kitchen, 2 beds in the BR and 2 single beds in the LR (which doubles as the sofa). And a nice porch too! It could comfortably sleep 4 people.

This is an older property and although the furnishings are modest and dated, the property is clean and well maintained. The staff was very hospitable and accommodating - especially manager Sebastian and Liz. The motel is a good value - great location, lovely beach.

Room Tip: Recommend second floor room to minimize foot traffic going past the room (path to beach is close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear BeachgirlinFLA,

We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your first vacation at the Blue Water Beach Club. I will make sure to tell Liz how happy you were, too.

Please give us a call if you are coming back to Anna Maria Island. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    29
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

...I can't!!!!! I am in love with Anna Maria Island and the Blue Water Beach Club. I've wanted to visit AMI for quite a number of years so during September's trip to Florida we drove down to AMI and on the hop booked into the Blue Water. Luckily there was room at the inn (!) and what a splendid choice we made. I could go on and on and on but, suffice to say, if I could give the Blue Water Beach Club 6 'blobs' instead of 5 I would.

The reception staff, location, décor, pool, free coffee and cookies for brekkie!, the beach, facilities etc etc - all 10 out of 10 for me. The hotel is spotlessly clean and Phil just doesn't stop titivating, tidying and fixing around the place! There's a little cupboard at the end of the main walkway to the beach where guests have left parasols and beach chairs and you can just help yourself to what you need. The beach is long and flat and you can walk for miles in either direction - or just sit and watch the wildlife (big birds, little birds, cranes, dolphins, manatee!)

Rooms are large and very comfortable - I completely adored the decor (I am a vintage queen) and the view from your patio doors of the beach when you wake up is breathtaking.

My husband and I have travelled all over the World between us but for me AMI is my all time perfect beautiful paradise destination. It is idyllic. We're so glad we dropped in on the Blue Water in September. Its my idea of heaven. So much so that we booked our 10 day stay for September 2014 before we left! I am counting down the days...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear hasta_luego,

We are very grateful to hear that you would even give us 6 out of the 5 Tripadvisor 'blobs', if it would be possible. Thank you for your review, pictures and your kind words about the Blue Water Beach Club. It means a lot to us and I did let Phillip know that all his fixing does not go unrecognized by our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2014!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A last minute decision to spend a couple of nights in the area brought us to the door of this motel since it advertises views of the water from every room.
It is a fun " Old Florida"place. There is a guest lounge next to the office,with good,fresh coffee each morning.We had # 109, which is a full apartment with living room,bedroom and kitchen, with huge sliding glass doors in both living and bedroom. It also has it's own patio,about 30 ft long. The walk to the beach is just the length of the building and is spectacular. What wasn't perfect: when sitting on our patio,our view was actually of the railing of the pool. Next time,I would request a second floor room.Also,our bedroom sported one single and one double (full) bed. Guess we are too used to a queen or king.
BTW, Phil,the caretaker is a wealth of local knowledge and can direct you to great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear CaroleeSouthFlorida,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy you found us and enjoyed your stay here! I will also tell Phillip, our Maintenance Supervisor, that his recommendations to local restaurants were appreciated.
As far as the pool fence goes: The Blue Water Beach Club originally had no pool fence in the 1960's and 1970's (there was even a diving board!). Years later, the law was changed and all commercial pools had to have a fence around them in order to protect children, who could fall into the pool unsupervised.
We would be more than happy to arrange a room on the second floor, maybe also one with a King Size bed for your next stay. Give us a call if your travels take you to Anna Maria Island again!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed on Anna Maria--in this case, Holmes Beach--for several decades, so I know the area well. Discovering the Blue Water a few years ago was a gift. It's not pretentious, & it's not rundown. On the contrary, it is exactly what, for me, the Anna Maria area is all about: the charming, old Florida that is simple, lovely & relaxing. Blue Water is wonderfully located on the beach, immaculately maintained & rooms provide all the basics. They do offer a variety of options, so explore what's available before booking. Everything from deluxe suites to simple rooms are a possibility. Is has its own pool beside the beach & a trail down the the water. Highly recommended if you don't insist on pretentious. And prices are great as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear patrick g,

It means a lot to us, that you chose the Blue Water Beach Club for your recent stay, especially since you know the area well already. We feel honored and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the grounds and your room during your stay.

The Blue Water Beach Club was originally built in 1958 and was one of the first Motels on the island. We are trying to keep the "Old Florida" charm while updating our property with 21st century amenities like wireless internet access and flat-screen TV's. Again, we are delighted that you picked the Blue Water Beach Club for your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us again, when your travel brings you to Anna Maria Island.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Get there early to get a room. Fills up fast. We ended up sharing a room but there was plenty of room. Just open up deck door and there's a whole outdoor room for you! (our room had two daybeds in the living room and two beds in the bedroom.) Has a kitchen and table, too. Very clean. The grounds are kept very neat. On the beach, there are lounge chairs to use. Saw dolphins right off the hotel. It was a quiet and relaxing stay. Great place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jennie-MosesLake,

Thank you for sharing your memories about the Blue Water Beach Club here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even saw some dolphins out in the Gulf of Mexico.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is the best beach hotel in this area. Great location right on the beach. Nice view of the ocean from the room. Nice big private balcony. Gorgeous property and nice clean pool. Kept well and room and grounds are nice and clean. Service is excellent, the ladies that manage this place are just the best. Great coffee in the morning with free cookies, just look at out for the thievin' squirrels. We highly recommend this place for a relaxing time at the beach.

Room Tip: Room 224 is excellent with great view of the ocean and a nice private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear bigbillyt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and calling us "best beach hotel in this area". That is a great honor and we truly do appreciate your positive feedback! I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the service and I will pass on your compliments to our team.

If your travel takes you to Anna Maria Island again, please give us a call. We would love to have you again.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Blue Water Beach Club for six glorious nights. This place is very well maintained and all the staff will help you with anything that you need, directions, recommendations of good restaurants (and not the "touristy" ones). I loved that they provided beach towels so we didn't have to weigh our suitcases down! I also loved that they had chairs actually out on the beach. First come first serve, but if you don't get one of those chairs, you can always go to the closet and get one there (of course not as nice as the ones the provide on the beach). The water in the pool was crisp and cool and so refreshing. My husband and I are well acquainted with Anna Maria as my dad lives in Bradenton, and we have been coming here for over 30 years, but to actually stay on the island and stay at this place was just a our little slice of heaven. The people running this place really care and you can tell by how well it is taken care of. We will be going back, no doubt about it. Already made reservations for next year! We went from September 16th until September 22nd and we basically had the pool and beach to ourselves. Breakfast at the Rod and Reel Pier was so much fun and not far away at all!! AND very inexpensive to eat there. The only addition I would make is put a t.v. in the bedroom when the husband is watching his sports at night, I'd rather watch something else. Can't really sit outside as you will get eaten up by mosquitoes, but everyone knows about the mosquitoes in Florida!

Room Tip: Room 210 was very nice and clean and spacious and the AC was very cool (as we like it). Checked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Robin31360,

We would like to thank you very much for your great review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation with us. The month of September is one of our slower months and a well kept secret for travelers that are looking for a very quiet and peaceful vacation.

I will forward you suggestion about a TV in the bedroom to our owners and thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Club

Address: 6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is time to relax and enjoy some time away. We are a gulf front resort on a beautiful, quiet beach with white sand, family-owned for more than 40 years. Whether you choose an Apartment, Studio or Bedroom - all of our rooms have a gulf view, daily room service, Flatscreen Cable TV, free Wireless Internet and individual controlled A/C plus you can enjoy hot coffee and cookies in the lobby every morning. Hit the beach, just a few steps away from your room or take the free Trolley to explore the whole Island. In our landscaped courtyard area enjoy a game of Shuffle board or grab a pool towel from our office and take a dip in our heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Beach Club Hotel Holmes Beach
Blue Water Beach Hotel
Blue Water Beach Holmes
Blue Water Beach Club Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.