We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Water Beach Club
Save
You added Blue Water Beach Club to your Saves list
6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first visit to Anna Maria Island and hopefully not the last. We were very pleased with the resort. The person at the desk was friendly and check in was effiecient and easy. We were impressed with the spacious apartment and how clean it was. We enjoyed the balcony with the view of the Gulf, room 214.
The beach was not as nice as would have liked, seaweed and shelly,but that was out of the hands of the resort! The heated pool was great and very well mantained. Our rooom was always promptly cleaned. Sebastian at the desk was right on with all his suggestions. Make sure if you need more beach towels or chairs that you ask, there was a closet with extra chairs. Also, we liked the pool toys that were available. My only suggestion would be to have more umbrellas.
I would recommend the Blue Beach Club Resort to anyone looking for a helpful friendly resort right on the beach that is well maintained and welcoming.
One other thing to note was the variety of rooms from a hotel room to apartments. I do believe all had refrig and microwave.

Room Tip: We really liked room 214, great view of Gulf from balcony but the air conditioner seemed very loud a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Linda36508,

We are glad you enjoyed your first stay on Anna Maria Island in Suite #214.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback on beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. Complimentary beach towels are available in the office and we do have 10 permanent loungers on the beach. If any additional loungers are needed, we can show our guests where they are. However, we do not supply umbrellas for the beach due to liability.

Thank you again for your review and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Anna Maria Island!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    30
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife, son and I went for a one-night retreat. The outside of the hotel says "classic 1950's", which blends nicely with Anna Maria's "Old Florida" style. The front desk was extremely friendly and extremely knowledgable about Anna Maria Island. Sebastian was very accommodating, especially with our request for an extra hour for checkout. The rooms were spic and span clean, and we really liked the tile floors - much cleaner than a carpet. The studio had a nice breakfast table and an oven and range for cooking. They even had pots, pans, plates, silverware and cups! Every room in the hotel has a great view of the pool and the beautiful gulf waters. The pool featured a slip-free deck, which was very nice, especially for a family with a young child. There were also picnic tables in multiple places on the property. The beach was just steps away, and it was fantastic. Coffee and cookies in the hotel lobby are a nice touch. We highly recommend this hotel for a getaway to the beautiful Anna Maria Island. We have already recommended this hotel to two friends, and one of them has already booked a weekend. Thanks for a great time Blue Water! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear flbeatrices,

Thank you very much for writing a review of the Blue Water Beach Club. We are glad you enjoyed the tiled floors in the room and the newly remodeled pool deck.

Also, thank you for recommending us to your family and friends, that means a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I came to Anna Maria Island for the first time
we stayed in a couple of places, and decided to stay one more night. It was 4th of july weekend.
i stopped in the blue water beach club to see if they had a room for one night. the gentleman in the office was very helpful and friendly and they did have a room. we loved it, it was clean and spacious.we loved the courtyard and the view . We will come back to the blue water beach club .

Room Tip: older people ask for rooms downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Thomas G,

Thank you very much for your review of our spacious and clean rooms. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the 4th of July weekend at the Blue Water Beach Club and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely!

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We had come over to Florida for a three week holiday in Orlando but decided to come to Anna Maria island to spend a couple of days as recommended by a friend. We booked the hotel at the last minute and the reception staff were very helpful. On arrival we found our room to be large, clean and perfect view of the sea. Unfortunately the beach was more shelly than we expected but our children ( aged 11 and 9) still had a great time. There had been a large storm before we arrived and jellyfish had come in with the seaweed. We decided to let the children play in the pool instead which was large and warm (bonus) .
Staff at the hotel were helpful and gave us info on where to eat. The island is idyllic and small so easy to make your way round. We did not see or hear any other British families which was surpising but made a nice change from other resorts we have visited such as Clearwater and Orlando. The highlight for us was seeing the wild dolphins swimming at sunset and sitting at the island pier restaurant listening to live music whilst the sun set, perfect. Can.t wait to come again but this time for longer!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hello Tarina C,

Thank you very much for choosing the Blue Water Beach Club for a vacation with your family and thank you also for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor. We enjoy exceeding our guest's expectations in all that we do from Check-in all the way to Check-out and are happy that you were pleased.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were at The Blue Water Beach Club for a week in June and while tropical storm Debbie messed with our weather we found the hotel a great place to be. It as our third time there and we will certainly come back again next year. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Rooms are clean and the view from the balcony can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Hello Kathy270,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words, even though the weather was not up to par due to Tropical Storm Debby.

We look forward to your fourth stay with us next year!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Last minute getaway found me and my family on Florida's Gulf coast searching for a place to stay. It was the Sunday before the July 4th holiday and though we knew it was a busy week for the island, we had confirmed the availability of rooms at several area motels. As we passed the no-frills, retro looking Blue Water Beach Club, its waterfront location and vacancy sign made us curious to inquire about a room. I watched from the car as my husband chatted with a woman in the office before returning to the car with a bewildered look on his face. The woman had told him that they did have rooms available but that we would have to return the next day if we wanted to rent one as she was getting ready to leave. Wish I could write a review based on our stay. I found the experience so off-putting that I had to warn others the Blue Water Beach Club does not want your business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hello S N,

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I talked to the front desk staff and apologize for any misunderstanding that happened that day. Due to a family emergency of one of our employees we did close the office early on that specific day and therefore had also closed down the reservation and credit card system by the time you stopped by.

Thank you for sharing your experience as we work to improve our service. We hope for the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Perfect. My wife and I wanted a relaxing getaway and it couldn't have been better. Right on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBC, Manager at Blue Water Beach Club, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hello Steven F,

I am very glad to hear that you had a relaxing getaway with your wife at the Blue Water Beach Club. We try to keep everything as calm and relaxed as possible for our guests!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and see you next time at the Blue Water Beach Club!

Sincerely,

Sebastian Mueller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blue Water Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Beach Club

Address: 6306 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Holmes Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is time to relax and enjoy some time away. We are a gulf front resort on a beautiful, quiet beach with white sand, family-owned for more than 40 years. Whether you choose an Apartment, Studio or Bedroom - all of our rooms have a gulf view, daily room service, Flatscreen Cable TV, free Wireless Internet and individual controlled A/C plus you can enjoy hot coffee and cookies in the lobby every morning. Hit the beach, just a few steps away from your room or take the free Trolley to explore the whole Island. In our landscaped courtyard area enjoy a game of Shuffle board or grab a pool towel from our office and take a dip in our heated pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Water Beach Club Hotel Holmes Beach
Blue Water Beach Hotel
Blue Water Beach Holmes
Blue Water Beach Club Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.