We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coconut Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 73 Str., Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Holmes Beach
St. louis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We booked a one week stay at the Coconuts condos after reviewing their website and tripadvisor.No problem with booking and the staff was very helpful when asked questions. We were in unit 107, one of the gulf view condos, and the view was great. Very nice one bedroom with 2 double beds, full kitchen, TVs with cable in livingroom and bedroom, screened in porch. There are loungers and tables right in front of condo, can't take chairs further onto beach. Towels were plentifull, also lots of hangers.The condos are on the North end, more quiet and less traffic than Brandenton Beach to the south. Just a short drive or free trolley ride to restaurants.The beach and water are super.Most of the people staying here were 50's or older,just like us! Heated pool was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

This is my second review of the Coconut Beach Resort. It is one of those places where you don't want to tell anyone how great it is because you don't want to ruin how wonderful the Resort & Island location is & you can get a return reservation in one of your favorite Condos on the Beach. My wife & I started coming down in October in 2004 for a week visit. We loved it so much that we made our reservations for the next year before we left. We enjoy walking out the back door of the Condo & having your feet right in the sand.

Now we are coming to the Resort three times a year & stay a week each time we are there. We go in May for the end of the Stone Crab season & to get our tan started for the neighborhood pool back home. We go in July because the gulf breezes feel better than our high humidity does in Tennessee. Then we go again in October when the Stone Crabs come back into season.
No matter when we go the food is always great at our favorite restaurants. The first evening we always walk up the beach to the Sandbar Restaurant located about 2 miles up the beach, sit outside while we eat & watch the sun go down while enjoying great drinks. Then we walk back down the beach to the Condo (which I swear they have moved farther away while we were eating). It always put us in the island mode for the rest of the week.

Every time we come we meet old friends & make new friends.
Everyone is so friendly. If you don't get spoken to or make new friends while you are here, it must be your own fault because I know when we are there we try to at least say "Hi!" to everyone we see. So far I haven't had anyone not say "Hi!" back & then start up a conversation afterwards. We always tell everyone about the best restaurants we like & the ones we don't like. We also ask them what restaurants they have tried & liked. We are always open for good food suggestions. So if you are ever there just ask anyone about their favorite places to eat, it might be us!
You can always ask Ms Joyce or one of the other girls in the Office for helpful suggestions. Our favorites so far are Cafe on the Beach, Rod & Reel, Moore's Stone Crab, Hurricane Hank's, Drydocks (down on Longboat Key) & Anna Maria Oyster Bar. We are always trying out new places.

My wife & I wish we had another week of vacation so we could go back a fourth time each year & make more friends & eat more great food. It is too long between October & May each winter!

  • Liked — Location & staff
  • Disliked — Running out of vacation time!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

My family has vacationed at Coconuts every springbreak since 1993! I believe that we have stayed in just about every condo on the property. It is an incredible place and I plan to return every year. From watching the dolphins go up the coast in the morning until watching the sunset every evening- it is the most relaxing place on earth! The views are fabulous and the condos are clean and well equipped. The staff is so warm and friendly-in fact we consider Joyce, the property manager one of our family, as do many who return year after year to Coconuts. We have made many lifelong friends while staying at Coconuts. Once people experience Coconuts they usually return.
As a matter of fact, only 96 days until I will find myself at Coconuts once again for a week of total bliss.
The Reineke Family- Ashland, Ohio

  • Liked — Beach front property-cleanliness-staff
  • Disliked — that it is not closer to Ohio : )
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas,tx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

My husband and I have gone to The Villas for two years in a row, and have enjoyed our experience there so much. Miss Joyce Ware has been very professional and has made us feel so welcome each time. Not only have my husband and I come both of those years, but our son, his wife, and their two young boys have come at the same time and has made it a family vacation that we all have enjoyed immensely. Just to make a point, I have family in Bradenton where we all could have stayed with no expense, but our experience at The Villas has been great . The only suggestion I could make to present a "perfect" setting, would be to possibly update some of the appliances. They worked okay, but we did find that some refrigerators (for example) had ice makers and some didn't. But overall, we are again looking foward to a third year at The Villas. Thank you Miss Ware for making our stay so enjoyable. You are an asset to the business. Sincerely, Lynda E. Bauer,Dallas,TX

  • Liked — Convenient to beaches, amusement parks, shopping, dining, etc. Management very accomodating ( Joyce Ware, in particular). The Villas offers privacy for family gatherings.
  • Disliked — Appliances could be updated. Also, could use more than one outdoor grill.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

My husband and I have been going to the Coconuts Beach Resort for 12 years and in our opinion, it is the next best thing to Paradise. The beach is right at our doorstep and the sand is beautiful. We take long walks in the mornings and go swimming in the pool in the afternoons. There are benches along the way where you can stop and just enjoy looking at the Gulf. The sunsets are magnificient with a different one every evening. We have formed a group called the "Coconuts Mermaids" and try to go in the water whenever the temperature hits over 85.

We have made many good friends whom we keep in contact through the year. There, also are so many parties such as our annual Pool Party, our Post Valentine Day's Party, Dorothy's Pizza Party, Fish Frys and any other occasion that might come up. Not to mention our weekly Friday nights at the Golden Coral.
We hate to leave when our time is up but know that in 10 months, we will be getting ready to go back and seel all our old firends and start all over again.
As I said before, it is a piece of Paradise and there's no other place we would rather be

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We've just returned from 2 weeks at the Coconuts and had a wonderful time. Our unit was beach front, clean, roomy and very comfortable. It had 2 tv's but who needs them with that view of the gulf. A full kitchen with dish washer, microwave and large cooker. The pool was heavenly and was never busy.We wouldn't hesitate to reccommend Coconuts.

  • Liked — Beach front location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

We've been going to the Coconuts for more than 20 years and still love it. The location is perfect for a restful holiday. The beach is great for long walks, or making sandcastles. The sunset in the evenings is an amazing site to see, no matter how many times you have seen it. Most people who go to the Coconuts come back the next year. That says a lot!

  • Liked — the people that we have met
  • Disliked — sometimes florida weather isn't reliable
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Resort

Address: 100 73 Str., Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconuts Beach Resort has the best Location on Anna Maria Island. Direct Beach Front, heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Coconut Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, FL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.